We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel-A True Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Gift for You
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel-A True Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

I recently returned from a two-night stay with my family at the Renaissance Cleveland, and it was just wonderful! We booked the two nights in a standard guestroom using Marriott Rewards points. All of the staff members we met during our entire stay were extremely accommodating and friendly. The valet staff was very helpful, and the front desk staff was quite personable, which is a refreshing change from many hotels where they are aloof. Everyone working at the Renaissance Cleveland just seemed happy to be there and enjoying their jobs. At check-in, we were presented with tons of maps and information about the area, as well as a great upgrade to a one-bedroom suite and free valet parking! This was a very nice surprise, something that we were not expecting, especially since the hotel seemed quite full with meetings and events.

The suite we were given (782) was great! The room was nice and large, with a living/dining room with a couch and chairs, a large desk, tv, and dining table with crystal chandelier. There was also a wet bar in there with a sink, small refrigerator, and coffee maker. The bedroom had the two queen beds, two chairs, and another tv. The attached bathroom was large (somewhat long and narrow), finished all in marble. The showerhead was one of the older massaging ones, but it was so much better than ones we’ve found in a lot of newer hotels. The bathroom had very nice Aveda products. It was hard to tell when the room was last renovated, since the rooms are meant to look very old and grand. The furnishings themselves seemed relatively new and fresh, but some of the woodwork and things could use a little work, like the room doors, which were quite banged up and seemed to lock somewhat loosely. The suite was so comfortable and cozy on the cold winter days we were there. It felt like an upscale city apartment, and its location within the hotel, at the end of one of the three sections that protrude out the front of the hotel, gave it great views of Public Square with 5 windows. I guess the only thing to remember about the rooms is that the hotel itself is very old. The climate control system is not the most modern, and a lot of air was able to escape into the room through the windows when it got windy. Otherwise, everything was great. The hotel is set up in a large square shape with an enclosed atrium in the middle where the indoor pool is. A lot of the rooms look out to this central atrium, with the rest looking to the outside. I can say that two of the sides definitely have nice views. I’m not sure about the other two.

The hotel itself is gorgeous, truly the grand dame of Cleveland, even today. The crystal chandeliers, dark wood paneling and formal elegance just can’t be found in any new hotel. The lobby is opulent and well-situated. Somehow it just flows nicely with the front desk and elevators in a main hallway area, with the large seating area and fountain off to the side with large windows looking out to Public Square. The hotel’s parking garage can be accessed within the hotel by an escalator that goes right down to it. This would make self-parking very convenient.

We loved the location of the hotel. We were able to walk to our main attraction, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. It was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Another huge plus of the location for us was the fact that it’s connected to the Tower City Center by indoor walkway. I guess this can be described as a mall/entertainment complex that goes somewhat underground and connects several buildings. There was no need to walk outside in the cold for much of anything! The mall itself is in a very lovely old building, but the stores inside of it weren’t particularly high-end, and it didn’t seem to attract the best clientele. There was a very visible security force. We didn’t really make use of the shopping in Tower City Center, but the dining was convenient. In terms of full-service restaurants, there is a Morton’s, Hard Rock Café, and Houlihan’s all in there, connected to the hotel without needing to walk outside. These, plus the hotel restaurants makes a good selection of eateries available to guests, without needing to set foot outside if the weather is bad. There is also a movie theatre in the tower complex. The center itself was somewhat odd, with the Renaissance and Ritz Carlton guests both using it, mainly for the restaurants, but people from the local community seeming to come in for the stores. I guess this dynamic works out well enough.

Even though our room wasn’t on the club floor, we were given access to it since we were in a suite. The club lounge was great in this hotel, but it could have used some more tables. The staff was pleasant, and the breakfast had a nice selection each morning, including scrambled eggs, oatmeal, pastries, fresh cut-up fruit, juice, etc. The offerings at night were a bit sparser, but there were always plenty of drinks and small items available. If you can upgrade to this floor, I’d recommend it.

I strongly recommend staying at the Renaissance if you are in Cleveland. The staff is great, and the historic hotel is kept up extremely well. The upgraded suite we were given was absolutely wonderful, and the location was perfect for the touring we did, as well as for its connection to the Tower complex. The lobby, staircases, hallways, etc. were all gleaming. The hotel managed to maintain its old, historic feel without seeming dated. It was like stepping back into history and an older Cleveland with every modern convenience. I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    240
    129
    69
    31
See reviews for
92
173
47
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
phil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Wonderful hotel, helpful staff, no complaints.... Fitness center had a decent amount of equipment, space, and weights...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Location was great. Inside tower complex is large shopping center, access to Cleveland city rail system (connects to airport) and several fine dining sites. Room
was clean and well decored but some renovation needed ,external facelift in progress
I'm sure Indoor to follow. Service was great, especially John at check in and I forget
the name of the concierge who was helpful solving our parking issue.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton. Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

We had a very spacious room with an average bathroom that was sufficient. We enjoyed the indoor pool very much and the grand lobby with the fountain. The conceirge staff was extremely helpful in getting us to where we wanted to go and advised us not to miss the Cleveland Museum of Art, which is outstanding (I grew up in Chicago and this gives the Art Institute a run for its money). Most delightful, the hotel lobby was a hub of activity. It was nice to come back to the hotel in the evening with the lobby alive with activity and people. A big Greek family reunion and the Army Thunderbirds were staying at the hotel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Just returned from a long weekend. Great stay. We took advantage of "A Christmas Story" package they offer. Would have never stayed there otherwise. Very thankful they offered this package because my husband & I really enjoyed the accommodations. The marble throughout the hotel is astonishing! It seemed as though we were back in time, yet with all the modern amenities we are accustom to. I love the history of this hotel, wish I would have learned of the history before arriving, my loss. My absolute favorite part of the weekend was simply sitting in front of their huge windows at night with a cup of coffee overlooking the square with all of their Christmas lights lighting up the city, so relaxing & beautiful. Thank you for a great weekend, I hope to return to your hotel in the future!
Michelle

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

My husband and I travel to Cleveland every year at Thanksgiving to visit his family. The Renaissance is our base and I look forward to staying every year at the hotel. Economic times are difficult in Cleveland and the employees are grateful to have a job. What I enjoy the most about staying at the Renaissance are the employees; I have found them all to be so kind and very happy. I also like the difference in each hotel room; each room is different by size, shape, location. This uniqueness is difficult to find these days the cookie cutter hotel room does not exist here.

When you arrive you have two options, valet or garage parking which is $27 a day. The garage is next to the hotel and you don’t have to walk far to get into the hotel. The lobby is out of this world beautiful. If you like very old hotels, this has to be one of the oldest in the country, there is construction on the outside so make sure you do not get a room that has construction going on outside your room. They do cut the water off temporarily during the day for construction, it wasn’t a problem with us.

Concierge floor…GREAT employees love staying on 12th or 14th floor!!!!

Sans Souci Restaurant: We went with my husband’s elderly mother and vegetarian sister who has the strangest food requirements I have ever heard of (food based on PH level???). Anyhow, both ordered off the menu and requested dishes that didn’t even exist. Sans Souci over achieved on both meal requests. Food is pricey but well worth it!

Bar: Awesome bartenders…great personalities and fun to hang out with during the day.

Alternative hotel in the area is The Ritz Carlton, visited their twice. Lobby is half of what the Renaissance is, I have not seen the rooms but heard they are beautiful. Compared restaurants Ritz Carlton vs Renaissance and both are about the same price. If you are looking for a newer hotel with no construction consider Ritz Carlton; I assume parking is the same price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We love old hotels from the early 20th century, and this has been very well maintained or renovated. Stayed for one night in transit. Terrific, friendly service, a beautiful, large room at a reasonable price. What more could you ask? Well, you could ask for great dining and we got it. The weather was foul, so we booked in the Sans Souci restaurant and were wonderfully surprised. It was one of the best meals we have ever had in the US (we are from Canada). The menu was highly imaginative and the food was superb. We would come here again for the food even if we could not get in to the hotel.
Nowhere is perfect, but faults with this hotel were limited to charging an outrageous amount for internet access and noise from the pool if the room faces the atrium. The pool is closed from 9 p.m. to 9 a.m., so noise is not a problem unless you wish to try to sleep when it is open or if you are an avid swimmer and want to take a dip before 9. The fitness room is also very good.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.