We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Cleveland.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Gift for You
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Cleveland.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I really wish there was a rating between average and very good. I stayed one night here and the stay was good not great. The hotel looks a little worn and dated, especially in the elevators, but not totally shabby. When I walked in to check in, and when I left, no one bothered to offer me help with my suitcase. The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. The air conditioning was turned way up so I was actually cold when I entered the room. But I didn't mind at all because I like the room really cold when I sleep. And it stayed consistent all night and didn't shut on and off like they do at some hotels. I left the door slip out for breakfast to be delivered the next morning and it arrived right on time. My main complaint was the bathroom could have been a little cleaner. The soap dish space built into the shower wall had some leftover soap gunk in it and couple mystery hairs. I don't know why seeing someone else's hair in the shower is so creepy but it is. The gym is tiny but functionable. The hotel itself is right downtown and within walking distance to lots of restaurants. Good place to stay if you plan on spending a lot of time in downtown Cleveland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    250
    132
    75
    34
See reviews for
100
182
47
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed in downtown Cleveland to attend a wedding out in the suburbs. Wanted to explore the city and this hotel was a great location for that. Was happy to get a decent AAA rate at this hotel, and was (initially) even happier when the front desk automatically upgraded us from a king room to a suite. Initially we were wowed by the fairly large suite, with a separate bedroom and thought, "Wow, Marriott has never upgraded us like THIS before...without even asking." Well, once we spent two nights in the room I was wishing they hadn't 'upgraded' us. As I've read more and more TripAdvisor reviews, I'm finding it helpful to read the Pros/Cons type reviews, as opposed to the ones that simply say "this is a nice place"...as everyone has their own expectations, ideas of comfort, etc.

Pros:
- Great location. Walking distance to many restaurants, bars, stadium, casinos, waterfront, Cleveland attractions and public transportation
- Check in was easy, the front desk clerk was pleasant and efficient
- Even though the hotel seems older, there were some modern features (pool, small gym).
- Size of the suite was very good, with separate bedroom, and a small fridge and wet bar. Also, our suite was very clean and tidy,
- Great AAA weekend rate for a center city hotel
- Nice large flat screen TVs in the living room area and bedroom area

Cons:
- Can't begin to imagine why, but our suite had 2 FULL SIZE beds in the bedroom. not one king, not one queen...but 2 full size beds. I didn't really notice this until my husband (5' 10") and me (5' 5") got in bed and our feet hung off the bottom. This was the oddest bed I've ever slept in, not to mention ever had in a hotel room. Seemed like they took a small, old, uncomfy bed and plopped a pillow top mattress cover on it. This was a big 'fail' for a Marriott property.
- Had a love seat in the living room area that was (i think) a sleeper sofa. The upholstery was so slippery that you couldn't stay seated on it. Looked cool & modern, but it was useless. Unfortunately, the only other comfy seating was one arm chair :( sorta made the very nice living room area useless.
- Since we were 'upgraded' (??) to the Executive Level, we had access to the Executive Lounge for happy hour, dessert, etc. Well, we thought we did. Tried to go on Friday, thought our key wouldn't work the lounge door, called down to the front desk and all they said was "oh, they are closed." No explanation, no apology, nothing. Funnier yet, there was a big welcome sign that gave the hours of operation, which we were within. Again, no attempt to make good on that 'upgrade'/benefit that never was.
- Had a full wet bar with a couple of cabinets, yet the only items on hand were 4 water glasses. No wine glasses, no coffee mugs, no bottle opener. What was the point of the wet bar?
- Called to get glasses and an extra blanket and it took an inordinate amount of time...had to call twice.

A word of caution: If you plan to be in a suite during the day and you want quiet, hope that there are not loud kids in the pool. The pool is located in the middle of the hotel on the 5th fl., within a multi-story atrium type area...the suites on the 5th floor all had an add'l door and window (in the bedroom) that faced into that atrium and you could hear everything that was going on at the pool. Didn't really effect us much but beware if you are looking for total quiet b/t the hours of 9am-9pm.

Overall this was a decent enough hotel, but with a few tweaks (bed, furniture, amenities) it could be much better. Probably would stay here again, but certainly not in a suite and I certainly wouldn't pay top dollar. Perhaps try the regular Marriott a few blocks away instead...our friends had a room there and they enjoyed it and had no issues...seemed much more modern just from the look of the lobby.

Room Tip: Pass on the suites, stick with a regular room on the outside of the building, not the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at the Renaissance Cleveland early in July 2012 for a friend's wedding, along with several of my old pals from college. We were 3 women sharing a room with 2 double beds on the 8th floor. Overall, I was surprised and delighted upon arriving at the hotel - easy to access with the tram system from Cleveland airport, and within an easy walk of LOTS of local restaurants, bars, shopping and the like. The renovated old lobby is charming. The room was extremely spacious - we had a discounted rate due to being part of a large group block of rooms, and my friend's wedding activities going on in the hotel - so this was really a great deal for us. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the decor was updated and tasteful. One of my favorite things was the huge walk-in closet - awesome for three gals to hang up their wedding outfits and get ready for the weekend. The wedding reception was held downstairs in the two-level ballroom, and it might be one of the nicest, classiest wedding receptions I've ever attended anywhere. Gorgeous set-up, really attentive wait staff and bar staff, etc. The only two criticisms I have are firstly, it can sometimes be difficult to get a taxi cab at the lobby entrance, despite there being a taxi stand - so if you need a cab, I'd call concierge well in advance and have them arrange one for you. Secondly, at night the public square in which this hotel is located can be noisy and full of people - while it felt safe to me for the most part, I did see lots of police in the area and wondered if there is often a need for extra security there. But these two small issues were forgivable. Overall we enjoyed our weekend in Cleveland.

Room Tip: Higher level floors might be quieter. Be advised though that the old elevator system can sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I may be biased because we were upgraded to the presidential suite which was amazing but I will try to be fair :)
The hotel is a classic with classy features. Definitely 4 star amenities and finishings. The location is great. We stayed here to be close to Cleveland Indians game, which was an easy walk (even with a 6 year old). Right next door to the Tower City Center with stores, restaurants and a subway stop. Next to the new Casino
Our room was amazing but I cant tell about the standard room. The pool is great in the big atrium.
Great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband, mother, and I came up for one night to see a concert at Quicken Loans Arena. Booked this for the proximity. It was about $150 on Hotels.com. I had requested two queen sized beds. Upon check-in, they said that they did not have any available but would give us a king with rollaway cot. I wasn't too happy with this but they gave us free valet parking for the inconvenice, which was nice.

PROS
Very good location to Arena. You don't even have to go outside, you can just walk through the mall.

Great hotel bar with reasonably priced drinks and food. We had 6 glasses of wine, 3 beers, and an appetizer. With tip, it was $95. This is pretty expensive, but not really for a hotel.

Beautiful lobby area.

Clean room with comfortable bed.

CONS
Room was pretty small, especially since we had to have the rollaway bed.

Room was HOT and the thermostat didn't seem to be working. I didn't say anything to the hotel as we were only staying for one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here the weekend of 7/20-7/22 for a mini staycation with my fiance. The common areas are very nice, such as the lobby and lobby bar. The staff was very friendly also. Our room, which was on the club level was very small, but clean. The room was facing the atrium side, so when people were in the pool, it was very loud. Would have preferred a city view, but oh well. The air conditioning would not go any higher and the room was always very warm. The pool was small and looked like it had not been cleaned for quite a while and there was no hot tub, which was disappointing. The location is perfect, though! Near the casino, restaurants and shopping. Just not worth the $140/night. I can't imagine ever paying the $320/night that they usually charge. Overall, I probably would not stay here again unless I got a comped room from the casino.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I travel to Cleveland at least once a year it seems. It's always nice to find a place you don't need to go too far to get what you need. The hotel is great, it is located at Tower City Tower City has a mall connected to the hotel, you can even take a train from the Airport to the hotel, or the hotel to the airport. when I went last (June 2012) it was 30.00 by car and 2.25 by train. so I didn't know about the train when I came so I paid for the car, but took the train back. not glamorous but a great way to get there, fast and cheap. The Mall has a Hard Rock Cafe for your more sit down type dining (I usually get the Pulled Pork Sandwich - Formerly called the Pig Sandwich) and a Mc Donalds in a food court of many other restaurat options for your more thrifty dining. The Hotel has dining options too. I recommend the breakfast buffet @ Sans Souci very nice a little high priced but very good and worth every penny. There is a sports bar there too good for a Reuben Sandwich and Diet coke (Non-alcoholic here) there are lots of things to do closeby too. House of Blues and Pickwick and Frolic (Dinner and comedy show) It was a great trip - It would also be good for you to go outside and look at some of the history close by. Great military display and museum rioght outside.

Room Tip: I didnlt ge a choice becuae it was a group rate travel arrangement, but even then I didnlt have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.