We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful beautiful hotel with fantatsic friendly employes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Calling all Cavs fans!
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Plymouth, Michigan
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“wonderful beautiful hotel with fantatsic friendly employes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

I stayed a week while a family member was at the Cleveland Clinic. The CC hotels (Intercontinental, Intercontinental Suites, Guest House) were very expensive, and the IC was very cold with many doctor conferences (do you really want to hear medical talk all of the time ?)

This hotel is about 6 miles from the CC, and is very comfortable and high end. I was able to get a very good rate via price line (who goes to Cleveland in Feb?). The lobby and common areas are just gorgeous and very comfortable retreat after a long day at the CC. My room was HUGE, very clean, and comfortable. I cannot say enough about how great the staff was. Everyone went out of their way to make me feel welcome and comfortable while providing professional and excellent service.

I ate often in the lobby bar, which is very intimate and cozy. They offer food from the bar, resturaunt, and room service. Prices are very low for the quality. I ate breakfast in the hotel resturaunt several times and it was just lovely sitting by the window. The food is excellent.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that needs a room by the CC, business traveler, nice getaway weekend, nice dinner, etc. The downtown Union Square area is probably the nicest area around (the cleveland clinic area is a bit scary). You will need good directions or an in car navigtor as it can get tricky finding your way back from a very long tiring day at the Clinic (it may just be me....).

You won't be disappointed. I am one of the most picky when selecting a hotel and typically book one day at a time just in case I do not like it. I left with a very reasonable bill, and a nice stay as compared to those that stayed at any of the CC hotels (which are lacking in comfort, a bit too much like the hospital, located in a not so great area, and very very expensive).

While I would have loved if this hotel were right by the CC like the Intercontinental, I was very happy I stayed at this hotel vs. the IC.

One Negative (and this goes for all of the hotels in the area) - they charge for in room wi fi, and also charge a HUGE amount for a bottle of water. I think these basics should be free as they can't cost that much. The IC charges as well, as does all of the hotels in Cleveland (Cleveland seems a bit backwards)

Parking is expensive as are the hotels at the CC and in Cleveland downtown. There is a city lot right next to the hotel that charges $10 for the night. Use that lot to save $20 every night (you don't need valet parking)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    260
    138
    79
    34
See reviews for
107
192
47
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

My husband and I received a gift of cash and decided to spend it on a weekend getaway since it had been over a year that we were away together. We considered several options in amish county and various 4 star hotels, ultimately deciding on the Renaissance. We booked a king room package with breakfast. Upon arrival we were told that that was just our "request" and not a guarantee and that no king size rooms were even available. Our tiny full sized bed and crammed room were certainly disappointing for our planned romantic weekend. We learned, after trying that if we wanted to use the internet, we had to pay for it. There was no dvd or cd player. The closet door was broken off the track and inoperable. The sink faucet handle broke off when my husband turned it on and our window also slid off the track. To top our romantic night off, a group of 50+ teenagers thew a bash complete with multiple arrests and police involvement all night long. On the am of the second night, we were told that due to not enough attendance, there would be no breakfast buffet, but we could have a credit in the restaurant. The pool was only 3 feet deep at the deepest and in need of a lot of maintenance. While the lobby lounge was beautiful and all the staff were accommodating, it was a rather drab place if seeking any entertainment. We really felt duped! If attendance was too low for a breakfast buffet, how could it be too high to have any king rooms available in a 450 + room hotel?? Our money could have been much better spent on almost anything else. Steer clear.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

A wonderfully updated grand old hotel but keeps an intimate feeling. Very helpful and friendly staff. One suggestion: ask for a view of the square, particularly during the Christmas season. The windows partially open for fresh air in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

I stayed here when it was very chilly at around -8 degree centigrade. So I must say that the room appeared even more warmly than usual. :)

Room decor was neoclassical. Huge bathroom (my kid was screaming he could play badminton in there). Unfortunately they only have cold airconditioning and no heater. Had to turn it off at night or we’ll be freezing.

Overall a pleaseant stay and a solid 4-star standard. You won't be disappointed.

The hotel is linked to Tower City mall but everything’s closed at 7pm during my visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

I recently returned from a two-night stay with my family at the Renaissance Cleveland, and it was just wonderful! We booked the two nights in a standard guestroom using Marriott Rewards points. All of the staff members we met during our entire stay were extremely accommodating and friendly. The valet staff was very helpful, and the front desk staff was quite personable, which is a refreshing change from many hotels where they are aloof. Everyone working at the Renaissance Cleveland just seemed happy to be there and enjoying their jobs. At check-in, we were presented with tons of maps and information about the area, as well as a great upgrade to a one-bedroom suite and free valet parking! This was a very nice surprise, something that we were not expecting, especially since the hotel seemed quite full with meetings and events.

The suite we were given (782) was great! The room was nice and large, with a living/dining room with a couch and chairs, a large desk, tv, and dining table with crystal chandelier. There was also a wet bar in there with a sink, small refrigerator, and coffee maker. The bedroom had the two queen beds, two chairs, and another tv. The attached bathroom was large (somewhat long and narrow), finished all in marble. The showerhead was one of the older massaging ones, but it was so much better than ones we’ve found in a lot of newer hotels. The bathroom had very nice Aveda products. It was hard to tell when the room was last renovated, since the rooms are meant to look very old and grand. The furnishings themselves seemed relatively new and fresh, but some of the woodwork and things could use a little work, like the room doors, which were quite banged up and seemed to lock somewhat loosely. The suite was so comfortable and cozy on the cold winter days we were there. It felt like an upscale city apartment, and its location within the hotel, at the end of one of the three sections that protrude out the front of the hotel, gave it great views of Public Square with 5 windows. I guess the only thing to remember about the rooms is that the hotel itself is very old. The climate control system is not the most modern, and a lot of air was able to escape into the room through the windows when it got windy. Otherwise, everything was great. The hotel is set up in a large square shape with an enclosed atrium in the middle where the indoor pool is. A lot of the rooms look out to this central atrium, with the rest looking to the outside. I can say that two of the sides definitely have nice views. I’m not sure about the other two.

The hotel itself is gorgeous, truly the grand dame of Cleveland, even today. The crystal chandeliers, dark wood paneling and formal elegance just can’t be found in any new hotel. The lobby is opulent and well-situated. Somehow it just flows nicely with the front desk and elevators in a main hallway area, with the large seating area and fountain off to the side with large windows looking out to Public Square. The hotel’s parking garage can be accessed within the hotel by an escalator that goes right down to it. This would make self-parking very convenient.

We loved the location of the hotel. We were able to walk to our main attraction, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. It was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Another huge plus of the location for us was the fact that it’s connected to the Tower City Center by indoor walkway. I guess this can be described as a mall/entertainment complex that goes somewhat underground and connects several buildings. There was no need to walk outside in the cold for much of anything! The mall itself is in a very lovely old building, but the stores inside of it weren’t particularly high-end, and it didn’t seem to attract the best clientele. There was a very visible security force. We didn’t really make use of the shopping in Tower City Center, but the dining was convenient. In terms of full-service restaurants, there is a Morton’s, Hard Rock Café, and Houlihan’s all in there, connected to the hotel without needing to walk outside. These, plus the hotel restaurants makes a good selection of eateries available to guests, without needing to set foot outside if the weather is bad. There is also a movie theatre in the tower complex. The center itself was somewhat odd, with the Renaissance and Ritz Carlton guests both using it, mainly for the restaurants, but people from the local community seeming to come in for the stores. I guess this dynamic works out well enough.

Even though our room wasn’t on the club floor, we were given access to it since we were in a suite. The club lounge was great in this hotel, but it could have used some more tables. The staff was pleasant, and the breakfast had a nice selection each morning, including scrambled eggs, oatmeal, pastries, fresh cut-up fruit, juice, etc. The offerings at night were a bit sparser, but there were always plenty of drinks and small items available. If you can upgrade to this floor, I’d recommend it.

I strongly recommend staying at the Renaissance if you are in Cleveland. The staff is great, and the historic hotel is kept up extremely well. The upgraded suite we were given was absolutely wonderful, and the location was perfect for the touring we did, as well as for its connection to the Tower complex. The lobby, staircases, hallways, etc. were all gleaming. The hotel managed to maintain its old, historic feel without seeming dated. It was like stepping back into history and an older Cleveland with every modern convenience. I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Wonderful hotel, helpful staff, no complaints.... Fitness center had a decent amount of equipment, space, and weights...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Location was great. Inside tower complex is large shopping center, access to Cleveland city rail system (connects to airport) and several fine dining sites. Room
was clean and well decored but some renovation needed ,external facelift in progress
I'm sure Indoor to follow. Service was great, especially John at check in and I forget
the name of the concierge who was helpful solving our parking issue.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.