We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renaissance Cleveland Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Litchfield, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Renaissance Cleveland Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I just spent 5 days at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel and was very happy with my stay. Everyone was so friendly and the rooms were very clean. Walk through the hotel to the casino, mall and walking distance to many local eatery. Check out Jakes if you want a great sandwhich or Gyro open 24/7!!!

Room Tip: rooms by pool a little noisy but, good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello Deb! Thank you for visiting and for writing your review. We're happy to hear your entire trip was a success and we definitely hope you'll stay with us again in the future. Thank you once again. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    238
    125
    69
    29
See reviews for
91
171
47
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We have been here for a grand total of 1 1/2 hours, and have already experienced the following: (1) front desk cannot locate my rewards # to credit my account; (2) we are STILL waiting for the bell hop to deliver out luggage, which we were told would be here in 20-25 minutes. When I called the bell hop desk, the "navigator" promised to check into it and call me back. He never did; ( 3) the room phone does not connect to the front desk, so I have to go down in person to communicate with them. The room is tiny and awkwardly shaped, grossly overpriced for what it is. It had better improve from here...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. That certainly sounds like a rough start to your stay with us and for that we apologize. While we understand guests using their communication outlet of choice, we do wish that you had reached out to our team via one of our social channels versus a review site as that would have given us the ability to offer more immediate assistance and hopefully remedy the situation on the scene. At any event, we certainly hope that your stay with us improved and should you still wish to speak with out hotel manager, we encourage you to email him at rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com. Once again, on behalf of our entire team, we are sincerely sorry for any possible issues you encountered while visiting and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a terrific stay at the Renaissance Cleveland over Easter weekend. It's a great location as you can walk to everything- restaurants, ball park, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame etc. The room was spacious and very updated and clean. Our view was of the square out front, and it was great. We enjoyed the lobby bar, and the architecture was great. The front desk was good with instructions of how to get places and overall very helpful. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello and thank you for visiting over Easter weekend. We are very happy that your stay was enjoyable and that our navigators were able to give you excellent advice about downtown Cleveland. We thank you once again for staying with us in our beautiful historic hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We just came back from a two night stay at the Renaissance in Cleveland, Ohio. Beautiful hotel. The lobby is gorgeous and the restaurant is really attractive. I booked a king room, high floor facing the outside, and early arrival. We arrived around 12:00 and our room was ready. Beautiful room overlooking public square on the 12th floor. We got everything that we asked for, including extra towels. Beautiful marble bathroom and the room was so clean. The bed was very comfortable too. Everyone there was really nice and helpful. We never did not get a chance to eat dinner at the restaurant there but the morning we left we did have the breakfast buffet. The food was very good and it was a nice buffet, which included your juices and coffee. However, with tip, the cost for 2 buffets and tip was close to $50. Just thought that was a little expensive for 2 breakfasts. I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel. I checked out other hotels while there and they aren't as attractive as this one. Very classy and a great location. We walked to the ball field and to Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. We parked directly across the street. It was $12 per night.

Room Tip: Request a high floor with a view of the outside and not the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello Renee and thank you so much for all of your wonderful words about our beautiful hotel! We love hearing such positive feedback from visitors like yourself. We appreciate the five stars and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Room:
We were assigned a room with a direct view of the square. The room was clean and large. Marriott has done a fantastic job maintaining this historic building. I was on floor 12, which is close to the top. I would recommend higher floors in this hotel as there can be a lot of noise off the square.

Value:
Rate was ~130, which is fair considering that it included a full breakfast buffet in the restaurant. Internet is not included, but I've got my mifi. The rate was the same at the Marriott Downtown, but the rooms there are smaller.

Location:
Great location. Within walking distance to E 4th, with tons of restaurants.

Service:
Courteous employees. Only complaint would be long wait times at the front desk with only a single agent.

Overall:
Very nice place to stay in Cleveland without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello FirstClassTraveler and thank you for visiting our beautiful historic property and also for taking the time to write! We appreciate your thorough review and wanted to personally apologize for the lines you experienced at our front desk area. We have passed your comments to our general manager for her review and can only say that we will definitely work harder in that area. We thank you once again and hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Cleveland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel about 6 times now. Stayed this time for a concert at Quicken Loans arena. Check in was a breeze with our room on the 10th floor. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. Hotel is in older building with a lot of nice, older architecture to enjoy. It is connected to restaurants, an underground mall, the Horseshoe Casino, the city's transit system, and the arena we attended the concert at. All of those just mentioned, one can walk to without going outside. There's also a nice pool and workout room on the 5th floor. I highly recommend this hotel if your looking for a place stay near the Arena and/or Warehouse Districts of Cleveland.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Boyzx3, thank you for staying at our beautiful historic property and for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate the four stars and are happy to hear that you enjoyed not only your visit with us, but your time in Cleveland in general. We thank you again and hope to see you on your next visit. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed here the first week in April. The staff was very accommodating and the room was excellent. I had no issues during my stay. The location was convenient to downtown, local transportation, and the casino. The internet connection was fast and stable. Room service was prompt and accurate. I will stay here again on my next trip to Cleveland.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello unxman and thank you for taking the time to write. We love the fact that you will be returning to our property on your next visit. Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.