We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel, with a lot of history, that is great for conferences. I loved that the Tower Center was literally connected with the hotel. The staff here really went above and beyond---especially when I was trying to leave the hotel parking garage and my car wouldn't start! The parking attendant and his boss were so incredibly patient and helpful. Not only did the boss jumpstart my car's battery using his own car (whenever their portable jumper system wouldn't do the trick), the attendant then drove in his own car in front of me to Wal-Mart so that I could purchase a new battery!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    284
    150
    84
    36
See reviews for
112
205
47
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Located in downtown Cleveland. 20 minuts subway (Rapid) trip from airport $2.25. Did not have to step outside to enter hotel. Perfect location if going to Browns game as group of 6 from NY were doing. Walk to Rock & Roll HoF, Bars & Restaurants, football, Basketball arena's. Did not check if baseball was close. Any one that complained about location did not do any research.

Sure the place is old, but value is the key, hot showers & clean sheets, carpet is worn, tv's were ONLY 25" big deal, desk chairs were not modern, give me a break. Pillow top mattress was top notch. If I want fancy style deco, I would be paying top dollar.No problems at all, great staff, happy to help with anything during busy weekend.

Lobby is right out of roaring 20's style, marble pillars, 20 ft ceilings, piano playing @ 10am Sunday. Did not have any food, a few drinks in small lobby bar was fine.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

My wife won a local contest and it included a nights stay at the Renaissance Hotel. The hotel is in a very old building and the rooms are small. (at least #808). Our room was on the main street and we could hear traffic all night, not enough to keep us awake but still noticeable. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was okay. Nice hotel if you have to stay in downtown Cleveland.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Beautiful public and meeting spaces but rooms are somewhat awkward and hallways stretch forever (they should have filmed the Shining here!).
One thing they don't advertise but should is the location. It's on a direct train line to the airport (the $33 without tip cab ride was a rip) and you can walk to several attractions including stadiums and the Rock and Roll Hall of fame.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Arrived late at night for conference next day. Got all unpacked before venturing into bathroom to discover it had not been cleaned. TP and pubes all over the floor. Looked like last guest had done some serious trimming. Room was quickly comped since I was too tired to pack up and move. Awoke at 6am to the overbearing smell of sewer (This occurred all 3 mornings). More inspection revealed the room had never been vacuumed. Went to the hotel "health" club at noon. The equipment was fairly new but in need of dusting. The ceiling had numerous spots of black mold. There were no trash liners in any of the trash cans I used so they were all full of liquid and smelly. The conference attendees were served coffee with their choice of ceramic or paper cup. I selected 3 cups out of the stack of ceramic and each one was dirty...lipstick, coffee rings, and other unidentifiable stuff. I don't think the staff at this hotel have any idea what clean is.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
313 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Built turn of the century (?) and not really updated. If you are into nostalgic hotels with old flair stay here. If you want modern amenities like a walk in shower, flat screen TV, business desk built after 1950, etc. stay away. Fitness center was split into two rooms with one being inthe hallway of hte atrium seeing space is limited all around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed at this hotel only because it's where my Wife's meeting was. If this was a $70/night hotel, I'd give it two or three stars. Our room, while discounted for the meeting, was supposed to be $300/night. I thought I should get a free daily massage for that price, instead they hit you with additional $14/day internet connection and $25/day parking in an old decrepit garage with VERY narrow parking spaces and difficulty getting to hotel from garage. The lobby is very nice if you like gaudy chandeliers, but the rest of the hotel smells old and moldy, our room, however, smelled like a beauty parlor. I could only recommend this hotel if you just love old hotels, otherwise, you'll get a lot more for your money at almost any other Cleveland hotel.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.