We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars, questionable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Cleveland Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Gift for You
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“4 stars, questionable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I came to Cleveland for a business trip, with little knowledge of the area, and the hotel. I took the train in, literally drops you off at front door, one star. However, that area is surrounded by alot of lurkers (didn't always feel safe, and i'm from chicago).

Internet was out for the first 24hrs, which is bad for a convention center, and I was here for a a web based training. The concierge took the day off, negative stars. Room service lacked any love, and took quite awhile, when it came it clearly looked like it had been sitting for the 40 minutes it took to come. Don't waste $$, go to hotel restaurant or area steak house.

We had a reduced rate for the conference, which is why i assume my room overlooked the thousand fans of the neighboring building. You can't control the heat, and when i called the front desk her advice was, "well, open the windows if you are to hot".

I hardly give this 4 stars, but it's clean & safe when you are inside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    248
    132
    75
    34
See reviews for
99
181
47
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for a marriage conference and we loved it. The room wasn't huge but it was cozy and we felt at home in it. We also lucked out to be on the fifth floor and got a little private balcony with a couple of chairs and a table. The bathroom was nice sized and the little desk with chair was perfect for our homework we had to do for the conference. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows were great. They were all memory foam and so easy to sleep on. We had our own little coffee pot and assortment of teas. We did order room service and even though it was pricey, it was delicious. We also ordered a movie that isn't even out on DVD yet so that was really cool. Yes they are the old fat TV's, but we had a hotel staffer tell us that they were updating the hotel this summer because of the casino coming in and every room was getting a flat screen. Not helpful this time, but at least they're making upgrades for the future. The pool was rather small and no hot tub, but it was still nice. The exercise room was awesome, with treadmills that had their own personal TVs, a bunch of weight equipment and several other things to work out with. The conference room was so neat. Several people have commented that it is an old outdated hotel, and I say you didn't see it how you should have. It was so beautiful. Yes it did kind of remind me of The Shining but that made it so much cooler. And who can beat having a mall attached directly to it with movie theater and all. You didn't even have to walk outside to get to it. I loved this hotel and I would gladly stay at it again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed for business, still has tube TVs and older decor. Clean, nice staff and good resturant and room service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

As I prepared to surprise my boyfriend for a weekend in Cleveland and a trip to the Rock N Roll Hall of Fame, I did some research right here on trip advisor! I decided to book this place because it looked pretty from the pictures, it was right downtown, and about $40 more expensive than places that looked half as nice. Boy did I make the right decision.

Price/Package
I got the package that included tickets to the rock hall, and it was great! $217 total with tickets to the hall and a buffet breakfast in the morning that included fresh made-to-order omlettes in the Brasserie restaurant on the first level. It was worth every penny!

Rooms
The room was great! It was "small," but I considered this to be COZY. There was an oversized desk with two large chairs, a little blue chaise-type chair, and a great big comfy king sized bed in our room. I requested a high floor room with a view of the square, and that is definitely the way to go. It was gorgeous at night and in the foggy morning too! We could see Lake Eerie as well. The bathroom was pretty cool too - Separate shower and bathtub, marble floor and walls. It was just pretty! I was super satisfied with the room. The only problem that I noticed was that our faucet leaked a little bit if you didn't make sure it was tightly shut off. Also, the door was thin, so we could hear people in the hallway - we only heard the housekeeping ladies knock on the door directly across from ours, and although it was clear as day, I didn't hear another thing from the hallway all night.

Decor
I read several reviews of the place saying that it looked "outdated." Let me put those worries to rest right now - A Holiday Inn that has lampshades from the nineties is outdated, not a RENAISSANCE Hotel with gorgeous chandeliers, gold faucets, and ANTIQUE looking decor. I thought the place was elegant and beautiful. Also, the sitting area to the left of the front desk is gorgeous, just as a side note.

Extras
Pool - Awesome. Very small, only four feet at its deepest, but very very cool. The way that they designed the space for the pool is incredible! (see photos). Just wish it would've been a little bit warmer, as it's february and there wasn't a hottub - but either way it was still fun to swim in!
Business Center - Didn't use it, but it looked really nice! Flat screen computer moniters, nice separate room...
Food - The room service stuff looked pretty reasonable (still $7 for a burger, but for convenience's sake...) Sans Souci looked delicious, but we wanted to go out of the hotel for food (Eat at Le Petit Triangle and Caffe Roma!!!). Brasserie was great in the morning! The buffet breakfast was delicious, and they gave us two shotglasses with a strawberry-banana smoothie in it, which was yummy...
Parking - Small parking garage, but it was attached and I was fine with it! Didn't feel unsafe or anything, just looked like an old parking garage (other reviews were quite dramatic about it...I didn't stay at the Renaissance Hotel to park, did I??)

When I walked into the place, I thought to myself, "Wow, I did a good job." (as far as choosing which hotel to stay in, never having been to cleveland.) When I got into the room I thought, "I did a REALLY good job." When we got to the pool I thought, "I did an AWESOME job." If and when I come back to Cleveland, I will definitely choose to stay here again. It was beautiful, and for $30 or $40 more, totally worth it over a truly outdated place.

*ONLY complaints* - Update the TVs - I know it's expensive to do, but I think that many people (ahem, US) would've probably purchased an on-demand movie if it had been a nicer tv. Up the temperature in the pool too...minor details in our wonderful stay, however!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We had requested a room with 2 queens for 3 ppl and when we arrived, we were told that we were being given a room with a king, and they would bring up a cot. On arriving to our room, it was actually a queen size bed, and the room hardly had room for the cot. We called the front desk and explained the problem, and they gave us a second room with a queen bed at no charge. The front desk staff were super helpful. Other than that, the rooms were fairly clean, however, our shower was full of tiny hairs when we arrived. It is a beautiful building but is tired looking.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

The Renaissance is a beautiful hotel with a gigantic lobby and huge bar. With the size of the lobby, I was surprised that my room was so small. It wasn't quite as small as a boutique hotel, but close.
The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate. Instead of just having in-room coffee, they also had a decent selection of tea, which was nice.
The Renaissance is within walking distance of shops and restaurants, so it's absolutely the perfect location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Have stayed here in past. Not much has changed and overall the hotel could use some updating (tv's in room, etc) but its very nice. Staff was great, everything was clean and otherwise as you'd expect. Great location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#18 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.