We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Hyatt "Arcade" in Cleveland a few times while visiting Cleveland. This hotel is in a great location if you are in town for pleasure or sight seeing! Tons of restaurants, bars and entertainment venues directly outside the back door!! Short walk to casino, sporting events and the rest the city has to offer. Spa inside arcade is very nice and prices were very resonable.
Hotel itself is a beautiful building with fantastic architecture! The staff was very friendly and I felt very safe in the hotel. The rooms can be quite small. During our last visit we upgraded rooms and it was worth the extra money... lots of extra space.
I DEFINITELY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    202
    100
    49
    33
See reviews for
80
159
34
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Kisco, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If nostalgia is your strong suit, the Hyatt is the place to go. You will enjoy the century old architecture, and the stores inside the arcade as well as restaurants in close proximity to the establishment. I did not have time or leisure to sample much since the reason for this trip was a wedding, which turned out to take care of most of the food department.

Within the arcade, you will find an excellent (but very expensive) beauty salon, a fun variety store called The Runway, a coin and stamp collectors shop which I didn't visit, but would have had time not been at a premium along with several eateries.

In contrast to Yesindedes review, my spacious room and 1/2 ( which included a sitting room w/desk & lamp) was sparkling clean, as was the bathroom. Someone did a very nice job during the three days and nights of my stay.

One more tip - you will likely be advised to take a cab (reportedly about $35 w/o tip) from the airport. Thanks to some very helpful people, I made it to and from that facility for the princely sum of $1.00 per one way trip. It will run you $4.50 if you have the misfortune of not being considered "old!"

Room Tip: Request that the room face the street if a view means something to your stay. I'm not a great j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCleveland, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Elizabeth B,
We’re so happy that you had an enjoyable experience at Hyatt Regency Cleveland. We're very proud to be located within the historic Cleveland Arcade and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back for your next trip to Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copiague, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We ( 3 adults) stayed here the first week- end of April 2013. The arcade was beautiful, but hardly any stores were open. The room was filthy! The tops of every surface had a THICK layer of dust. Being in the cleaning business, this room has not been properly cleaned in over 6-12 months. This includes top of bed ,tv, window sills and drapes. The chairs in the room had stains and the sheets had holes in them. The bathroom had major dirt behind door and under vanity. Our sinus were bothered from the poor cleaning of this room. We had 7 other rooms in our party and I inspected each of them with the same results. I've had cleaner rooms at the Days Inn. Would not recommend this hotel. Very over rated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCleveland, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Yesindede,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. This is not the level of cleanliness that we strive for at our Hotel. Based on your feedback, our housekeeping team is implementing additional guest room inspections. We hope this experience doesn’t deter you from joining us at Hyatt Regency Cleveland again, and we hope you’ll give us a second chance to welcome you back to Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel was OK but very inconvenient. The lobby is on the second floor meanwhile parking is on the street level. We didn't have a bell person help us with our bags so we had to with trek them. Our room was at the complete other end of the arcade/atrium so we had to head down there trekking our bags to get to the proper elevator. There is no fridges in the room, which for a Hyatt seems quite cheap.
Wifi is not free in the rooms. We needed to print our baseball tickets - which required purchasing 15minutes of hotel lobby computer time via credit card then pay for each page to print. We were on there for maybe 4 minutes and paid $7 <-- that is more than the service charges on StubHub.
The front desk was busy & preoccupied. Parking is $22 which is standard but the street is a one way so you have to trust them to drive around the block to park your vehicle. The downtown core has lots of construction.
I really like Hyatts so was happy when we got this hotel via Priceline but would be happy to avoid it again.
The best part about it was its proximity to the baseball field & hockey rink, it is walkable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCleveland, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Nickey R,
We appreciate you sharing these details about your experience at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. We’re glad to hear that your enjoyed our convenient location but disappointed that some of our services did not meet expectations. This feedback is especially helpful for us because it allows us to better understand our guest's experience so that we can make the necessary improvements. We hope this experience doesn’t deter you from joining us at Hyatt Regency Cleveland, and we hope you’ll give us a second chance to welcome you back to Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here recently for an evening while on business. The hotel is loctated in down town Cleveland in a area that is walkable to most of the down town places you would want to go to. I also like the setting of the hotel in the old arcade, an indoor atrium of shops and services. As you can tell in the pictures, the rooms actually line the arcades interior. It's an usual setting for a hotel but i liked the uniqueness. What I did not like about the hotel was the dated rooms and lobby. Also, I was upgraded to a spacious suite with a separate living area. While it sounds nice on paper, the room was almost too big and felt somewhat barren. I also was not thrilled with the view of a generator and building walls sitting just outside my window. I also stayed at the Lakeside doubletree recently. If they could put those rooms in this hotel, the place would be a hit. I am a little generous in my rating here, but I'll give them the 4 star nod for location and setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The good news is that after filling out Hyatt Regency's post-visit survey commenting mostly on the dog-eared furnishings, I was informed that major renovations are scheduled for November 2013. My son and I (in town for a Cav's game and to see the R&R HOF) were also pleased to find that some of the horror stories listed elsewhere did not materialize - there WAS a coffee-maker in the room (although the resulting java was less than wonderful) and room 714 DID have a modern, flat-screen TV (but just try to get back to the channel lineup w/o turning the TV off and starting all over again).

Our room was in the North tower and even though it was a mid-week stay, we did not notice all that much noise - other than the surprising ever-present hum of motors despite our room being a good distance away from the elevators.

While it is true that (unless money is no object), valet parking is probably to be avoided, our experience with some of the local lots was equally infuriating. A $7/day street-level lot about 2 blocks N.E.had me worried about vandalism the first night so I drove around the next day in search of a garage. DO NOT fall for the $10/day max rate posted around the corner at 515 E.6th - we checked in at approximately 6pm Thursday evening and were gouged for $22 when we departed at 2pm the following day (and the 'customer service' intercom conversation was even more infuriating). Next time - given better weather - I'd leave my car at the $7 lot and walk everywhere - Q.Loans arena is quite close but the R&R Museum is not only further, but the breeze off the lake can be quite cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'tower' room if you need to rise early and don't want to risk there being a we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here one night after attending a concert at Quicken Loans arena. PROS= Great location-- within walking distance of the arena. Nice size room. Quick check in with friendly workers. CONS= Parking- expensive no matter where you park. Noisy= we weren't in a room that opened up to the arcade and it was noisy-- we could hear everything going on in the hallway. I can't imagine how loud it is when there is a wedding in there. View- we faced a brick wall.

Not great, not poor-- truly an average hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Address: 420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown in an elegant National Historic Landmark Building, the Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. A total of 293 guest rooms including 4 suites. 14,000 square feet of divisible meeting space including 4 executive boardrooms, 5 banquet rooms, and 4800 square feet of prefunction space. 1890, a contemporary restaruant and lounge, seats 210 open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Fully equipped Fitness Center. The Hyatt Regency Cleveland is within walking distance of the Cleveland Convention Center, Progressive Field, Browns Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, East 4th Street entertainment district, Cleveland Clinic, The Warehouse District and Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Hotel Cleveland
Hyatt Cleveland
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.