We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Best Marriott in Cleveland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Not the Best Marriott in Cleveland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have been here before for a wedding but last weekend was my first time actually staying here. While they’re some nice aspects to the lobby this is not the best Marriott in town. I would recommend the Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center over this hotel any day of the week. The doorman/valet are more welcoming, the front desk help is more accommodating, the hotel itself and rooms are nicer and the stay is better. In addition to the better service you will get better sleep. The wedding that was going on the night we were staying here was obviously having a blast which is great but we heard the party until 4:30am in the hallways and rooms around us which was frustrating. Also, we were promised a room with a view by someone at the front desk since we booked the romance package for my birthday and had a view of a parking lot. Also, the bar in the lobby was out of multiple things (drinks and glasses) which was frustrating. On a positive we did enjoy dinner at San Souci and the room service for breakfast was quick which was nice. I would not stay here again and strongly recommend checking out the Cleveland Marriott at Key Center!

Room Tip: If promised a room with a view I would inquire about what the view is of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    257
    134
    76
    34
See reviews for
103
188
47
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This property is in a great location. It is attached to the Horseshoe Casino. The service is always very good.Although the property is old it is very classy and well maintained. Always enjpoy our stay here. Walking distance to The Q and progressive field,

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent one night at the Renaissance on Valentine's Day. It's a terrific location, being connected to Tower City. If you are planning to enjoy an evening at the Casino, and don't want to drive back home, this is a perfect choice, as you don't even have to walk outside to get to the Casino.

The hotel is definitely older, and could use some updating. That said, our room was fabulous. It was HUGE! The bed was incredibly comfortable!! We were staying in a club level room and if you are there during the week, it includes breakfast with the room as well. The shampoo's and soaps are Aveda, which I love! We didn't have any meals or drinks at the bar there. The onsite Mediterranean restaurant, Sans Souci, is rated very well. We will definitely be returning in the future!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night for business and everything was great. The hotel is a little older and not as modern as some of the other choices in town but they make up with service. If you are Marriott rewards member you get access to lounge which has great breakfast. I could not say enough great things about the staff.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just in the middle of downtown, a luxury hotel with all amenities. The rooms were surprisingly spacious and a very courteous staff. My airlines missed my luggage and just the mention of it made the reception offer me all necessary.They even helped me with getting my lost baggage to my room.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Five stars - outstanding! That's just what we like to hear. Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us and of course for taking the time to post your review. We're terribly sorry about the unfortunately airlines mix-up regarding your luggage, but happy to hear that our team was able to help. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again here in downtown Cleveland. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here late January for one night while our son was visiting John Carroll University. Had never been in downtown Cleveland and we picked the right place to stay. The hotel is beautiful with a classy lobby area, bar and restaurant. You can sense the history. We were greeted when we checked in by a very friendly young lady and as a Marriott rewards member she offered an upgrade for our room. We were blown away as we walked into the room as it was a beautiful suite which could have fit our entire family of six! I agree with other posters that the HVAC is somewhat challenging but we figured it out. Will definitely be back!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello from downtown Cleveland! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit. We are thrilled to hear when first time guests such as yourself are so notably wowed, that you instantly want to return. It's wonderful that your entire visit was a such a success. Thank you once again for visiting and for taking the time to post. Safe travels and we wish your son great success at John Carroll!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Bar/Restaurant. Excellent rooms. Attended a conference at this hotel and I have to say, I would definitely return to stay here again, maybe try one of their better suites. Housekeeping was efficient and staff was very helpful as well.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
"Absolutely Fantastic" is just what we love to hear! Why thank you so much for not only choosing to stay with us, but also for taking the time to post. We appreciate your kind words and hope that you'll visit again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.