We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Clevelander visits the Renaissance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 32 hotels in Cleveland
Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Local Clevelander visits the Renaissance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Whats nice about the hotel is that it is directly connected to the new Horseshoe casino, so you can go without getting a jacket on or such. Four of us stayed the night in two rooms, we were given the 10th floor, a room at the absolutely farthest from the elevator. If you have trouble walking, request near the elevator as the rooms are designed in a large square design so farthest can be a very long walk. Our room was smallish but cozy. The bathroom to me, I think needs remodeling. The toilet was angled toward the tub. Kind of wierd, but this is an old hotel. TV was flat panel, our bed super comfy. Our room overlooked the tops of flat roofs with air conditioners. So no view. Overall, I feel that the hotel is overpriced, so if you can book the Marriott at Key center, (pretty much the same price) as long as you don't mind cabbing to the casino, that is if you are going there, the Marriott is a far nicer hotel and perhaps the nicest in Cleveland. Rooms more modern, far nicer lobby, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    210
    106
    59
    29
See reviews for
83
150
42
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seven Hills
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has seen better days. You can tell its an old historic building that they tried to modernize. And for $329 for a Saturday night.... not worth it.

The good: on public square and close to everything! Great location. You can shop at tower city and go to the casino without going outside. Hotel was clean. Room was decent, but not luxury. Valet parking was nice. Hotel staff was really nice.

The bad: no longer a 4 or 5 star hotel. No fridge in the rooms. Bedding and pillows were down/feathers. Nice but if you have allergies- you'll wake up with red eyes like I did. The bathroom needed serious steam cleaning. The indoor pool is cute, but small. And the pool needs serious repairs. Cracks in the walls and rust. Another negative was the $30 a night we had to pay to park our car.

Again, the hotel was okay. But not for the price. Its more like a $99 a night hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed for two nights (Fri and Saturday) in early November for a weekend in Cleveland. While the area (Tower City) has clearly seen better times, it was still a somewhat central and well connected place to be. From the airport, arrived via RTA (aka Rapid) and could walk from the mall directly into the hotel. The mall and area was more happening than I would have expected for 11pm on a Saturday, but perhaps the relatively new casino next door has brought more traffic (we didn't go there..) Travel to and from was easy--we took the rapid to the airport and to Shaker Square, cabs to Ohio City, and the new Health Line to University Circle. For some reason all hotels downtown were booked that weekend, and $170/pm (booked online with AAA discount) seemed a bit stiff for Cleveland but overall was probably worth the $$.

First the good--the Renaissance is a good example of historic Cleveland at its best, physically connected to the Terminal Tower. It was renovated some number of years ago (guessing the 80s based on the carpet choice) however the rooms appear somewhat modern and were clean. The hotel bar was surprisingly happening both PMs when we came back from going out, not rowdy but with an eclectic and interesting group--probably in part because of upcoming election, wedding parties, and home Browns game the next day. Drinks were cheap and Great Lakes Beer on tap. It is right downtown and convenient to most things of interest in the City. Hotel staff was nice and courteous, and the hotel itself was clean.

The charge for internet was $13/pm, which is absurd considering it is free at a Hampton inn, which is a good $100 cheaper in Cleveland. However, the staff was willing to waive the charge when we brought up the fact that we were not business travellers and would appreciate the courtousy given this wasn't being billed to an expense account. We did have to push a bit though.

We booked this hotel in part because it was available and in part because Marriott Rewards was offering a certificate for a free night if you signed up for Marriott Rewards and had two stays with them. Of course, the fine print is that 'two stays' have to involve two check ins that aren't on consecutive days. While that's all fine and good, it's still slightly deceptive and we won't be staying at a Marriott again for a second 'stay'.

Overall, liked the hotel, not a big fan of Marriott. But a decent place to stay if you want to be in central Cleveland and be in a historic spot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hotel's lobby is amazing! Beautifully maintained and classy. Rooms are nice, some of the city view rooms also got sneak peak of the lake. Amenities are nice. Free water in the club rooms, Aveda products. Walking distance to the warehouse district and the 4th street where you can find many nice pubs, bars, and restaurant. It's 50 feet away from the casino and the city tower, how convenient is that?!! I think this is one of my favorite hotels. I love renaissance hotels!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I live in Cleveland and this was my first time staying here. It was our anniversary, so I was looking around for places to stay downtown and I happened to stumble on the Horseshoe Casino website. I have a TR account with Horseshoe so I logged in and to my surprise, our room was comped so we decided to stay at the Renaissance. We were not disappointed. The hotel is a throwback to a different time, very Art Deco, with modern rooms. We had a king bed which was situated in a fairly small room overlooking the indoor pool/courtyard area. The room was decorated nice and had a 42" plasma TV. The bed was extremely comfortable but my only complaint is with the AC unit. Probably the only thing in the hotel that hasn't been updated. The unit was weak and only had a knob that you turned to determine the temperature. I slept comfortably with just a sheet or nothing at all at some points. My wife however complained of being warm and uncomfortable throughout the night. Other than that, everything was nice. We went to the casino which is a short walk through Public Square or Tower City. I was initially concerned with the walk because of not knowing the distance and knowing the kind of people that hang out on Public Square. Not once did we feel unsafe. After the casino, we walked over to Hyde Park for dinner and then went back to the hotel bar. The staff there is very professional and friendly. All in all, we had a very nice experience here. Would definitely come back and recommend it to others.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Renaissance using my Marriott reward points, because the Courtyard was not available for the dates I wanted. At first, I wasn't happy to go to a more expensive hotel. BUT, I have to say it's a VERY nice hotel. Not to mention convenience to Pickwick Frolics. My room was perfect (king bed, comfy corner chair/ottoman in teal). Aveda toiletries...right up my alley. I did find the room a tad frigid, so I turned off the air units because I couldn't figure how to turn the heat on (too lazy to try - I admit).

Club Lounge had a "classy feel" with fairly tasty food. If you have to order room service, try the blackened salmon wrap. It was delish with the homemade chips (Yum!). Happen to be in town when the Browns were playing, so you are definitely in a good spot for sports or nightlife. One thing to be mindful of is parking...I had to valet park, because there were limited self-park options due to football game. My vacation was short, but quite relaxing at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Renaissance on a Saturday with friends. The location is ideal for going to an Indians game or to the new Horseshoe casino. There are also bars and restaurants within a short walk. On a hot summer night, downtown Cleveland had a great vibe centered around the casino.

If you park in the casino lot across the street and gamble for 30 minutes or more at the casino you can get free parking for 24 hours. It is about the same walk as from the hotel garage which charges $24.

The interior of the hotel is stately early 20th century decor but it feels reasonably fresh. Thanks to the gray paint in the hallways it feels a little darker than needed. Had they gone with the usual beige it would have felt a little brighter and more inviting.

The rooms had a good layout with a work desk situated along the window wall and the bed tucked in a chubby beyond the bathroom. Speaking of the bathroom,: t was clean and white, evoking a touch of early 20th century feel but not scary outdated. The shower had the absolute best water pressure I can recall.

Overall I was pleased with the stay and would stay again if going to a ball game or the casino.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Also Known As:
Renaissance Cleveland
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio
Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#18 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.