We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel for a casino visit which is just steps away. The place is beautiful. Gorgeous lobby with a fountain. The King room was clean and nicely appointed. The bed was very comfortable and slept well. The L-shaped bathroom was large and bright. Toiletries were by Aveda. Free safe in room, but used a key as opposed to a push-button combination. Only complaint was the air system. Arrived at 4 pm and the room was quite warm. Put the unit on the coldest setting and it took until 11 pm for it to be comfortable. The desk staff was very friendly and professional. Free WiFi in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Tim, thank you for staying and for your wonderful review! We appreciate you taking the time to write and we do apologize for the warmer temp in your room. Thank you again and we hope that you will return soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    284
    149
    83
    36
See reviews for
111
204
47
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Could have been a great stay if not for paper-thin walls and aloof staff.

First, the good: The hotel's gorgeous. The room was nice. Small but clean and updated with a super comfy bed. The location is in the heart of downtown; walking distance to the Rock Hall, casino and the entertainment district. Close to many great restaurants and nightlife. The staff was friendly but, unfortunately, aloof.

The bad: The walls are paper thin. We were in a room near the elevator and there was a steady flow of partiers all night long. We could hear every slurred word as they staggered up and down the hall. Or worse, announced to the world their celebration. The walls are so thin it sounded like they were walking through our room. When we said something to the front desk they shrugged it off explaining that it's not normally that bad. There's usually some ruckus being close to the casino but it happened to be a Browns game weekend. All the front desk staff gave me was an unsatisfactory explanation and nothing else.

Game weekend or not we wanted sleep. Nothing like a long drive home on a few interrupted hours of sleep.

Parking is expensive and the parking staff were as aloof as the front desk. The self-park was full and the parking attendant didn't seem to care that we spent 30 minutes driving through the garage. Only to not find a spot. At least she didn't charge me. But for as much as we spent on the room they could have comped the valet when the garage was full.

It's a shame. We had high hopes for a romantic weekend away. Instead, we came home exhausted for all the wrong reasons.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, stay as far from the elevators as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
TheTravelingDave, thank you for taking the time to write. We sincerely apologize for the problems you experienced with noise. Should you be interested in discussing your stay with our general manager, she would very much like to hear from you. Please feel free to email her directly at rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com. Once again, we apologize for the problems you experienced and we thank you for the nice compliments on our beautiful decor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here two nights for business. The staff was very friendly, professional, and attentive to my needs. I stayed on the Club level floor and was very pleased with the majestic layout of the hotel. Room service was good as well. It is located downtown in a great proximity, lots of cops and connected to downtown shops. I would highly recommend this location for a great night of rest because I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Klomb4, thank you very much for all of your kind words regarding our property. We love hearing when guests "sleep like a baby"! We appreciate you staying and hope that you will return again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Check in on September 20 for a one night stay. Very nice place. You can spend a lot of time in doors. There are connected walkway to the shopping mall ,movie theater, restaurants and the casino. good location for sight seeing. There is atrolley that run to different parts of the city at no charge. Overall good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
1Gambler, thank you for visiting Cleveland and for choosing our historic downtown property. We definitely appreciate the five star review and hope that you will return soon. Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here for a week for business travel on the Club level floor. The property is a gorgeous, old dame with soaring lobby ceilings, lots of marble and ornate decoration. It's a lively place, which makes for a nice contrast to the relatively dead streets of downtown Cleveland. The hotel is a short, 5 minute walk to 4th Street, the pedestrian zone where Greenhouse Tavern & Lola is located. The lobby bar is almost always crowded though the hotel restaurant is not.

For business, this hotel worked out great. The room had a nice desk and sizeable closet for a weeks+ worth of work wear. The Club Lounge was a godsend if you're putting in 12 hour days -- every morning, their breakfast spread with scrambled eggs, bacon, waffle station, fruit, and breads, and takeaway fruit, yogurt, juices, granola bars and Starbucks coffee -- made getting fueled for work a cinch. And the nighttime spread with a hot dish or two and desserts was a lifesaver if you didn't have time to eat dinner. There is a free trolley that will drop you off most places you need to go downtown.

The rooms were impeccable, and yes, they are vintage, but the only thing you'll likely notice is that the A/C system is not climate controlled. If it's hot, you turn it on, and if it's cool, you turn it off. I didn't find it troubling, though.

Room Tip: Get a Club Level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
aschie30, thank you so much for writing such a thorough review! We appreciate you staying with us and hope that you will visit again on your next trip in from Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Doorman upon and for our trip made our stay off to a wonderful start! Rooms were roomy and very comfortable. Loved the proximity to walk to the baseball stadium and many restaurant options. The casino and mall that are adjoining a nice perk!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Monlar, thank you for your kind words and for visiting. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Upgraded to an Executive King on Concierge Level. AC not working. They brought up a loud humidifier that didn't help at all. We complained and they brought up a loud fan. Terrible night's sleep. Nice bar to watch the game w/great wine list. Matthew is a fantastic waiter. Won't stay here again. Will go back to the Marriott.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
HonduranHoustans, thank you for your feedback regarding your September stay. We apologize for the temperature control issues you experienced while visiting. Our beautiful historic property was built in 1918 and as a result, the hotel does have some quirks including a sensitive HVAC system that we are always working to improve. We apologize for your inconvenience and hope that you will in fact stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Aloft Cleveland Downtown
Aloft Cleveland Downtown
#15 of 35 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.