We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are better off elsewhere.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Gift for You
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“You are better off elsewhere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I just completed a 1 night trip and was somewhat disappointed. Let me break it down for you...

The property could be very cool. The location is good. We were able to walk to an Indians game and we were also a short walk to the Brown's stadium, lakefront, and rock and roll hof. The lobby and common areas are beautiful. They are very old, and the place just feels nostalgic.

What made it a bad stay was the room selection. My room was prepaid for a convention I was attending by the host organization. Therefore, the woman at the counter wasn't interested in my Marriott Rewards status. I was early, but she told me a room was available.
The room was very, very bad for an elite Marriott property.
First, it was small. Not just cozy or quaint that you'd expect in a historic property, but just small. A queen size bed barely fit between the walls. The toilet was installed on an angle with no tank just to make it fit in the bathroom. Small.
Next, it faced the interior 'courtyard'. That may have been OK if you are on a high floor, but I was assigned a room on the ground floor of the courtyard (floor 5). That meant the windows looked out into- nothing but a faux patio wall. The room was super stuffy and opening the window just led to a security concern and more internal air.
Then, there was the climate control. Or lack thereof. There is no wall control- you simply go to the register which says it is just an air conditioner. If you want heat, open the window into the courtyard. Not cool Marriott.

I knew that I'd only be in the room 6 hours to sleep so I decided not to to ask to be reassigned. Plus, I've never stayed here before so for all I knew all the rooms were like this.

Let's talk briefly about the fitness center. The hotel is very large, but the fitness center is not. It simply isn't big enough. I went in there at 6 am and every elliptical was taken as were the two treadmills. There are free weights, but there was a guy there too. I've got to believe they could take a room out of service and expand that.

The sleep was fine, however I did come develop a rash. I'm not quite ready to blame the hotel yet because I had another stay in Chicago the next night, but I wouldn't be shocked.

I'll end on the positive- I was invited into the 14th floor concierge suite with a colleague who has status. That was awesome. The room was beautiful, the service was great, and it actually felt like a high end hotel.

Bottom line? If you have status that they care to recognize, I'm guessing this could be a wonderful stay. If you don't (or they choose not to acknowledge it) go elsewhere. There are tons of brands within a few blocks.

Room Tip: You do not want an interior (Courtyard facing) room. You'll also want to be as high as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello TD and thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review of your stay. We're terribly sorry for your disappointment with your room location. We understand that you were only with us for one night, however we definitely wish that we had been given the opportunity to move you to a different location that you may have enjoyed a bit more. Please note that should you return, and we hope that you will, each of our 491 guest rooms is completely unique in size and layout. The hotel is nearly 100 years old and it's grandeur, such as what you experienced in our Club Lounge, comes alongside particular quirks such as our HVAC system, which we are constantly adjusting to offer a more enjoyable experience for everyone. Once again, we appreciate you staying, and we also appreciate the feedback. Hopefully we'll see you on your next visit into Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    240
    129
    69
    31
See reviews for
92
173
47
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel is in a terrific historic building, yet has all the modern conveniences for a very comfortable stay. The location is perfect - on Public Square - with easy access to dining and entertainment options. The lobby of the hotel is stunning - reminiscent of Cleveland's golden era. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the streets can be noisy but have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello Paula and thank you not only for visiting, but for also taking the time to write your glowing five star review. Our nearly 100 year old property does indeed exude a feeling of grandeur and elegance from a time gone by. We're happy to hear that we've done a stellar job at preserving that nostalgia for guests such as yourself. Once again, we thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I just spent 5 days at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel and was very happy with my stay. Everyone was so friendly and the rooms were very clean. Walk through the hotel to the casino, mall and walking distance to many local eatery. Check out Jakes if you want a great sandwhich or Gyro open 24/7!!!

Room Tip: rooms by pool a little noisy but, good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello Deb! Thank you for visiting and for writing your review. We're happy to hear your entire trip was a success and we definitely hope you'll stay with us again in the future. Thank you once again. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We have been here for a grand total of 1 1/2 hours, and have already experienced the following: (1) front desk cannot locate my rewards # to credit my account; (2) we are STILL waiting for the bell hop to deliver out luggage, which we were told would be here in 20-25 minutes. When I called the bell hop desk, the "navigator" promised to check into it and call me back. He never did; ( 3) the room phone does not connect to the front desk, so I have to go down in person to communicate with them. The room is tiny and awkwardly shaped, grossly overpriced for what it is. It had better improve from here...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. That certainly sounds like a rough start to your stay with us and for that we apologize. While we understand guests using their communication outlet of choice, we do wish that you had reached out to our team via one of our social channels versus a review site as that would have given us the ability to offer more immediate assistance and hopefully remedy the situation on the scene. At any event, we certainly hope that your stay with us improved and should you still wish to speak with out hotel manager, we encourage you to email him at rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com. Once again, on behalf of our entire team, we are sincerely sorry for any possible issues you encountered while visiting and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a terrific stay at the Renaissance Cleveland over Easter weekend. It's a great location as you can walk to everything- restaurants, ball park, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame etc. The room was spacious and very updated and clean. Our view was of the square out front, and it was great. We enjoyed the lobby bar, and the architecture was great. The front desk was good with instructions of how to get places and overall very helpful. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello and thank you for visiting over Easter weekend. We are very happy that your stay was enjoyable and that our navigators were able to give you excellent advice about downtown Cleveland. We thank you once again for staying with us in our beautiful historic hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We just came back from a two night stay at the Renaissance in Cleveland, Ohio. Beautiful hotel. The lobby is gorgeous and the restaurant is really attractive. I booked a king room, high floor facing the outside, and early arrival. We arrived around 12:00 and our room was ready. Beautiful room overlooking public square on the 12th floor. We got everything that we asked for, including extra towels. Beautiful marble bathroom and the room was so clean. The bed was very comfortable too. Everyone there was really nice and helpful. We never did not get a chance to eat dinner at the restaurant there but the morning we left we did have the breakfast buffet. The food was very good and it was a nice buffet, which included your juices and coffee. However, with tip, the cost for 2 buffets and tip was close to $50. Just thought that was a little expensive for 2 breakfasts. I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel. I checked out other hotels while there and they aren't as attractive as this one. Very classy and a great location. We walked to the ball field and to Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. We parked directly across the street. It was $12 per night.

Room Tip: Request a high floor with a view of the outside and not the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello Renee and thank you so much for all of your wonderful words about our beautiful hotel! We love hearing such positive feedback from visitors like yourself. We appreciate the five stars and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Room:
We were assigned a room with a direct view of the square. The room was clean and large. Marriott has done a fantastic job maintaining this historic building. I was on floor 12, which is close to the top. I would recommend higher floors in this hotel as there can be a lot of noise off the square.

Value:
Rate was ~130, which is fair considering that it included a full breakfast buffet in the restaurant. Internet is not included, but I've got my mifi. The rate was the same at the Marriott Downtown, but the rooms there are smaller.

Location:
Great location. Within walking distance to E 4th, with tons of restaurants.

Service:
Courteous employees. Only complaint would be long wait times at the front desk with only a single agent.

Overall:
Very nice place to stay in Cleveland without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello FirstClassTraveler and thank you for visiting our beautiful historic property and also for taking the time to write! We appreciate your thorough review and wanted to personally apologize for the lines you experienced at our front desk area. We have passed your comments to our general manager for her review and can only say that we will definitely work harder in that area. We thank you once again and hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Cleveland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.