We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay: Comfortable Room and Perfect Conference Accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay: Comfortable Room and Perfect Conference Accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I attended a conference in this hotel and also stayed her during the conference. I loved the lobby, and it was the perfect place to sit and knit. The bar was a great hang out in the evenings. It is a wonderful location, because it is connected to the Tower City Center. The public transit (RTA) will take you from the airport to the Tower City Center. The conference areas were very nice. The concierge bent over backwards to help us get some sodas for the evening, sinc we did not realize that things shut down so early in that area. The complementary toiletries were made by Aveda. They were so nice. I wish we would have had a mini fridge, since were were there for a week. I highly recommend this hotel. The location can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    223
    119
    65
    29
See reviews for
90
162
43
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My company held its annual meeting at the Renaissance, and I was on the prep team, with intimate access to the conference and catering staff.
The hotel itself was incredibly easy to get to. Just a $2.75 ride on the RTA train from the airport. The train pulls up underneath the hotel (mall), and you never have to go outside. Definitely the way to go.
The hotel itself has been nicely renovated - while still keeping the grand style of its age. Public spaces are in good shape.
My room was lovely, very updated, comfortable bed. Bathroom was "ehh", with the tankless toilet at a crazy angle. However, some coworkers had rooms that were not updated at all, had bathroom doors that had to be open to use the toilet (?!) because of spacing, and/or had signs warning of midges (a "harmless" bug that looks like a mini-mosquito). My issue was with the inconsistent and annoying maid service. Some coworkers had turn-down service. I did not. However I did have the wasteful and annoying tossing of the soaps I had opened at the sink and in the shower. Every day: new wrapped soaps. Towels left hung up to use again: taken. Completely wasteful! Also, it was the only hotel I've ever stayed in that replaced the hairdryer in its bag in the closet every day. It's pretty obvious that I'll just need to take it out to use it again. Annoying. And every day the stupid Renaissance hotels around the world book re-appeared on my bed. Another annoying "service".
The hotel is in a great location. Very easy walks to restaurants, entertainment, Progressive Field, and of course, the new casino. (Lines for opening week were 5,000+). Crazy!
I did not have a chance to try any of the hotel's restaurants, but certainly had a lot of the banquet food. It was on the whole, surprisingly good. We had more service issues than food issues throughout our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We went to Cleveland to celebrate our wedding anniversary, which also coincided with the opening of Horseshoe Casino. While the casino gods were not good to us, the opposite can be said of our stay at the Renaissance. According to the hotel's web site, it has undertaken a 10 million dollar renovation, and it shows. Everything about the hotels speaks of a luxurious bygone era. The lobby, common areas, and bar have all been elegantly restored. I cannot speak to the average guest room as we were upgraded to a suite because it was our anniversary. What a treat! Wonderful bed, fluffy new towels, marble bathroom. We were even spoiled with champagne and strawberries. The hotel restaurant, Sans Souci, presents an elegant atmosphere without being stuffy and offers excellent food. All I can say is that it was a most enjoyable stay thanks to the staff and the amenities offered by the Renaissance. If a stay in downtown Cleveland is ever in our plans again, we will most certainly stay at the Renaissance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Centrally located in downtown Cleveland, this old historic hotel maintains its old fashion charm. It is attached to a shopping mall and convenient to most major attractions. Staff is well trained and friendly.

Room Tip: Club level floor, 12 and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I just stayed there recently and the place was excellent. The lobby and bar area is very beautiful and I found the service to be excellent. I ate at the restaurant for breakfast/lunch and the food was great at typically hotel prices. I had read many complaints about the rooms being hot and the elevators being slow....so I was prepared for the worst which did not appear. My room stayed a perfect temp and I did not have to wait for the elevators at any time. The room is quite small but since it is a historic hotel, I expected that. The best part was taking the train to and from the airport...that was super easy, pleasant and only cost $2,00 each way.

Easy walking distance to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and great restaurants across the street.

Room Tip: Stay near the elevator to avoid a super long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice, updated, and clean room for an old hotel. Beautiful lobby. Great location. Will stay here again...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed here for the Rock N Roll Hall of fame induction ceromonies. This is a large hotel, the lobby is relaxing to read and sit back and enjoy the outside views. The elevators are old, dirty and slow. The room had a king bed and was too small for us. You could NEVER get the room to cool off as the heating/cooling systems are out dated. VERY warm rooms. Everyone was complaining about it. The bathroom tub was so small, and the middle felt like it was going to cave in.WE were located on the pool side as we had to open our windows, which only let you open a crack, to "TRY" to cool off, gets very loud with people in the pool area. This hotel is located in the middle of everything, with the new Horseshoe casino located next door which is opening May 2012. We didn't like the homeless situation in this area as we were bothered constantly for a cigarette or money. This would be a great hotel if they'd update the heating/cooling systems and get someone to get those elevators at least updated alittle bit.

Room Tip: Seemed like the double queen bedrooms were alot larger then the king room. Should ask which rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.