We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet, elegant stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A quiet, elegant stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Staying at this Hyatt was a classy, elegant stay. We were only for one night, but were treated as valued guests. Entire staff was friendly, helpful and professional. Our bed was a delight and the pillows were designed to dream upon. Wide screen, HD tvs, spotless bathroom, nice view to the north of downtown Cleveland. This hotel is walking distance from Playhouse Square, the Horseshoe Casino and the always fun, E. 4th entertainment district. If you choose to eat and drink closer to home, the hotel has a couple nice restaurants and a nice bar with views to the north. To top it off, to have the hotel wrapping around the grand architecture of the classic Arcade is a visual treat that will be enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    244
    119
    55
    38
See reviews for
94
186
37
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This location has the potential to be AMAZING. Instead it is boring at best. The building and architecture are beautiful, but at 8 pm on a Saturday the building is as lively as the bank next store. Nothing like the descriptions. There are two restaurants both of which are closed for Saturday and Sunday dinners. Dinners only Monday through Friday very disappointing for winter in Cleveland when your only option is to eat in your room or brave frigid temps. Biggest issue is the ambiance is susposed to be of a historical "arcade" but there is NOT ONE retailer in the building!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCleveland, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed the historical architecture of the building, but disappointed that your experience did not meet expectations. We value the feedback of our guests, and appreciate you sharing this with us. We hope you will join us again to experience the excellent service and location for which we are known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Very nice stay, very good staff. If you're looking for new, this isn't for you. Nice rooms, location couldn't be better to enjoy downtown Cleveland. You can walk to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Lots of restaurant choices within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

There was an issue, and quite frankly I felt like I was brushed as another casualty. Check in was No problem, when I got the bill the next morning it was totally unexpected and I felt the bait and switch, If someone was going to change the terms they could have called but no call came and after I confronted the front desk about it THEY SWORE TO ME THAT THE GENERAL MANAGER MADE THE RESERVATION AND THAT was that! After telling the front desk that someone is lying here as NO one made a reservation for a SUNDAY arrival but me! So I emailed the GM which is Tim, and all he said on his response is THAT WE ALWAYS HAVE ACCOMMODATED YOU! Doesn't matter when the front desk LIES to me, well I have a BIG problem with that! Will I go back to this property? Probably not, Have I voiced my Concern with Cleveland Clinic and IBM, sure did, I did have conversation with Hyatt Gold Passport and they made an adjustment in my account, but I have not heard anything from the property and not so much SORRY for not telling the truth! I am sorry but the front office Manager stated that Tim the GM made the reservation for the SUNDAY arrival and THAT NEVER HAPPENED!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCleveland, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay and thank you for speaking with me about your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade and please let me know if I can be of future assistance. - Tim Meyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Lovely hotel retro-fitted into a historic building, the Arcade. The center area has storefronts with a cafe, US Post Office, spa, the fitness center and a food court, The lobby is in the second floor and the staff is quite lovely. The hotel is rather odd as the rooms are the store front in one tower on Superior and other rooms are in a tower facing Euclid. The rooms are old-fashioned and worn out. The carpet in my room has a missing piece near the door, there were scant outlets, and the furniture was not Regency quality. All in all, the lobby is charming, the staff is nice, the location is great but the rooms are worn. Great if you are never there which is true for most travel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

A perculiar setup for the hotel split up into two locations for the rooms in The Arcade. The breakfast room and gym are in two separate locations in the center away from the hotel. Breakfast is not a buffet, which I find regrettable. You must order a dish and then wait. The choice is not very healthy. A buffet is really a must in this class of hotel. Breakfast not included in room rate and you are charged per dish and per drink.
Wifi is good, but is not free, which still amazes me these days. Gym is okay. This Hyatt is qualitative less than other Hyatts I have stayed in, but one of the most expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was the absolute worst stay I have had at a hotel. I have stayed here once before and it wasn't the greatest but it was better than this one. Not only were we sent to the wrong room, TWICE, the rooms, were disappointing. The furniture was old and outdated, there was hair on the pillow and there was a thick layer of dust and dirt along the baseboards. So much that you could pick it up with your fingers. The view (both stays)were of the parking garage which the sounds of the alarms and horns, and the sounds of the personnel on their smoke breaks and taking out trash (LOUDLY) and making fun of patrons at 2 am. Our tv didn't work when we arrived to our room, the snow knocked the signal out, as the front desk so rudely explained to me over the phone. We were given free breakfast for the room mix-ups, and honestly that was the worst coffee and potatoes EVER, I'm glad we didn't have to pay for that. As we were exiting we decided to visit the restooms in the banquet area right behind the 1890 Lounge and Restaurant, and they were HORRIBLE. Absolutely disgusting! Puke, feces and toilet paper clogging and over filling every toilet in the Mens AND Womens restrooms. The experiences we had, it was NOT worth the $231 we paid for our overnight stay. As much as we did pay and for a "respectable" hotel, we were EXTREMELY disappointed. We will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay there. I'd find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Address: 420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown in an elegant National Historic Landmark Building, the Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. A total of 293 guest rooms including 4 suites. 14,000 square feet of divisible meeting space including 4 executive boardrooms, 5 banquet rooms, and 4800 square feet of prefunction space. 1890, a contemporary restaruant and lounge, seats 210 open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Fully equipped Fitness Center. The Hyatt Regency Cleveland is within walking distance of the Cleveland Convention Center, Progressive Field, Browns Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, East 4th Street entertainment district, Cleveland Clinic, The Warehouse District and Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Hotel Cleveland
Hyatt Cleveland
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.