We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, terrible value for the money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Gift for You
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Terrible, terrible value for the money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

First, the positive. This hotel has a great location, and within an easy walking distance of Browns Stadium, Progressive Field, West 6th, Horseshoe Casino, and a bunch of other great restaurants and bars. The main lobby is beautiful and classically elegant. And depending on the person and time of day, the staff is friendly and welcoming.

Now the bad. I have never felt so nickel and dimed in my entire life! The price for a room is ridiculous (come on, this is CLEVELAND!) in the first place, but then you have to pay extra for every little thing on top of it. You would think that at a hotel of this caliber there would be at least ONE complimentary bottle of water in the room. Wrong! For a room with two double beds, you get one bottle of Evian water that carries a $3 price tag! There is no minibar, just a bottle on the desk with a $3 hang tag. How about, they get generic bottled water, label it with the Renaissance Hotel's name, and offer at minimum one comp bottle per bed? Not that hard. And parking is over $20 a day! If you order room service, a cheeseburger with fries runs $15, a CAN of pop is $4, they add a delivery charge and a 20% gratuity to every check and you're still expected to tip! Although my burger was tasty, it was over cooked and definitely not worth the astronomical price.

There are some updating that could be done in the rooms. The bathroom has a definite worn feel to it. The bedroom area was nice enough, but again, for the price, I'd expect more. One thing I did really love was the alarm clock/radio that had a i-Phone dock. It would be nice if the rooms also came with a mini-fridge. I was also disappointed with the quality of my maid service. There was a few strands of hair left on the sink top/vanity in the bathroom after the room was turned down. It didn't even appear as if the counter had been wiped down.

When I checked in, the front desk staff was friendly and efficient. I never had that experience again. Returning from a night out, after we lost our key, they were extremely unhelpful and basically treated us like a nuisance. Over 15 minutes later we finally were let back into our room, having been treated like dog poop on the bottom of someone's shoe.

Minor complaints included the parking garage and atmosphere surrounding the hotel. The parking garage was disgusting, horribly lit, extremely small and tight, and filthy. There were also numerous homeless and ne'er do well types loitering around the entrances to the hotel. Needless to say, we felt uncomfortable every time we entered or exited the hotel.

This hotel cannot continue to rest on its laurels of location, name, and having a beautiful lobby. Drop the price or have the services and amenities match the room rate.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello Char and thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Cleveland. Our general manager would very much like the opportunity to speak with you about your stay. Please, at your convenience, email her directly at rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com. On behalf of our entire team, we are terribly sorry for any and all issues and we do hope to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    240
    129
    69
    31
See reviews for
92
173
47
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SW MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is about 5 blocks from Brown's stadium and the RnR HOF and 4 blocks from the Convention Center. It's an old building that has been well done on the inside. The hotel staff is excellent; very friendly.

The parking is $25/day if you're a guest so keep that in mind if you're driving in.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are very comfortable and there's a 32"-ish flat screen TV in the room. There were 2 sets of windows so there was plenty of natural light in the room during the evening and morning. The bathroom is clean and bright. The only issue I had was with their cold water. At times it wasn't cold. it was actually warm to hot which made the shower that much hotter.

There is a restaurant at the hotel that I only had the breakfast buffet in. It's an excellent buffet with smoked salmon, eggs, potatoes, bacon, oatmeal, assorted breads...all the stuff you'd want in a breakfast buffet. The only drawback is it's about $20/person.

The lobby bar is clean and they have a full liquor bar with several different bottles of beer and 4 or 5 Great Lakes Brewing taps.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Greetings from Cleveland and thank you so very much not only for staying, but for posting such a thorough review of your visit. We are thrilled to hear that you experienced a five star stay! We've gone ahead and passed all comments to our general manager for her review. Once again, thank you and we definitely hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a great hotel. Very close to the baseball stadium and restaurants. The bed is new (they changed all beds within the past two weeks) and very comfortable. The bath products are great. I've never had a hotel give me a soft loofah before. Thanks. One con, the housekeeping didn't clean the coffee cups. Maybe she will tomorrow.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello Mjaj an thank you not only for visiting, but for taking the time to post. We love seeing the glowing five star review and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your loofa! We're sincerely sorry for the issue with your coffee cups and have passed that comment on to our housekeeping team. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on July 25th for a friend's wedding in Solon. We arrived late, around 11:30pm and were extremely exhausted. Walking into the hotel, I was facinated by the ornate detail and the beautiful art-deco style of the space. Sonia, the front desk agent at the desk was INCREDIBLE. She made sure we were extra comfortable for our stay, was friendly, and extremely pleasent to interact with. She took care of every little detail we had questions about. My only regret was that I could not enjoy our beautiful room longer as I had to wake up very early to attend the wedding.

Reading other reviews, I can see how people may think it needs an update but I love that 20's style, art-deco, Great Gatsby, lavish feel of the hotel and think it should be preserved for it's history! Would 100% reccommend to anyone traveling to Cleveland for a weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Our room was absolutely BEAUTIFUL. I couldn't have asked for a better space. It was a corner roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello Mrs. White and thank you not only for visiting, but for taking the time to write. We are thrilled to hear that everything was a success during your visit and we definitely appreciate you mentioning Sonia by name. Please know that your comment has been passed to our general manager for her review. Once again, we thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel has great "bones" and tons of potential, but it desperately needs an update. The lobby carpet, furniture and decor are dated and crying out for a professional interior designer to give it some TLC. Love the ultra-wide hallways - you just don't see these huge halls with tons of millwork anywhere else. We stayed at another historic hotel (Milwaukee Hilton City Center) two nights ago, and I would love to see the Cleveland Rennaisance restored like the Milwaukee Hilton has been. It would be a large investment because this is a huge hotel, but it really needs to be done.

We had a large double full/queen room on the 9th floor....for climate control, the options were either air conditioning or nothing. I was freezing, and looked for a hair dryer to warm up the room but there was NOT one.

We went to the bar for drinks and food. Service was good, and the food was pretty good too.


Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello Jessica. Thank you for visiting Cleveland and for choosing to stay with us. We very much appreciate you taking the time to offer your feedback on renovations. We have passed all comments directly to our general manager for her review. Please know that should you return in the future, hair dryers are located in the velvet pouch, hanging in all guest room closets. We're very sorry that you were not aware. Once again, thank you for staying and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Unfortunately, this grand old dame is more old than grand. She is very old and is showing her age in many areas. The bathroom door in our room was painted so many times, it had lost most of the definition in the paneling. The hallway could have done with some repairs to moldings.
The layout is odd, with the lobby, lounge and restaurant all on the second floor. There is only one restaurant which is pricey.
We were at a convention and this recommended convention hotel is at least 20 minutes walk from the convention center.
The concierge was minimally helpful and unapologetic about lack of assistance. We left our luggage with the bell desk after we checked out and when we went to retrieve it, it took 5 minutes for them to find someone to do it.
A serviceable hotel, but not a place I will return to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello Karen and thank you not only for choosing to stay with us, but also for taking the time to post about your experience. We sincerely apologize for any and all disappointments while visiting. Our general manager would like the opportunity to speak with your personally about your visit. Should you be interested, please email her at rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com with your contact information. Once again, on behalf of our entire team, we apologize and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel is beautiful. You will be impressed walking in and around the hotel. The location is good. You can walk (without going outside) to shopping (Tower city center) and other attractions. The hotel room was okay, even good, but the problem was the walls are paper thin. Literally the guy in the next room coughed & you would've thought he was next to us in the room. We were across from the elevator, which was an added annoyance.

I would absolutely have a wedding here. The food is amazing, the hotel beautiful but staying here for a weekend is one night too long.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello Happy and thank you not only for visiting, but for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your kind words on your experience, however we are sincerely sorry for your disappointment with the sound levels within our guest rooms. Please know that we have passed your comments to our general manager for her review. We truly apologize for any inconvenience and we hope that you'll visit again soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.