We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel downtown Cleveland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Classic hotel downtown Cleveland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location- walk to everything. Service was excellent. Love the lobby and bar area- very charming. Expansive hallways, nice rooms- great beds. Concierge lounge looks amazing- food is ok, but the ladies working there were great. Treat Marriott platinum members great! Only compliant might be the parking garage- a little tight.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Greetings from Cleveland and thank you for the wonderful four star review. We thank you very much for visiting and for taking the time to write. We also appreciate your feedback and have passed all comments to our general manager for her review. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    239
    126
    69
    29
See reviews for
91
171
47
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

1.The unhelpful staff mutters the phrase, “Happy to serve” with sarcasm so lethal it was first patented by the French during WWII as their weapon of choice.
2.The elevator keys—for those on the higher floors—won’t always work. It’s not you. It’s not the elevator. It’s not your phone demagnetizing the cards. Trust me, I’ve spoken with other guests about this. The cards just suck.
3.When your elevator key repeatedly ceases to work the man at the Navigator booth will guardedly replace it with that patented, “Happy to serve” attitude. I think he’d rather you just scale the outside of the building to your room like Spiderman.
4.Being Spiderman will not help you get an ounce of flavor or a decent meal from room service. Room service. * shudders *
5.If you ask for a room close to the elevators because you have a son who has had recent surgery and can’t walk very far, they will give you the room that is exactly the furthest from the elevators no matter which way in the square—left or right--you choose to go. Clever. Devious. But clever.
6.If you use your Marriott Rewards to pay for your hotel, they will charge you anyway. When you complain that you used 120,000 Marriott Rewards for the room, the front desk person will say, “Hmmm, I see. These charges have already been approved. Let me research if there is any way to reverse these charges. I’ll have to call you back.” Really? Are you living in the same decade that your hotel was constructed in? I think electronically depositing the money you withdrew from the bank shouldn’t be that difficult.
7.The valets will happily sit having a cigarette while you juggle two bags of groceries and struggle to open the door directly in front of them. FYI: Bringing groceries is a good idea. Room service. *shudders *
8.If you dial 7 and any button that is supposed to get you to the front desk, room service, Navigator or any other “Happy to serve” service, there is a good chance that it won’t go through. You’ll call seven times. You’ll hear it ring, hear the brush of clothing, and be hung up on. Again and again. Really? Apparently you have to be rude to get anyone to care about you at this hotel. It’s a French thing.
9.The cleaning staff is awesome. And nice. And they really work hard.
10.If you have a convention at this hotel, they might make your well-groomed party guests line up for food at a buffet set up in the main lobby. You know, where you check in. It was awkward for everyone involved, not just the people struggling past with their travel worn clothes, smeared mascara, and bulk luggage. I tried not to make eye contact.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello Trustworthy and thank you not only for visiting, but also for taking the time to write your thorough review. We have spent a considerable amount of time investigating the items you noted regarding your stay and unfortunately we most definitely require additional information in order to reply appropriately. We certainly don't want to make assumptions or overlook any part of your review. First and foremost, please know that on behalf of our entire team, we are sincerely sorry for any and all issues you experienced while visiting. Our general manager would very much like the opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience and gain additional information. Should you be interested in emailing her, please do so to rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com. We appreciate your time in contacting us, and please know that your feedback is definitely valued. Thank you again for visiting and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed at this property for a conference between May 29-May 30.

Location - Excellent for downtown Cleveland. The train station is below it. You can fly into CLE and take the RTA for $2.25 and be at the hotel in 30 minutes. A cab will cost approximately $35. There is a mall next to it with a decent food court. For nightlife, there's a casino within walking distance and the famous 4th Street for dinner and bar spots.

Club lounge level - This worked great for me. The staff was absolutely incredible: Albert, Rochelle and Tonda. Not only were they incredibly friendly, but they were able to tell me how to get to places and just made the overall stay great. The food for breakfast and happy hour were fine. I really liked having access to water, juices and yogurt during the day.

Room - The room was a little depressing. I had an inside room facing the pool. It was dark, but it was cleaned very well everyday. There is enough closet space to put your things in and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom was not luxurious, but it had really nice swag with their aveda products. I had enough towels everyday.

Lobby bar - This was a great feature in the hotel. We had several business meetings here, and it was a good place to catch up with coworkers. Great cocktails but not cheap.

Meeting rooms for the conference - It's a huge space that will fit about 700 people. The hotel had several rooms for our break-out sessions. Lou was our contact person, and he was very responsive.

Gym - The gym is tiny, but there was no one ever in there.

Check-in and check-out - Marcus checked me in the evening, and he was friendly and quick. I turned in my key cards to check-out, and it took all of 5 seconds.

My other colleagues stayed at the Westin. They said that the rooms were much nicer than this hotel BUT the location wasn't as convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello Pr0Jettsetter and thank you for writing such an amazingly thorough review of our property. There is truly some excellent feedback here that we are very appreciative of receiving. We definitely want to apologize for the disappointment in your actual guest room. Obviously this is a critical part of your stay and we're truly sorry that you were not happier with the decor and location. We love our "swag" as well; Aveda products are wonderful and we're proud to work with them. Also thank you for pointing out so many of our wonderful navigators by name. We will be sure to pass this information directly to our general manager for her review and so that everyone will be recognized. Thanks again; we value your input. We hope to see you again very soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed in this hotel while attending a conference there recently. I am sure that the hotel was very grand in its day and some of the common areas are still. The meeting room is worn. I believe that quite a few of the conference attendees were all put on the same floor, the 14th, with a fine view of the next building. The room was small and felt like it was put in as an after thought. There was hardly any room to walk around in. The heat/cooling system was terrible. When I can, I will up load a photo that I took of it. The temperature of the room could not be adjusted no matter how you turned the knob. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and the linens were nice. The hotel has a very good location in the heart of downtown Cleveland, close to almost anything you would want to do. The staff were helpful. Check in and out was easily done. I still have to complain about WiFi access. I do not understand why hotels gouge their clientele by charging over and above the accomodation cost for internet access in the room. I will never pay for that service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello Sally and thank you not only for visiting but also for taking your time to post such a thorough review. We are terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your guest room accommodations. It isn't that any of our 491 guest rooms were "afterthoughts", however believe it or not, each is entirely unique in layout, and size. We have no two identical rooms in the entire hotel. We're very sorry that you were not happy with yours. As for your other issues, our general manager would very much like to speak with you personally. Should you be interested in contacting her, please email rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com. On behalf of the entire team here in Cleveland, we sincerely apologize and hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

World Class accommodations overlooking the activity of Public Square, backed by a panoramic vista of the downtown skyline. With indoor connections to Tower City Center, Horseshoe Casino, the Observation Deck, Quicken Arena, Progressive Field, Ritz-Carlton, the Federal Tower, as well as the Cinema Multiplex; you can not find a better location. The award winning Sans Souci restaurant overlooks Public Square.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a high floor overlooking Public Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Steve, thank you! We appreciate you staying with us and we definitely appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful compliments about our historic property. We love hearing that you enjoyed all the many conveniences within walking distance; it sounds like you took great advantage of the many downtown sights and scenes. On behalf of our entire team, we thank you and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room, although old was very elegant and the staff were superb. Great location right in downtown Cleveland. The room was spacious, amenities were great and the view was good. There was a comfortable couch and 2 chairs in the room and the staff brought in an extra bed so we were all comfortable!

Room Tip: I was with 2 other friends and we all had a bed. The hotel is very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Greetings from Cleveland and thank you so very much for the wonderful five star review! We're thrilled to hear that your entire visit was a success! Hopefully you'll be returning again soon and we'll look forward to seeing you again then! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is my second time to stay at the Renaissance. The rooms are large with many windows overlooking the city or Lake Erie. The pillows were not the greatest, but the linens and towels were fine, and there was a complimentary robe to use. I was on the concierge floor, and the food in the lounge was quite good! The hotel is also four-block walking distance (seemed safe) from the "theater district".

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have the view, but also the street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello CW! Thank you so much for returning recently for a second stay. We love hearing when guests return to our beautiful property. We wanted to apologize with the situation regarding your pillows. Please know that should you ever visit again, please feel free to notify our front desk of any such issue and our housekeeping team will be happy to swap pillows until you find something more suitable. Once again we appreciate you returning and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.