We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Columbus, Ohio, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed here for two nights for a business conference and had a great time. It was in a great spot, we walked almost everywhere. Only used the car once to visit Ohio City. They helped us pick out great spots to eat and sent up a fridge for our leftovers free of charge. Would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
robino3, thank you and we're thrilled to hear that you had such a great time while visiting. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    239
    129
    69
    31
See reviews for
92
172
47
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

In full disclosure we stayed at a no frills motel the night before, making this hotel extremely enjoyable. The room was huge and the beds were very comfortable. We walked to the baseball park from here with no problem. The cool street with restaurants is also a few minutes away. One of the men in our group really loved that the casino was a 3-minute walk as well. Again, great location. We had no problems with the AC or any other amenities. Our room had a view of the Courtyard with the gym and pool downstairs, neither of which we used. Great rate, would stay here again. The only con was the late check-in time we had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
KristyP, thank you! It sounds like you had a great time while visiting. The area you mention with the restaurants and brick walkway is the East 4th Street area - always a good choice for dining and fun. Thanks again and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance with 3 other couples as we were celebrating two birthdays. Excellent location, hotel is beautiful, beds are excellent, but....3 of the four rooms were down one hallway and everyone had same complaint on Sunday morning...didn't sleep well, room was too hot. We tried adjusting the very old AC/Heater but it wouldn't go cold. First experience like this in this hotel as we've stayed here previously and had no issues.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms in the 970 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Keith, thank you for visiting. We apologize for the problems you experienced with the AC system. As you are aware, our beautiful historic property was built in 1918 and particular quirks such as our HVAC system, which does pose some issues for us, do exist. We work diligently to offer a comfortable environment for our guests and are always improving our system. Once again, we apologize and hope that you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The public areas are luxurious and impressive. Our room was spacious and quiet because it was on the inner atrium of the hotel. We enjoyed our stay partly because of the history of the place and also because of its location. The central Cleveland area is looking very smart now and there are lots of bars and restaurants full of people. We also ate in the Hotel bar - quite pricey but fresh and tasty with generous servings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Frances, thank you so much for staying with us and for writing your review. We appreciate your kind words and hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to the US. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My client booked me in to this property for one night. I didn't even know it was a marriott until I checked in. I'm a frequent guest with Marriott so it was a welcome plus.

The good: The property in convenioently located downtown, with lots to do nearby (even though I didn't get to take advantage of it). It is a beautiful historic property, espeically the lobby areas, and I love historic properties. Room was decent size and nice. Bed was very comfortable. Nice amenities. Had dinner in the lobby bar and it was very good. The people, as with all Marriott properties, were great.

The bad: The temperature in the room was erratic. Either it was hot or cold. I suspect with an old HVAC system. I about ruined a shirt with the iron that was in the room, which was critical as I was there for an interview. When turned flat all the water ran out. I called for anotehr one and it was okay but not great. The ironing board needed to be replaced as well. Probably not critical for most, but when you need to look great, it makes a difference.

Still small problems. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
AI, thank you for writing your review. We love feedback from our guests such as your information on the iron. If you are interested, our general manager would very much enjoy hearing the details of your room number and the iron situation so that we can assure future guests do not encounter the same issue. Should you be interested in sharing additional information, please email her at rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com. Thank you again for staying and for your review. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melfa, va
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our experience here was very good to excellent. Room was perfect and our bath was fine. Some of the fixtures could be considered outdated I guess, but I was not disappointed at all. I thought the location was excellent with access to shopping, restaurants, bars, movies and the sporting venues. The staff were excellent as well. If I return to Cleveland I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Julie, thank you for your fantastic review! We appreciate you staying and very much look forward to your return visit. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The public areas are rich, spacious, and luxurious, and the service was great at registration and concierge services. Traditional decor in the accommodations, but the bathroom could definitely use a facelift. Keep in mind that the same, convenient downtown location also comes with downtown traffic noise - at all hours. The street cleaners late at night sounded as though the vacuum was right inside my room - and I was on the 12th floor!
There are only a few machines in the fitness center. The pool is quite small and not available for an early-morning or evening swim.
This hotel is a nice 10-minute walk to the convention center and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, where you'll pass by beautiful churches and monuments typical of "northern" downtown areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
JS, thank you for staying and for your review. We appreciate your feedback on our guest bathrooms as we continue to improve moving forward. Our 1918 historic property is always receiving renovations throughout the property as we continue to preserve and protect the original decor and grandeur. We'll hope to see you again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.