We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Room Service Food Ever!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Calling all Baseball Fans
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
New Waterford, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Room Service Food Ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed one nite in Feb 2012. Had 2 queens, nice size room, two heaters, two big windows, city view. Bathroom was for handicapped folks although we are not. It was nice though, had a seat that folds down and you can sit under the water. Pool area is an Atrium on 5th floor, but you can walk down to it from the 6th floor. Used exercise room, small but adequete. 2 treadmills, some sit down bikes, (the nice ones), couple elip. machines, small weight room area. Pool was pretty, water warm. Usually don't mention food in my reviews but just have to. We did room service for a snack, chicken wings good, dinner we had organic chicken and herb crusted haddock and these meals were the best room service food we have ever had. Omelette the next morning, very good. Tony at room service was excellent at taking our numerous questions before ordering dinner and they called to make sure all was good and food came within 30 mins. Nice relaxing place, would definately stay again while in Cleveland!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    266
    142
    82
    34
See reviews for
107
193
47
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed at the Renaissance Cleveland for business. The hotel is located downtown, near everything that downtown Cleveland has to offer. The room was very nice in size, came with 2 beds (queen-size). There were two a/c units but neither seem to turn on or warm up the room. The bathroom was covered with marble on the walls floor to ceiling. On a positive, the front desk staff was very helpful and professional.The beds were very comfortable, there was a flat screen TV, but the overall decor of the room was outdated. This hotel is in desperate need for a major update; from the lobby to the hotel bar to the rooms. If I were not visiting a client in the next building, I would not have chosen this hotel primarily due to its costs. This hotel charges $225/nt, these are Chicago-Dallas-Miami rates;minus the thrill the other cities offer. If you need somewhere to stay downtown and you don't mind older decor, or cold rooms in the winter this hotel is for your. Other wise save a few $$ got to the RedRoof Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Visited this hotel for business this week and was surprised to hear they'd renovated the top floor. This is an old hotel with lots of luxury touches and wide hallways. The staff is working extra hard to make your visit to Cleveland a special experience.

My room on the 14th floor was clean, spacious, and well-appointed. I appreciate the Aveda bath products and the robe in the room. If I lived in Cleveland, I'd do a weekend stay in the winter just to hang out in the atrium and pool area. (warm and moist and faintly tropical) for a day. There's shopping nearby, and some excellent restaurants both in walking and a short cab or drive. You can ask the Concierge for recommendations. I'd suggest Crop Bistro, The Flying Fig, and Lola.

The hotel restaurant, Sans Souci, is quite good. The wine list is conservative and the cocktails & food are expensive, but it's a hotel restaurant so having tasty food is really a plus. I'd take a business associate there without hesitation, and enjoyed eating there myself. Staff is very attentive and the kitchen is on it.

The THING about visiting Cleveland on a business trip, is that aside from trained staff like you find at the Renaissance and the airlines, the rest of the people you'll run into seem a bit... well, discouraged. Taxis are filthy and the drivers vary from 'interesting' to surly. The rental car drivers leave the shuttle bus doors hanging open... which is great if you're worried about catching the bus, but not so great if you're sitting there for ten minutes in the cold. The bus drivers don't help you with luggage, and they don't really seem to grasp the whole "timeline" thing. Or they do and there aren't enough buses to keep the rotation going. Whatever.

Driving downtown is a bit challenging with odd one-way streets, time-bounded no left turns, and a bus lane with rules I never quite figured out. Parking in the downtown area can be chancy, and expensive.

But this is about the Renaissance - where the parking is... um, expensive ($24/day for self parking and $30 for valet). I pay that in Honolulu and Chicago, so go figure.

The fitness center is comfortable, nicely equipped and decently laid out. Valet service is prompt and friendly. Housekeeping does a lovely job.

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to return. If I wanted to stay in the city for some special event, I would most definitely book a stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were not sure what to expect but this hotel 100% exceeded our expectations! Everyone from the bellmen to the front desk staff were extremely helpful, courteous and very nice. The hotel was so clean and we had a great view from our room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We were here for a weekend in September and have to say the customer service was exemplary ! We were treated like royalty from the time we arrived. The rooms are ample enough and the beds VERY comfortable. The breakfast place downstairs was delicious. Lots to do in Cleveland and everything is a quick taxi fare away

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

If your going to the house of blues stay here it's down the street. The hotel was very big and had a nice layout, great staff and a nice view of the park. Felt very welcomed and safe here because downtown is kinda rough. Also I noticed the browns football field is close, overall great hotel with a really neat pool.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Room was clean and large in central location. The lobby and bar are nice. In evening there were junkies outside the hotel. The heating system in room is super old and you can't really set a temperature so was not comfortable. The iron barely got warm. Bathroom was clean but dated. Unbelievably I got out of shower to find out there were no towels. Unpleasant experience to have to wipe myself with hand towels. I am unlikely to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.