We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here two nights for business. The staff was very friendly, professional, and attentive to my needs. I stayed on the Club level floor and was very pleased with the majestic layout of the hotel. Room service was good as well. It is located downtown in a great proximity, lots of cops and connected to downtown shops. I would highly recommend this location for a great night of rest because I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Klomb4, thank you very much for all of your kind words regarding our property. We love hearing when guests "sleep like a baby"! We appreciate you staying and hope that you will return again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    222
    115
    63
    29
See reviews for
89
159
42
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Check in on September 20 for a one night stay. Very nice place. You can spend a lot of time in doors. There are connected walkway to the shopping mall ,movie theater, restaurants and the casino. good location for sight seeing. There is atrolley that run to different parts of the city at no charge. Overall good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
1Gambler, thank you for visiting Cleveland and for choosing our historic downtown property. We definitely appreciate the five star review and hope that you will return soon. Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here for a week for business travel on the Club level floor. The property is a gorgeous, old dame with soaring lobby ceilings, lots of marble and ornate decoration. It's a lively place, which makes for a nice contrast to the relatively dead streets of downtown Cleveland. The hotel is a short, 5 minute walk to 4th Street, the pedestrian zone where Greenhouse Tavern & Lola is located. The lobby bar is almost always crowded though the hotel restaurant is not.

For business, this hotel worked out great. The room had a nice desk and sizeable closet for a weeks+ worth of work wear. The Club Lounge was a godsend if you're putting in 12 hour days -- every morning, their breakfast spread with scrambled eggs, bacon, waffle station, fruit, and breads, and takeaway fruit, yogurt, juices, granola bars and Starbucks coffee -- made getting fueled for work a cinch. And the nighttime spread with a hot dish or two and desserts was a lifesaver if you didn't have time to eat dinner. There is a free trolley that will drop you off most places you need to go downtown.

The rooms were impeccable, and yes, they are vintage, but the only thing you'll likely notice is that the A/C system is not climate controlled. If it's hot, you turn it on, and if it's cool, you turn it off. I didn't find it troubling, though.

Room Tip: Get a Club Level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
aschie30, thank you so much for writing such a thorough review! We appreciate you staying with us and hope that you will visit again on your next trip in from Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Doorman upon and for our trip made our stay off to a wonderful start! Rooms were roomy and very comfortable. Loved the proximity to walk to the baseball stadium and many restaurant options. The casino and mall that are adjoining a nice perk!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Monlar, thank you for your kind words and for visiting. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Upgraded to an Executive King on Concierge Level. AC not working. They brought up a loud humidifier that didn't help at all. We complained and they brought up a loud fan. Terrible night's sleep. Nice bar to watch the game w/great wine list. Matthew is a fantastic waiter. Won't stay here again. Will go back to the Marriott.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
HonduranHoustans, thank you for your feedback regarding your September stay. We apologize for the temperature control issues you experienced while visiting. Our beautiful historic property was built in 1918 and as a result, the hotel does have some quirks including a sensitive HVAC system that we are always working to improve. We apologize for your inconvenience and hope that you will in fact stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance Cleveland from September 9 through September 12, when I attended a conference at the Cleveland Convention Center. The CCC was an easy 10-15 minute walk in the morning. My room accommodations were very good- good mattress, clean bathroom and comfortable amenities. I found the thermostat difficult to manage. The staff was excellent. It's a vintage hotel, meaning an older building.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theona S, General Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear ChicagoMary662,

Thank you so much for your comments about the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, we did just complete a rooms renovation in our historic hotel.

I agree that the thermostats are a little tricky due to the historic nature of the hotel. I appreciate your comments about my staff and I hope to see you back in Cleveland soon.

Thank you and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

While you may not think of "classy" and "elegant" when thinking about downtown Cleveland, but this hotel stands out as a landmark site with incredible detail and opulence. When you enter thru the main doors, you are greeted by a formally dressed bellman with white gloves and tailored jacket. He took our bags and carried them upstairs one flight to the main lobby level. The stairs were grand with ornate detailing and large overhead chandeliers. The main lobby had a water fountain in the center and was the perfect spot for a photo or two. There was a mall connected the main lobby and lots of places to shop and dine, without even having to go outside. We ate breakfast at the hotel buffet, which was satisfactory, and cost about $20/person. Overall, it is a beautiful hotel and I would love to visit again!

Room Tip: We had a high floor away from the elevator and had a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello Sunshine and thank you for visiting! We appreciate all of your compliments and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.