We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and special stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service and special stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I headed to Cleveland from Toronto over the most recent long weekend. We were quite tired by the time we got into town around dinner. The area around the hotel was full of people walking around, heading out for Saturday night. Franci at the front desk did a wonderful job of checking us in and making us feel welcome. Although there was a wedding happening in the atrium, she made sure we got a room far away from the noise, as well as threw in a few extra perks. Franci even took the time to give us a detailed breakdown of different neighbourhoods and restaurants worth visiting.

The hotel may not be the most modern, but the beautiful atrium and prime location to 4th Street definitely makes up for this.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    218
    103
    52
    33
See reviews for
87
168
35
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I agree with others that state that the location is excellent, and that restaurants nearby are premier and walkable from this location. I HATE to pay extra, at any hotel for parking, and would MUCH PREFER that parking be "hidden" in the price of the room. At any rate found the $24.00 parking fee per day a little excessive. Was told by valet upon check in that some guests park a few blocks away in the Horseshoe Casino lot, play at the Casino, and then receive free parking at the Casino lot. Guess it's an option if you want to save the additional parking fee. We asked for a renovated room upon check in and were told that normally there is a $20.00 up charge for a renovated room. Really? Hmmm. This was a week night stay and the hotel was OBVIOUSLY not full ~ in fact did not see one of the Arcade rooms with occupants. When we didn't respond to the up sale comment we were ultimately given a "complimentary" updated room. We loved the high ceilings but as mentioned in an earlier review the newer furniture, although nice, doesn't really fit the decor that one would expect in a historic building. Our complimentary room was not located on the Arcade. In fact it was as far away from the front desk as is possible in this hotel. The location was on the second floor at the far end of the building, at the end of a exterior hallway over looking the street. The room was directly across the street from the foot mall where a number of exceptional dining establishments may be found including Chef Michael Symons Lola. All in all we enjoyed our stay. The building and interior is lovely, the elevators are small but work well, our room was clean and well cared for, and even though our room was far from the front desk it allowed for extremely easy access to the outside and the many fantastic things Cleveland has to offer. Go and enjoy but adjust your expectations before arrival. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I always stay at a Hyatt property when traveling however this one I will pass on my next visit to Cleveland. The location is excellent, although the shopping onsite it almost nonexistent. The arcade shops and restaurants nearby are excellent and walkable from this location. Frustrating that there is no regency club and parking is 24$ per day. My room was updated but very average as the newer furniture doesn't really fit the ancient building. Staff was excellent as always at Hyatts.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Despite some bad reviews we decided to stay here on our way home from a road trip with our family. We checked in at 6:30 on a Saturday and were told by Emily that there was a wedding going on that would occupy the whole arcade area. After 7 hours of driving we weren't up for driving around town to search for am available hotel on a holiday wknd. The noise of the DJ and yelling guests was unbelievably loud! My husband talked to another staff person and was told if they moved our rm we would be in a room that was not updated and it would only be 1 level higher so that wouldn't really help with the noise anyways. Our rm was right above the arcade area. What a shame for us and all the other non-wedding guests that night that we had to deal with the extremely loud noises from this wedding that took over the whole hotel. How can Hyatt think it's ok to charge guests what they do and have us deal with this kind of noise level??

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCleveland, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. We are disappointed to hear that you were inconvenienced by noise during your stay. We do everything possible to minimize guest disruption during events in The Arcade, and apologize that your experience was not satisfactory. We value the feedback of our guests, and appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We hope you will join us again so that we have a chance to make your next stay more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just came back from Cleveland for a trip to the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame. Downtown Cleveland is dead on the weekends and so I wasn't surprised when we got a good rate on Hotwire. We called to confirm the reservation the morning of our stay and requested two double beds instead of a king. This is not an unusual request and was shocked that they "needed" to charge us an additional fee for an "upgrade". I have never encountered this before. When we got to the hotel they again insisted on an additional fee for two beds. Apparently they were out of standard rooms with double beds. Our so called upgraded room with two beds was old and run down. The paint was peeling around the windows and the carpet was dirty. When we checked out we again mentioned our displeasure with our experience. They same woman who had checked us in was working and she asked if we had requested a room change if we weren't pleased with our room. I guess I thought if I requested a clean room in good shape that would have been another upgrade with an additional charge! On a positive side, the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCleveland, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable Hyatt Grand Beds®, but disappointed that the rest of your experience did not meet expectations. We value the feedback of our guests, and take all comments into consideration as we continually strive to improve our guest experience. We hope you will join us again so that we have a chance to make your next stay more satisfying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just came back from a family weekend trip. Pros: Hotel location is great for downtown, we walked to the Rock n'Roll Museum, many restaurants (although everything is dead on Sundays), building is historic and beautiful, staff was helpful and competent. Cons: Area is great for Fri., Sat., but on Sundays the streets have an echo, they're so empty, so if you want nightlife, that's not the place for you. Restaurants close by on 4th are good, some better than others, so research and make reservations! As far the the hotel goes, it's tired and worn, carpets are dirty, furniture has seen better days (like 30 years ago...). Our room was like walking into a roadside motel room, the furniture was scarce, the carpets were filthy, to the point the soles of your feet turned grey in 1 walk across the room. My kids also found confetti from some party previous people must have had in the room, in the shape of something you do not want to describe or explain to your children. The towels in the bathroom were old and rough and the toiletries few. We are serious travellers and have stayed in 5 stars hotels and humble Inns, but cleanliness is a must and this Hyatt should either fix this property and clean it properly, or sell it. When you book a Hyatt, you do not expect to get what we got.

Room Tip: If you don't mind dirty and old, but care about location, this is the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCleveland, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the historical beauty of our building, our convenient location and our helpful staff, but disappointed that your guestroom experience did not meet expectations. Cleanliness is a top priority at our property, and we regret that your room was not up to our usual standards. Also, we agree that some of our furniture and decor could use an update, and have recently begun offering renovated rooms with all-new modern furnishings. We expect to have all guestrooms fully updated by 2015. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and hope you will join us in the future to experience our upgraded guestrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is terrible!
Don't be a full thinking that because is a Hyatt is good...
You have 2 options: remodeled and noisy room or old room disgusting carpet.... A water cost US$ 4,00 and there's nothing around hotel to buy more.
Room service sucks too. I ask for a water and the person told me she was busy and would take about 1hr to get me boiling water... There's no mini frigde. The carpet looks so dirty and old, my socks got stained!! Don't stay on this hotel!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCleveland, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. We are disappointed to hear that your guestroom experience did not meet our normal Hyatt standards of service. We are in the process of updating all of our guestrooms (which includes new carpet), and hope you will join us again to experience our upgraded accommodations. We value the feedback of our guests, and appreciate you sharing your comments with us so that we may strive to continually improve our guest experience. We hope to have the chance to make your next stay more satisfying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Address: 420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown in an elegant National Historic Landmark Building, the Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. A total of 293 guest rooms including 4 suites. 14,000 square feet of divisible meeting space including 4 executive boardrooms, 5 banquet rooms, and 4800 square feet of prefunction space. 1890, a contemporary restaruant and lounge, seats 210 open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Fully equipped Fitness Center. The Hyatt Regency Cleveland is within walking distance of the Cleveland Convention Center, Progressive Field, Browns Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, East 4th Street entertainment district, Cleveland Clinic, The Warehouse District and Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Hotel Cleveland
Hyatt Cleveland
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.