We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but pretty solid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oldie but pretty solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here on a quick weekend trip Summer 14' and it is actually a historic landmark/building so it is kind of old school. They have painted over some of the (likely) hotel room doors from when the building was made as I'm sure they have expanded and updated the rooms over the years so they become part of the walls of the room floors. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms were clean although small for a Marriott. It has everything you need though, nice pool, bar, ballrooms, etc etc.

Most importantly it is in the best location right downtown next to the Horsehoe Casino and a block from E. 4th street where the action was (bars, restaurants, comedy clubs). I'd recommend this hotel. I have nothing to compare it to down there but imagine its one of the better hotels and location is great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Greetings Dave and thank you very much for visiting. We appreciate the four stars and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our historic hotel and our fabulous location downtown. Please visit again soon and until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    239
    126
    69
    29
See reviews for
91
171
47
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Renaissance has a wonderful pool. It is set in an atrium and looks like it is an outdoor pool but is surrounded by the hotel for about nine stories high. The water was warm, about 86 degrees. It is roughly shaped like a lightning bolt but you can do laps if the pool is empty was it was when I swam in it. Our room was lovely except that they did not have a lamp or anywhere to plug in a light fixture or a C-PAC machine on one side of the king-sized bed. I always find that frustrating as both my husband and I like to read before going to sleep at night. Fortunately only one of us needed a C-PAC. I would have given the hotel another star if it had that amenity.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello Joan and thank you not only for staying with us, but also for posting. Please know that each of our 491 guest rooms are completely unique in size and layout and we apologize for the lighting set-up in your particular guest room. We value this feedback and have provided it directly to our general manager for her review. Thank you once again, we do apologize, and we're happy to hear that you loved our unique pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

First, the positive. This hotel has a great location, and within an easy walking distance of Browns Stadium, Progressive Field, West 6th, Horseshoe Casino, and a bunch of other great restaurants and bars. The main lobby is beautiful and classically elegant. And depending on the person and time of day, the staff is friendly and welcoming.

Now the bad. I have never felt so nickel and dimed in my entire life! The price for a room is ridiculous (come on, this is CLEVELAND!) in the first place, but then you have to pay extra for every little thing on top of it. You would think that at a hotel of this caliber there would be at least ONE complimentary bottle of water in the room. Wrong! For a room with two double beds, you get one bottle of Evian water that carries a $3 price tag! There is no minibar, just a bottle on the desk with a $3 hang tag. How about, they get generic bottled water, label it with the Renaissance Hotel's name, and offer at minimum one comp bottle per bed? Not that hard. And parking is over $20 a day! If you order room service, a cheeseburger with fries runs $15, a CAN of pop is $4, they add a delivery charge and a 20% gratuity to every check and you're still expected to tip! Although my burger was tasty, it was over cooked and definitely not worth the astronomical price.

There are some updating that could be done in the rooms. The bathroom has a definite worn feel to it. The bedroom area was nice enough, but again, for the price, I'd expect more. One thing I did really love was the alarm clock/radio that had a i-Phone dock. It would be nice if the rooms also came with a mini-fridge. I was also disappointed with the quality of my maid service. There was a few strands of hair left on the sink top/vanity in the bathroom after the room was turned down. It didn't even appear as if the counter had been wiped down.

When I checked in, the front desk staff was friendly and efficient. I never had that experience again. Returning from a night out, after we lost our key, they were extremely unhelpful and basically treated us like a nuisance. Over 15 minutes later we finally were let back into our room, having been treated like dog poop on the bottom of someone's shoe.

Minor complaints included the parking garage and atmosphere surrounding the hotel. The parking garage was disgusting, horribly lit, extremely small and tight, and filthy. There were also numerous homeless and ne'er do well types loitering around the entrances to the hotel. Needless to say, we felt uncomfortable every time we entered or exited the hotel.

This hotel cannot continue to rest on its laurels of location, name, and having a beautiful lobby. Drop the price or have the services and amenities match the room rate.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello Char and thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Cleveland. Our general manager would very much like the opportunity to speak with you about your stay. Please, at your convenience, email her directly at rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com. On behalf of our entire team, we are terribly sorry for any and all issues and we do hope to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is about 5 blocks from Brown's stadium and the RnR HOF and 4 blocks from the Convention Center. It's an old building that has been well done on the inside. The hotel staff is excellent; very friendly.

The parking is $25/day if you're a guest so keep that in mind if you're driving in.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are very comfortable and there's a 32"-ish flat screen TV in the room. There were 2 sets of windows so there was plenty of natural light in the room during the evening and morning. The bathroom is clean and bright. The only issue I had was with their cold water. At times it wasn't cold. it was actually warm to hot which made the shower that much hotter.

There is a restaurant at the hotel that I only had the breakfast buffet in. It's an excellent buffet with smoked salmon, eggs, potatoes, bacon, oatmeal, assorted breads...all the stuff you'd want in a breakfast buffet. The only drawback is it's about $20/person.

The lobby bar is clean and they have a full liquor bar with several different bottles of beer and 4 or 5 Great Lakes Brewing taps.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Greetings from Cleveland and thank you so very much not only for staying, but for posting such a thorough review of your visit. We are thrilled to hear that you experienced a five star stay! We've gone ahead and passed all comments to our general manager for her review. Once again, thank you and we definitely hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a great hotel. Very close to the baseball stadium and restaurants. The bed is new (they changed all beds within the past two weeks) and very comfortable. The bath products are great. I've never had a hotel give me a soft loofah before. Thanks. One con, the housekeeping didn't clean the coffee cups. Maybe she will tomorrow.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello Mjaj an thank you not only for visiting, but for taking the time to post. We love seeing the glowing five star review and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your loofa! We're sincerely sorry for the issue with your coffee cups and have passed that comment on to our housekeeping team. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on July 25th for a friend's wedding in Solon. We arrived late, around 11:30pm and were extremely exhausted. Walking into the hotel, I was facinated by the ornate detail and the beautiful art-deco style of the space. Sonia, the front desk agent at the desk was INCREDIBLE. She made sure we were extra comfortable for our stay, was friendly, and extremely pleasent to interact with. She took care of every little detail we had questions about. My only regret was that I could not enjoy our beautiful room longer as I had to wake up very early to attend the wedding.

Reading other reviews, I can see how people may think it needs an update but I love that 20's style, art-deco, Great Gatsby, lavish feel of the hotel and think it should be preserved for it's history! Would 100% reccommend to anyone traveling to Cleveland for a weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Our room was absolutely BEAUTIFUL. I couldn't have asked for a better space. It was a corner roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello Mrs. White and thank you not only for visiting, but for taking the time to write. We are thrilled to hear that everything was a success during your visit and we definitely appreciate you mentioning Sonia by name. Please know that your comment has been passed to our general manager for her review. Once again, we thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel has great "bones" and tons of potential, but it desperately needs an update. The lobby carpet, furniture and decor are dated and crying out for a professional interior designer to give it some TLC. Love the ultra-wide hallways - you just don't see these huge halls with tons of millwork anywhere else. We stayed at another historic hotel (Milwaukee Hilton City Center) two nights ago, and I would love to see the Cleveland Rennaisance restored like the Milwaukee Hilton has been. It would be a large investment because this is a huge hotel, but it really needs to be done.

We had a large double full/queen room on the 9th floor....for climate control, the options were either air conditioning or nothing. I was freezing, and looked for a hair dryer to warm up the room but there was NOT one.

We went to the bar for drinks and food. Service was good, and the food was pretty good too.


Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello Jessica. Thank you for visiting Cleveland and for choosing to stay with us. We very much appreciate you taking the time to offer your feedback on renovations. We have passed all comments directly to our general manager for her review. Please know that should you return in the future, hair dryers are located in the velvet pouch, hanging in all guest room closets. We're very sorry that you were not aware. Once again, thank you for staying and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.