We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Oregon, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just ok!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed at this Cleveland property for a wedding in Oct. Customer service from the check in to the check out was lacking. Even the bar staff was lacking in the customer service dept and they work on tips.We have stayed at this property before and it was better on the first visit. It is a beautiful property but is starting to look a little tired and need of updating. Would probably try another downtown Cleveland hotel in the future. Valets were very nice and friendly and went out of the way to be helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Pounchkee, thank you for staying and for taking the time to write your detailed review. We appreciate all of your feedback and have passed this information on to our general manager. We're sincerely sorry for any possible service issues you encountered while visiting and hopefully, should you visit again (which we hope that you will), we'll provide a stellar experience start to finish. Thanks again and we will hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    220
    115
    63
    29
See reviews for
89
158
42
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Wow! What a great job the Renaissance of Cleveland did for us on our wedding! It was our favorite hotel in Cleveland, and our dream location for a wedding. We made it a point to visit and immediately knew this was the only place we wanted to have our ceremony and reception. We worked with Jaci and Elissa who did an amazing job for us throughout the entire process. These ladies know how to coordinate an event and make everyone feel comfortable. We cannot thank the entire staff all the way down to the bellmen who made our stay and event so special. The food is amazing, the environment around the holidays was beautiful, and every guest of ours was blown away by the entire experience. The hotel rooms are fantastic, and when they suite, they mean suite - most are larger than your first apartment you lived in. We hope that many others entrust this group with their special day! We look forward to always having a place to go back to go for amazing memories!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Rvajda, thank you so much for all of your wonderful words regarding your wedding and once again CONGRATULATIONS to you both! We will be sure to pass your accolades on to Elissa, Jaci, and the entire events team. We're thrilled to hear that your special day was seamless and memorable! Thank you for working with us and we'll look forward to those future anniversary visits. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on New Year's Eve and, although the room was a bit smaller than I expected, it was classy and quaint...staff was friendly and accommodating with late check out. Decor was new and modern. My only complaint was no micro-fridge in the room, so we couldn't save our leftovers.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Cathryn, thank you for staying and for your review of our property. We apologize for your disappointment regarding the lack of fridge, however due to the uniqueness of each guest room, size prevents us from offering refrigerators. Please know, that we would be happy to store your refrigerated items via bag check at the front desk area should that be of interest. Once again, we thank you for staying and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here after my private event at the Terminal Tower. Was very busy at front desk when we were checking into our rooms but Regina at the desk was pleasant and helpful to every guest. She was able to give me the room I requested and checked me in rather quickly. Was impressed. The room was clean, spacious and in good repair. Everything was perfect. Had a snack at the bar downstairs and it was delicious. Used the pool and the gym. Adequete apparatus in the gym and the pool area was well-kept and has beautiful plants and statues. It's the 2nd time I stayed here and am looking forward to next time. My sister and her husband had a suite at the hotel and it was elegant and in good repair. We really like this place. It's connected to the Terminal Tower shops and theatre and easy to get to the Horseshoe Casino and all the downtown attractions. All good marks. Happy New Year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
DarthChipper, thank you so much for your kind review of our beautiful hotel. We have passed your compliments on Regina to our general manager. We appreciate the feedback. Thank you again and we'll look forward to your third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed here in October for a concert. The weekend we stayed, there was a marathon that changed the hotel access, and we were not informed of this until we arrived in Cleveland and hit the road changes. I talked to the front desk twice to try to have them "walk us in" to the hotel by giving us directions as we were driving, and they weren't very knowledgeable or clear on how to get us into the hotel garage. After driving around 20 minutes, passing the hotel several times, not seeing how to get in, we eventually figured it out. It would have been nice if they sent out an email about the event so we would have given ourselves more time, and maybe a map with the email so it was easier to navigate through the chaos to the hotel.

The room was nice and a decent size and clean. The bed was comfortable. We got room service, a sandwich, bowl of soup and two drinks. The food was pretty good, but not worth the money we spent. I recommend going to one of the many bar or restaurants which are in walking distance.

My biggest complaint was no free WiFi! For a room you are paying around $200 a night for, it was extremely disappointing and frustrating. I can't remember the last time I was in a hotel where the WiFi wasn't complimentary for guests.

I haven't stayed at other hotels in Cleveland, but I probably wouldn't choose to stay here again. Our stay did not measure up to what we payed for the hotel for the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hello Restless and thank you for writing. We sincerely apologize for any problems that you experienced while visiting back in October and wish that you had brought these issues to our attention sooner. The directional snafu regarding the marathon is most perplexing as our entire front desk team should have had proper information readily available for our guests. We apologize sincerely for any miscommunications. Once again, we are very sorry for any issues and hope that you will in fact visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
too far from the wild west!
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I rarely review Marriott as they're consistently excellent. (unless a deal in a pricey tourist area) But this hotel deserves special note. This was my second conference & likely our permanent site. It is distinctive, charming & great venue for leisure travel or meetings of any size.

There are several ballrooms, one absolutely massive Grande, and many break-out meeting rooms.
Since our last meeting, the guest rooms were upgraded & Internet greatly improved. They've done brilliant blending of historic elements with classy, contemporary décor throughout the hotel.

I used my own personal suite as a hospitality suite for an extra meeting. VERY spacious & comfortable with 1 1/2 baths -- the 1/2 bath off the large foyer upon entering the suite's living space. The large King BR has another full & quite large bathroom. The walk in shower has two shower-heads, soaking tub for at least two, counters, vanity, all amenities, all spotless.

Great location with many things connected, a huge benefit for leisure & business travel. Meetings must include some down time & this allows attendees to walk to the connected Tower City shopping & dining , the new(ish) Horseshoe Casino, The Quicken Loans Arena (CAVS) and multi-Movie Theatre. Fantastic. The Rapid Transit public transportation has a major station connected to the hotel, with fares to the airport under $2.25 each way. Amazing.

Meeting planning was a breeze with megan johannes in sales. She has that ideal balance of professionalism with personal touch. Everything worked out perfectly as planned.

On Wednesday night several of us enjoyed a drink before dinner with their RLife LIVE Event with local music in the Lobby. The Christmas décor was stunning too. Also about a 5 minute walk is the charming E. 4th St. with both fine & fun dining.

This is a truly the best place to stay in Cleveland for leisure or business . It's really a destination in itself, a must-see for any bucket-list. I love this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Rocker_rep, thank you! Your amazing review is wonderfully appreciated! We're unsure if we've ever before been added to a Bucket List, but there is certainly a first time for everything! Thank you once again for staying and we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon. Travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My family of 5 stayed there on an overnight trip to Cleveland.
This was by far one of the nicer hotels I've booked online. EXTREMELY clean! Staff was friendly and helpful. Bags were brought to our room and them taken to our car, was so nice when traveling with 3 kids.
The pool was nice. 3.5-4 feet deep. My youngest could touch everywhere so we didn't have to worry about her going under.
My only complaint was that the shops in Tower City closed at 7pm on Friday night.
Hotel was decorated very nice for Christmas. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hello Amy and thank you so much not only for staying, but also for your excellent five star review! We apologize for your disappointment in the shopping hours and will pass that information along to our retail neighbors. Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.