We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of blues !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Gift for You
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“House of blues !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

If your going to the house of blues stay here it's down the street. The hotel was very big and had a nice layout, great staff and a nice view of the park. Felt very welcomed and safe here because downtown is kinda rough. Also I noticed the browns football field is close, overall great hotel with a really neat pool.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    249
    132
    75
    34
See reviews for
100
181
47
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012 via mobile

Room was clean and large in central location. The lobby and bar are nice. In evening there were junkies outside the hotel. The heating system in room is super old and you can't really set a temperature so was not comfortable. The iron barely got warm. Bathroom was clean but dated. Unbelievably I got out of shower to find out there were no towels. Unpleasant experience to have to wipe myself with hand towels. I am unlikely to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

On a business trip to Cleveland, I went to the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. For those who are familiar with the Renaissance standards I definitely wouldn't recommend to stay at this one.

The Hotel is quite old, they charge USD 10.-- per package you want to be sent to you and the USD 23.-- breakfast ist quite light. You can have nearly everything but you have to ask even for the bread...

The fitness room is small and old and the swimming pool is not inviting...

BUT..., the staff is extremely friendly, from the reception desk to the maid AND the Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Cleveland, near the Women Air and Space Museum, the Rock and Roll Museum and nice restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask a view on the street and not on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Location – The hotel is located in Public Square, which is a great location for most things you may be in Cleveland for; Jacobs Field, Browns Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena and theater district are all within 10 minutes walking distance. If you are coming from I-90, you are just 5 minutes away once you exit. If you want to use public transport, many buses leave from the square. You can walk to the next door mall (Tower City Center) without going outside. A note of caution if you are staying on a weekend – breakfast options outside the hotel within walking distance are very limited.

Check-in – We were here for a conference, so things were busy, but they were staffed adequately, and we were checked in quickly and correctly. They had even laid on cookies and cider at the reception desk and made a point of alerting us to them. The concierge was also very quick to offer any assistance.

Room – We got a city view (actually a view of the hotel across the street) on the 12th floor, and it was a big room. There was a fridge and coffee maker by the door with its own sink, a walk in closet and the desk was a good distance from the bed. Coffee was provided as was a very nice selection of teas. The bathroom had a tub, two sinks and a separate shower and had a nice classic tile. It was a bit draft though, and there was a constant draft coming out of the door frame! Bed was comfortable, but there was no alternative to the standard hotel squishy pillow. Hi-speed net access is available, but during our stay, only at the desk via Ethernet. Connection speeds were fast though.

Restaurant – We had the breakfast buffet at the Sans Souci restaurant. The food was pretty good, but be warned that it is a bit pricey for basic breakfast. The upside is the décor and atmosphere is pretty nice.

Amenities – There is a parking garage attached to the hotel, but it is not free. For Cleveland in November I was surprised at how expensive it was ($35/night). The fitness center is pretty impressive and goes above the usual hotel fare of a couple dusty old ellipticals and a couple of dumbbells, having ellipticals, treadmills, bikes, benches, weights and a cable station. There is a sizable indoor pool.

Check-out – This was quick and efficient as check-in and we our bill was correct.

We were very pleased with the room and the amenities, but the cost of both the room and the parking may cause us to shop around next time.

Room Tip: Get a city view - otherwise you will be overlooking the interior courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potenza, Italy
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We spent a Friday night in this classic hotel on Public Square. The Square was filled with Christmas lights, however rain kept us from being able to go out. The hotel's connection to the Terminal Tower allowed us to do some window shopping in the mall area and check out the Christmas displays there.

There is attached indoor parking. The front desk staff was very friendly and attentive, we were greeted by all of the staff we saw. My wife had left a shopping bag in the lobby bar and the security staff had it for us the next morning.

The public areas are classical with wide open halls and a gorgeous lobby and Italian marble fountain.There is a heated pool in the large covered atrium, we did not use it.

Our room was on the outside, large and quiet. The bed was a pillow-top and there was a mixture of pillows.

We found this hotel to be a classic lady being close to 100 yrs old and the staff makes your stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Have stayed here many times but this trip was special. My wife and I took our 15 year old daughter and her best friend into Cleveland for the day. We visited the rock hall before checking into the hotel. We arrived @ 2pm well before the 4pm checkin. Not only were our rooms ready, but they upgraded one of our rooms to a suite that was beautiful. The second room connected off the suite (and made the kids jealous!). Each and every person on the staff we encountered was outstanding and made us feel special.

The hotel itself is so elegant and historic. Don't get me wrong I love newer modern hotels but there is something really cool about the older places. All the marble and fountains and wood work is great. The hotel was very clean and tidy, the beds were really comfortable and the bathrooms were large and well stocked with all you could need.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Wonderful historic property in the heart of downtown Cleveland. Excellent for doing business with Sherwin-Williams or Key Bank as they are easy walks. Close to good restaurants and nightlife and short walk to the Cleveland Indians ballpark. Great staff with beautiful lobby!

Pros - great for business or events
Cons - rooms are a bit dated and could use some refreshing while still keeping the historic aspect.

Not good for families.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.