We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casino trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Gift for You
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Republic, OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Casino trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed in the Renaissance Cleveland the first time in December when my son's basketball team played at the Q. Loved the elegant old hotel. beautiful, but be aware it is historic, not modern, but I loved it. loved how the casino, Q and Progressive field, and hotel are connected to Tower City shops, tons to do and eat.Staff was great, so when I got a room comped from the casino, I didn't hesitant to go back. This time though I had my mother who uses a walker and my 76 yr old aunt. Because casino was added later, not as handicapped accessible as you like because of stairs. It is possible to use ramps the whole way, but you go through staff entrances. The other thing to be aware of, if casino comps your room and it includes valet parking, park at hotel valet! I called and talked to hotel and total rewards and casino, and got different answers with last one being to park at casino valet, wrong. Their valet is NOT in same building as casino and you must ride shuttle to casino, not great setup. We did enjoy the hotel but casino was very busy as they were giving a car a day away, and I found slot machines to be very tight and very busy. Also pool was being worked on when we were there both times, but I didn't really see anyone working on it???

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hello bartley and thank you for taking the time to write your review. We sincerely apologize for the situation with our pool being serviced however at nearly 100 years in age, we are constantly working to upgrade our property to assure continued improvements for guests such as yourself. Regarding the parking situation, our general manager would very much like more information on these problems that you experienced. Should you be interested in speaking with her, please email rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com so that you may talk with her directly. Once again, we apologize and hope that you will in fact return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    250
    132
    75
    34
See reviews for
100
182
47
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

To be clear, my room was comped for a Fri/Sat night through the casino. Even sadder, I only live about 10 minutes from the casino. However, I figure me and some friends would make use of it. Go see a CAVS game, beers, and of course the casino.

Ok back to the hotel. I knew before checking in (because I actually do online research like everyone should do) that the rooms were small. I requested two queen beds online and when I checked in I asked for a corner room. Was placed in room 843 and thought it was a pretty nice size. Room in good shape, clean, nice TV, but tiny bathroom....and I mean tiny. But I dont hang out in the bathroom so that was no problem. Quiet, convenient, connected to the casino, no complaints.

If comped in the future, would def stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hello mdm and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We're very happy to hear that your trip was a success and that you'll be staying with us again in the future. Thanks again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I got a great rate booking through the Horseshoe Cleveland's website (under $70/night; $100 less than booking directly through the hotel!!) and had a fine stay here. My king room on the 6th floor was spacious and comfortable. Not too many extras in the room (no robe. no newspaper in AM) but you couldnt beat the price. The hotel is connected to the Casino, Terminal Tower, the Ritz and the Quicken Loan Arena. I never had to go outside to get from my hotel to a Cavs game to the Casino. This was priceless in Cleveland in February,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hello Terp and thank you for your glowing review! We're happy to hear that you'll be returning and we'll look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I want to start by stating that we were guests of the casino for our three night stay. Since our stay was free, I didn't expect the hotel to put us in the nicest room. I read on here to ask for a room on the higher floors to get a bigger room, but that didn't work for us. Our room was on the 11th floor and we barely had room to turn around. The bathroom is especially tiny. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The hotel itself is beautiful and in a good downtown location. We walked over to West 6th both nights for dinner. I was able to walk into the connecting Tower City to get a cup of hot tea when I needed an afternoon pick up. We spent a little time in the bar after dinner and it had a good size crowd. The pool area is in a courtyard and is a great gathering spot even if you aren't swimming. There are tables set up and the area is spacious. The workout area is well appointed and includes the popular machines, free weights, and cool towels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the positive review and hope that you had a successful time at the casino! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I adore this property - I have been staying there for years.. Yes, the heating system isn't new, yes, sometimes the elevators are slow but the staff makes up for all of that - nothing is too much trouble.

I was on the top floor and the room was newly done. Very comfortable overlooking the Square/Lake in the distance. Yes, there was street noise but as I live in Chicago hardly noticed it.

Mitch was lovely as well as the doorman Paul who I think has been there for over 30 years as many of the staff has.

I needed a tub chair as I have a bad leg and there are no bars in the shower - it was up in five minutes. There is a lift to the 2nd floor from the main lobby if someone doesn't want to do the stairs so that review is way off!

Is it a modern Marriott - NO - It was built in 1915!!!

I had a late lunch with a client in the Lobby Bar - the food was very good.

I had to leave at 6am and the girl at the desk asked if I would like someone to walk me down to get a taxi...

Will always stay here....

Room Tip: Try for one of the high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hello Mp0010 and thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We're happy to hear that your stay was a success and we appreciate all of your kind words. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cleveland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louisville, ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Renaissance in Cleveland, Ohio is a great place to stay. It has an old fashion feel for a 4 star hotel. The lobby is big with a bar and resturant. The staff was friendly and most helpful when we asked directions. The valet was great and our bags were brought to our immediately. It is located within walking distance to the new casino ,the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and other attractions. The rooms are clean and somewhat small due to the age of the hotel. The hotel is is attached to the Tower City with shops and resturants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hello kcoad and thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our room had a king-size bed. The room had no heating system. Guest services told us to open the window...which only opened three inches...and let the warm chlorinated air migrate
into the room to help warm it up. Are you kidding me?!?!? January in Cleveland, Ohio and the heating system for the room??!?!?! Not to mention the noise level that didn't allow for one to sleep until after 2 a.m. This was my first and last time staying at this "luxury" hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 1139 during the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Carolyn, thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the temperature control issues you encountered while staying. Due to the historic nature of our beautiful 1918 property, we do in fact experience some quirks such as the situation with our HVAC system, which we are constantly working to improve. Once again, we apologize for any problems while visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.