We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Wedding Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Gift for You
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Lakewood, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Perfect Wedding Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Sticking with the theme of "quintessential Cleveland" for our wedding, my husband and I decided that our overnight accommodations of choice should be at the Renaissance Hotel in downtown Cleveland. This classically beautiful hotel offered the perfect accommodations for our December wedding. They staff was excellent and worked with us on rates for blocked rooms. All of our guests raved about the accommodations, which were second to none. I can say, with all sincerity, that while we didn't have the wedding at the hotel, it certainly made up for a big part of the overall experience, which was perfect. We will be returning for our anniversary again this year.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    249
    132
    75
    34
See reviews for
100
181
47
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Whenever I travel to Cleveland, I try to stay at the Renaissance. It has a great location in the center of downtown, and is a classic hotel -- updated to modern standards.

As a Marriott Platinum member I enjoy the use of the Concierge Lounge, which is one of the best in the entire Marriott chain. Of particular not is the Concierge, Albert. He has an amazing knowledge of the local area, and goes out of his way to answer any question or satisfy any request.

The rooms are spacious and the service is always perfect.

A wonderful hotel I recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The hotel is beautiful on the inside, but getting into the hotel was a huge hassle. We were greated by lots of exterior construction and couldn't find the valet. We decided to self park but the found the parking garage to be extremely small! In fact we ran into a lot of dead ends and not a lot of space.
Once inside we received a friendly welcome and very helpful service. Our room was a long walk on the 9th floor. The room was nice but I found the bathroom dirty for such a nice hotel. The TV was difficult to use and no free wi-fi.
I will note that the hotel is attached a shopping center, which is located to the Q arena, so it was nice not having to go outside to get to our destination. I will also note that it is a long outdoor walk from the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

This is a great up-dated vintage hotel. We had a great experience from the time we arrived at the airport until we left Cleveland. The hotel is very conveniently located downtown - the commuter rail system from the airport has a stop in the adjoining shopping mall - many very good restaurants and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame are also within easy walking distance of the hotel. I think every single hotel staff member that we came upon made a point of saying hello and many offered help before even being asked. I agree with a previous post that this is one of the friendliest hotels I've been to - everyone truly seemed happy to work there. The room was nicely decorated with wonderful bedding and nice Aveda bath products. There was also a designated computer/printer in the lobby for printing boarding passes - maybe this is common, but I've never seen this before - very handy. Although I got a good meeting rate for the hotel, I had such a good experience that I'd be willing to pay more to stay here again if ever in town for leisure.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

The pros:
- The friendliest, most helpful staff I have ever encountered in a hotel. Front desk guy upgraded me for no reason to a club level room; EVERYONE to a person was warm and genuine, and went out of their way to be helpful, from the bellmen and housekeepers, to the concierge, to the bartenders. The catering staff was exceptionally capable, and did a fantastic job serving during conference meal sessions.
- Sparkling clean room.
- High quality Aveda toiletries.
- Beautiful, well laid-out and comfortable lobby and bar areas
- Convenient location near great restaurants and shopping, and attractions including Rock & Roll Hall of Fame
- Sound proof rooms; I never heard a peep from anywhere, despite full occupancy.

The cons:
- Weird square lumpy pillows
- No individual temp controls in rooms
- Extra charge ($12.95) for internet
- Tiny, utilitarian exercise room (3 treadmills, 2 elliptical machines, 2 bikes)
- Ridiculously expensive parking ($23/day)
- Electrical outlets in the room were scarce

Other reviewers mentioned worn furniture and peeling wallpaper; however, my room was beautiful, fresh and stylish. Perhaps some of the rooms have been updated, while others have not? All I know is that my room was in very nice shape.

The $150 conference rate made this an OK value.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

I'm a native Clevelander. I've also traveled alot; most recently to Tunis, Amsterdam and Paris. But I stayed in this hotel for a week, rather than at home, because it was playing host to our big national conference.

I was charmed by my stay, and tickled that such a pleasant hotel was here in my own home town. The staff was professional, helpful and almost beguilingly friendly. My room was especially spacious, as were the guest-room hallways. A large antique desk, a full-fledged divan, as well as a sofa and an easy chair were all part of the ample furnishings. I doubt that the bed could have been more comfortable. And everything, except perhaps for the outside windows, which showed routine over-time window dirt, was spic and span.

This hotel is attached to the Tower City complex, with a post office, stores, restaurants, ANOTHER four-star hotel, food court, movie theaters and a direct connection to the rapid transit trains to the airport. It also offers an indoor ramp to the baseball and basketball games, along with nearby walkability to dozens of really great restaurants in the Warehouse District, the E. 4th Street area and elsewhere. One couldn't ask for a more convenient location.

I certainly enjoyed my own stay, and was delighted that, to hear them tell it, so many of my professional colleagues apparently felt similarly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Yes the exterior is under construction. Yes the hotel is old.

The interior is magnificent. The pool/atrium area is beautiful. The rooms were clean & spacious. The staff helped with the one issue I had (billing), and was most pleasant.

We were upgraded to a suite when we arrived. 2 room suite with 2 queen beds in one room & living area with flatscreen TV in the other room. Very nice. Room was spotless. Bathroom was well stocked & extremely clean.

Had breakfast Plan for 2 days & restaurant was good.

I really have nothing bad to say about this place except the location in the main transpotation terminal in the city of Cleveland leads to some undesirables hanging out around it. Nothing at all happened that would lend me to say it was unsafe, just not the cleanest & nicest area due to the volume of traffic (people & vehicles) coming & going in the area constantly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.