We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Coachella Valley
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

When we arrived, I didn't think we were going to have a great stay, Election day and we arrived around dinner time and our first impression was the Doorman/Bellman standing / leaning with his foot on the wall smoking a cigarette (He thought he was James Dean playing a bellman I guess), didn't welcome us, didn't do anything till we had our own bags out of the car then wanted to help us get our bags to the lobby, no thanks, you can finish your break, we got it...

Room was perfect, felt like a mini suite, after a long day of travel that was just the ticket, we ordered up some room service, the woman that delivered our order in what seemed like a record time was awesome, she explained everything that was on the plates, asked if we had any food allergies, actually engaged in some conversation (Wow isn't that one of their brand motos or standard) and asked if she could offer any assistance with anything.

After 2 long days of meetings and not wanting to travel to my next city I went down stairs to print out my boarding pass, I went to the Navigator (Their version of the concierge) to ask for assistance and it seemed like I interrupted the woman as she was facebooking on her phone, yes I could see it plain as day, I have 2 kids that are on it constantly... she told me "I doesn't do boarding passes", "down the hall to your left" she told me... WTF... One of the front desk girls called me over and she said "I will be happy to help you", I asked her about the other girl and she apologized, but at this point it was getting late and we just needed the passes for an early flight.
although I gave this Hotel an above avg rating, it was only because of the location, the Room Service woman and the room type we got.
Amazing location I should have said, in a old historic building, shopping, train, eating and movies all in one location without putting on a jacket.
I travel about 200+ nights a year so I think Im qualified to know good service and accommodations when I find them... A+ for the Hotel and area, I cant rate the staff, everyone has a bad day sometimes

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    239
    127
    69
    30
See reviews for
91
171
47
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First the good -- lovely hotel attached to the Tower City complex. Hotel also comped parking and internet fee because it was a reward stay, which really did make it feel like a reward. (Although I think that it's outrageous to charge $13.95 for wi-fi in room.) Staff was friendly and accommodating at all times. Room was well-furnished, but small.
Not so good was the noise level. Sounds seem to echo through the halls and even on the 11th floor street noise was a problem. Calls to the front desk (including one after 11 pm about the noise from a party on our floor) took at least 20 rings to answer. Not acceptable.
If you are picky about temperature, the antiquated system here will not please you. Because the heating system is either heat or ac, if you want to cool down a stuffy room during the winter, as we did, the only option is to open the window, thereby letting in more street noise. Controls on the heating unit were rudimentary and difficult to read because they are so old. Pool is shallow and oddly-shaped, no laps here. Felt like we were splashing in a fountain.

Parking garage is adjacent to the hotel, but a bit of a walk from the front desk, accessible via an escalator. If you have lots of stuff, the valet and bell hop may be your best bet. Garage spaces are cramped and it can be tough to maneuver inside. Large vehicles may wish to reconsider.

Room Tip: Rooms opening on to the atrium may be noisy when the pool is open (9-9), but would avoid street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The staff went above and beyond the call. We were upgraded in room size without even asking for it and that made a huge difference on the trip since we had four people traveling in our group. Our room was on the opposite side of the atrium from the elevator but it took about 3 minutes to walk the distance so it was not a problem. The hotel could use upgraded carpeting but, other than that, it has a nice lobby and bar and the room had the standard amenities. The hotel is conveniently located and the staff is helpful with directions and recommendations. The temperature was little difficult to regulate but, again, this wasn't a significant issue.

Room Tip: Our room faced the atrium instead of the exterior but that was not important to us. If you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We live in Cleveland but stayed at this hotel recently for our anniversary. The lobby and common areas are just beautiful - very historic and gorgeous! We were upgraded to a "club level" room, which didn't seem to be much different than other floors of the hotel? Nice marble bathroom, very comfortable bed with nice bedding. We had a great view of Public Square and all of downtown. Walking distance to restaurants, bars, clubs and stores. Ordered room service for breakfast, and it was delivered quickly and was worth the money. We ate at Sans Souci, which is a beautiful restaurant with very good food. The service wasn't great, but we enjoyed ourselves. We got a great rate online and really had a nice evening!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Public Square!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Whats nice about the hotel is that it is directly connected to the new Horseshoe casino, so you can go without getting a jacket on or such. Four of us stayed the night in two rooms, we were given the 10th floor, a room at the absolutely farthest from the elevator. If you have trouble walking, request near the elevator as the rooms are designed in a large square design so farthest can be a very long walk. Our room was smallish but cozy. The bathroom to me, I think needs remodeling. The toilet was angled toward the tub. Kind of wierd, but this is an old hotel. TV was flat panel, our bed super comfy. Our room overlooked the tops of flat roofs with air conditioners. So no view. Overall, I feel that the hotel is overpriced, so if you can book the Marriott at Key center, (pretty much the same price) as long as you don't mind cabbing to the casino, that is if you are going there, the Marriott is a far nicer hotel and perhaps the nicest in Cleveland. Rooms more modern, far nicer lobby, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Hills
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has seen better days. You can tell its an old historic building that they tried to modernize. And for $329 for a Saturday night.... not worth it.

The good: on public square and close to everything! Great location. You can shop at tower city and go to the casino without going outside. Hotel was clean. Room was decent, but not luxury. Valet parking was nice. Hotel staff was really nice.

The bad: no longer a 4 or 5 star hotel. No fridge in the rooms. Bedding and pillows were down/feathers. Nice but if you have allergies- you'll wake up with red eyes like I did. The bathroom needed serious steam cleaning. The indoor pool is cute, but small. And the pool needs serious repairs. Cracks in the walls and rust. Another negative was the $30 a night we had to pay to park our car.

Again, the hotel was okay. But not for the price. Its more like a $99 a night hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed for two nights (Fri and Saturday) in early November for a weekend in Cleveland. While the area (Tower City) has clearly seen better times, it was still a somewhat central and well connected place to be. From the airport, arrived via RTA (aka Rapid) and could walk from the mall directly into the hotel. The mall and area was more happening than I would have expected for 11pm on a Saturday, but perhaps the relatively new casino next door has brought more traffic (we didn't go there..) Travel to and from was easy--we took the rapid to the airport and to Shaker Square, cabs to Ohio City, and the new Health Line to University Circle. For some reason all hotels downtown were booked that weekend, and $170/pm (booked online with AAA discount) seemed a bit stiff for Cleveland but overall was probably worth the $$.

First the good--the Renaissance is a good example of historic Cleveland at its best, physically connected to the Terminal Tower. It was renovated some number of years ago (guessing the 80s based on the carpet choice) however the rooms appear somewhat modern and were clean. The hotel bar was surprisingly happening both PMs when we came back from going out, not rowdy but with an eclectic and interesting group--probably in part because of upcoming election, wedding parties, and home Browns game the next day. Drinks were cheap and Great Lakes Beer on tap. It is right downtown and convenient to most things of interest in the City. Hotel staff was nice and courteous, and the hotel itself was clean.

The charge for internet was $13/pm, which is absurd considering it is free at a Hampton inn, which is a good $100 cheaper in Cleveland. However, the staff was willing to waive the charge when we brought up the fact that we were not business travellers and would appreciate the courtousy given this wasn't being billed to an expense account. We did have to push a bit though.

We booked this hotel in part because it was available and in part because Marriott Rewards was offering a certificate for a free night if you signed up for Marriott Rewards and had two stays with them. Of course, the fine print is that 'two stays' have to involve two check ins that aren't on consecutive days. While that's all fine and good, it's still slightly deceptive and we won't be staying at a Marriott again for a second 'stay'.

Overall, liked the hotel, not a big fan of Marriott. But a decent place to stay if you want to be in central Cleveland and be in a historic spot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;