We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual and Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tel Aviv
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unusual and Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When checking in for an overnight stay in this unusual hotel, it was explained to us that in a previous incarnation the building was the first shopping mall to be built in the United States in the late 1800's. Recently refurbished and converted into a hotel, the result is mixed. The Atrium is really very aesthetic indeed and has been artfully and tastefully restored. Our room, an Arcade King Suite, was truly enormous, with a sitting room, and a vast adjacent bedroom with King Bed and well equipped bathroom. While furnished with modern fittings, I can’t say the room had a lot of character. What I found most disturbing, however, was that the windows facing into the Atrium had to be shuttered so that the guests using the balcony passageway would not have a clear view of the room, while the external window had the most awful view of the A/C compressors for the entire hotel and assorted mechanical mayhem – the result being that we felt shuttered in and a touch claustrophobic, despite the size of the room. I would assume that not all rooms have such a terrible view out of the window, but the general feeling was that the room did not “work”. Nevertheless, we had an excellent breakfast at the restaurant (indeed, one of the best asparagus omlettes I have ever had), and the fitness room was well equipped and pleasant to use. Location is good, close to downtown shopping and within walking distance of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. An interesting choice if only for the history of the building and the unique character of the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably have better views from the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    223
    109
    53
    35
See reviews for
91
171
36
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warszawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Cleveland Hyatt in September 2014 during a business trip. While my car was parked in the Valet Lot, it was broken-into and vandalized. I travel extensively, but this is the very first time I'd had something like this happen. Unfortunately, dealing with Hyatt, trying to get any compensation for the damages caused to my vehicle while it was in their care, has been even worse than the actual burglary. For six weeks I've been trying to get any compensation whatsoever -- without luck. Hyatt's own employees took my property-loss report and documented the damage with their own snap-o-matik; there is no dispute that this incident took place while I was their guest. But, to have the company accept financial responsibility is a different matter. I've spoken with a range of individuals (from the parking manager to the general manager to the insurance adjuster and customer service from Corporate) and while all of them have been apologetic, none are empowered to do anything other than say "Terribly, sorry!" I'm disappointed my car was targeted by thieves; more so, because this happened at a high-end supposedly five-star property. I'm even more disappointed, however, that a luxury, respected global brand would not do its utmost to remedy the situation. I've wasted countless hours on the phone trying to sort this out, providing statements, reports, documentation, photos, receipts and the like: all for nothing. That's unacceptable.

Downtown Cleveland isn't a safe neighborhood. There are drunks on the sidewalks at night, people sleeping in doorways, and police sirens wailing at night. I walked there in the evening and won't repeat that mistake. But I understamd: crime can happen anywhere. Vigilant security at the parking facility (a multi-story garage) probably could have prevented such an incident. But Hyatt's response is not what I would have expected. Traveling on business, I don't always stay at hotels as nice as that, but never in my experience have I been treated with such indifference. The problem isn't limited to the local staff in Cleveland, but --judging by the response from the management at the corporate level-- is an institutionalized policy to avoid responsibility. I will therefore avoid all Hyatt Hotels, because I expect five star service for a five-star price. Unfortunately, that's just not the case at the Hyatt.

Room Tip: The rooms facing either of the two main roads are noisy at night due to emergency vehicles (ambulanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for business two nights recently, and chose this hotel because I like cool old buildings. The building was interesting--but nothing was happening on the retail levels and the whole ambience was just kind of dead. The building also clearly suffers from "historic building" problem, where the owner can't update flooring or uneven stairways because they are "historic". This is stupid, because no matter how clean ancient tile floors or uneven stairways are, they end up looking old and junky--which the original builders would never have allowed. Room was clean and nicely appointed. Front staff people were nice. Restaurant was average, as was the room. Nothing particularly to complain about, no reason to go back.

Also, the insistence on charging for slow wifi is irritating. If budget hotels provide it for free, which they do, Hyatt should be ashamed of charging so much for such poor wifi.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughesville MD
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I see some of your other reviewers were also at the hotel the sat night of the wedding followed by the Browns game. They closed the entire center of the hotel for a wedding with a 2 bit band that was obnoxious. Then they closed the dining room so we had to leave the hotel for dinner, but after having breakfast the next morning we should be greatful we did not eat dinner there.. They were serving the dried out cheese and fruit from the wedding last night and for $20 per person the buffet was awful. We asked the waitress 4 times for clean cofee cups and water glassess. She even admitted she had a hard time finding clean ones. My brother kept asking me are you sure this was a HYATT?? Never again folks, I would not stay here again for that ridiculous price and and fees. It looks amazing until you get inside.

Room Tip: Go to the room first. Ours was awful. Squeeky floor cheap furniture and a view of a brick wall and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the renovated rooms opposite the lobby but closest to the House of Blues and East 4th Street. There was a noisy wedding on Saturday night but we stayed out, enjoying ourselves, until the band was winding down and our room was pretty quiet anyway. We walked to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the ballpark and the Warehouse district from the Hyatt which made it ideal for our trip. Bed was great. The gym was small but nice, especially the refrigerated towels. Why no safe in the room? My only major criticism. The Arcade is quite beautiful. Sitting sipping coffee in the restaurant looking at the detail and craftsmanship on display made us aware of the history of Cleveland, particularly the contrast between the wealthy industrialists and the immigrant craftsman in an unexpected way.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the Hyatt name was not done proudly in Cleveland. The lobby was barely adequate because they depended too much on the Arcade which was beautiful! I was put in a room with a lovely view of the ventilation system and told that there were no other rooms available - ands I made the reservation months in advance. so I slept to the sounds of the ice machine - I really felt that the front desk could have done more to accommodate me and really can't recommend the hotel. another colleague was put in a room next to the elevator and listened to the noise from that all night...not sure which was worse - the elevator or the ice machine

Room Tip: Be specific o requesting a room with a view and NOT a view of the ventilation system!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved our stay for a pre-game night out in Cleveland with our friends visiting from San Diego and WV. A quick taxi ride to Ohio City, and plenty to do right around the hotel. The room was one of the largest I've stayed in, in recent years. Loved all of the floor space to spread out our bags. Beds and pillows were comfy, and the hotel was very quiet. We visited the hotel bar after an evening out and it was well-stocked with friendly service.

The hotel is large, but somehow had a quaint feeling. The breakfast buffet was good and service was fast and friendly. BONUS POINTS for having almond milk for us non-dairy-creamer fans :) We will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Address: 420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown in an elegant National Historic Landmark Building, the Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. A total of 293 guest rooms including 4 suites. 14,000 square feet of divisible meeting space including 4 executive boardrooms, 5 banquet rooms, and 4800 square feet of prefunction space. 1890, a contemporary restaruant and lounge, seats 210 open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Fully equipped Fitness Center. The Hyatt Regency Cleveland is within walking distance of the Cleveland Convention Center, Progressive Field, Browns Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, East 4th Street entertainment district, Cleveland Clinic, The Warehouse District and Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Hotel Cleveland
Hyatt Cleveland
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.