We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charismatic hotel, centered around upper floors of the Arcade, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Charismatic hotel, centered around upper floors of the Arcade, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for a parents getaway night while visiting family in Cleveland. It's a charming hotel, centered around the Arcade. Location is terrific, across road from great restaurant row on East 4th St, easy walking to Warehouse District (we loved the Blue Point Grille), Tower City, Rock and Roll hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino, Browns Stadium, and Progressive Field. Room and hotel was more 3.5 star than 4 star; clean, smallish rooms with no extras. We slept well with very minimal noise, except for heating cycling on/off. Free wifi. We parked next door for $20; valet would have been $22 at hotel with in and out privileges. The bar was quite nice (if a bit pricy, as expected). Front desk staff couldn't have been nicer, and also bartender. Gym was above average, more equipment than usual. Overall, we'd gladly stay here again, and would certainly recommend it to friends. We debated between here, the Marriott, and the Ritz. We got a great price on Priceline and are happy we stayed. The lake view at the Marriott would have been nice, for several times the price. We were't very impressed with the lobby of the Ritz, and it opens on to a mall. I love to run outside but didn't see many options for interesting nearby runs. The West Side Market isn't far away and is a local highlight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    220
    107
    52
    34
See reviews for
89
169
36
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a great building in an ideal location. If one has an interest in history and architecture, I would recommend checking it out. There are a couple of bars/restaurants in the lobby as well as a handful of other shops. The hotel is nearby many restaurants, on the Health Line, close to the Terminal Tower and train to the airport and a short walk to the sporting venues.

I found to rooms to be very average though. There wasn't much character on the inside and the furnishings were fairly basic. The bathroom wasn't quite a four star quality in my opinion. Two outlets in my room were inoperable. I don't want to make it seem horrible, but don't expect anything luxurious. I was also annoyed at the $16 high-speed internet fee (praise to hotels that are joining the trend of dropping this charge). On the other hand, the property's (modest sized) fitness center had high quality equipment.

Despite the basic rooms, I may stay here again given the central location and charm of the building.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt for the first time after a concert at the House of Blues on a Saturday night. Great place. clean, friendly staff, good price ($126 prepaid price for city view queen room). Rooms looked like they were all recently redone. High ceiling, Hi-def TV and down comforters. The architecture of the old arcade atrium gave the whole place the look and feel of someplace other then Cleveland. Valet parking a little steep, $23 for overnight. Great little bar and restaurant (1890 At the Arcade). Just stayed for breakfast which was a little pricey ($33 for two) but very good. The best part was the location relative to the House of Blues right across the street. Went to Saturday night concert and didn't want to drive home. The entrance from the door of the HOB to the Euclid avenue entrance of the Hyatt is literally 50 feet. We didn't even take out coats. Also right across the street from all the East 4th street action. Great location, plenty of nightlife and good accommodations

Room Tip: Select a city view room or one overlooking the atrium. The atrium rooms only have a view of the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

When I go to Cleveland (downtown). I try to book my room here.
I didn't post any pictures but check out the ones on here. This is an old mercantile center (mall type building) where the stores have been converted to rooms. It is such a unique building and really is awesome to browse through.
I'm surprised to find this hotel in the middle of the pack for Cleveland Hotels. In uniqueness alone I give it a 5 rating. It's also convenient to The Corner Alley which is a sports bar/bowling alley that I enjoy (kind of like a downscaled Lucky Strike) and in walking distance to Progressive Field where the Indians play baseball.
I don't know why it's rated so middle of the pack on here but it makes me curious to try other Cleveland Hotels in case I'm missing something.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is within the arcade. some rooms aren't converted stores which would mean y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I love this hotel. The Arcade is a little mall with nice little shops. If you go, notice the indentations on the stairwells from the feet of all the folks who've walked up and down them since 1890. The rooms aren't ancient, though, and are comfortable. The location is great, right at the junction of 4th street and Euclid, so great for restaurants, bars, and entertainment. Breakfast was very good, too and included in our package.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I went to Cleveland for business, and I was thrilled to get the Hyatt on a bid bargain through Priceline. I saved a ton of money relative to other four-stars in the area. Upon walking into the lobby, I immediately got the feeling that this was not your normal hotel. Instead of having a big lobby area, there is a small lobby off to the side in the big, classic galleria that extends up five floors with classic architecture. However, floors 2-5 are all hotel rooms that face center to the galleria. When I got my room assignment, I was excited to check out one of these rooms...but I kept walking, walking, and walking. Finally, I got to my room which was located in an off-corner side. I walked in, and while the room itself was a nice standard Hyatt room, I felt that once again in ongoing Priceline beef, that these hotels are viewing Priceline customers as second class citizens. But this wasn't a bad option at all.

The room itself was Hyatt standard, if the bed was a bit small. I believe I was on the 4th floor, in 433. The window peeked out to the street containing the house of blues and the Cleveland visitor's center, which was pretty gorgeous. I am a sucker for a strong shower, and I must say that this room's shower was among the best I've ever had. Temp and pressure were on lock. The one small flaw was that the room was cold, and the climate control didn't seem to work well.

Service at the hotel was also amazing. Sweet lady (Iris?) at the front desk was super helpful, and the overall location and value are great. Although I slightly feel shafted as a Priceline customer, the second-class option was still amazing. Definitely hope to come back here one day.

There are galleria rooms that face a central five-story forum. Those seem fun but might be noisy. My room was off to the side, and was quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is oddly attached to a moribund little mall, in a truly gorgeous belle époque building. The rooms were small, and non-descript. The staff at check in, and the hotel were very nice, but there was very little service offered above and beyond the very basics. We had breakfast included, and it was perfectly good, middling hotel level. the location was very good, near great restaurants, but there was a fair amount of noise at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Address: 420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown in an elegant National Historic Landmark Building, the Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. A total of 293 guest rooms including 4 suites. 14,000 square feet of divisible meeting space including 4 executive boardrooms, 5 banquet rooms, and 4800 square feet of prefunction space. 1890, a contemporary restaruant and lounge, seats 210 open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Fully equipped Fitness Center. The Hyatt Regency Cleveland is within walking distance of the Cleveland Convention Center, Progressive Field, Browns Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, East 4th Street entertainment district, Cleveland Clinic, The Warehouse District and Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Hotel Cleveland
Hyatt Cleveland
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.