We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Hyatt Regency” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Hyatt Regency”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved our stay. Very unique hotel and I can say I have never stayed anywhere like this before. The arcade view is great. We had a King room that had plenty of room and was clean and updated. We would definitely stay again. It is also very close to everything downtown (casino, east 4th st, etc.). It isn't cheap but then again all other hotels were sold out the night we stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    211
    103
    52
    33
See reviews for
85
161
34
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Arcade has many, if not most, of its rooms surrounding a common area, in a configuration we today call an atrium. The bottom of this arcade/atrium has shops and tables, and to my horror on my last night there, that space can be rented for parties. Imagine the sound of a wedding banquet, with a live band and tacky deejay, floating up into the rooms that face out into the center. I had to be up a 4 to catch a 6 a.m. flight, so I was not amused.

Other than that, the hotel was pleasant and clean and the room was modern, very suitable for a business trip. Front desk couldn't have been more sweet and accommodating.

Room Tip: There are tower rooms, away from the arcade, which may be better. On a previous trip, they had me in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We've actually stayed here for a few weddings, and every time our room has been wonderful. Clean and you can't beat the view in the atrium. Just be aware that proms and weddings are held in the center and it can get quite noisy. The restaurant and bar are a bit pricey, but that's expected for downtown.

You can't beat the location - right next to E 4th, all the restaurants you could ever want! And within walking distance to public square, the casino and all sporting/concert venues.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We are a party of 4 (2 kids) who secured this lodging via 3rd party reservation services at highly discounted rate. It had been touted as a 4 star location, and in our estimate it lived up to that billing. The hotel is located within an 1890's arcade that has been beautifully maintained to appear as the rival of Milan's Galleria. Lots of intricate wrought iron decor, and embellished with iron griffins. You would not guess from the bland front entry that you are about to enter a preserved arcade.
The room featured extremely high ceilings, adequate space for 2 double beds and a clean and updated bathroom. Clearly a bargain if it can be secured with discounted rate. Beds, pillows, and linen were outstandingly comfortable.
The arcade is located within art deco district of downtown Cleveland and is surrounded by retro bars, a bowling and pool hall and other venues worth exploring.

If this facility has any shortcoming, we would say it is the fact that the only parking available is within an adjacent independent parking garage that charges 20 dollars per night and insists on cash (no credit card) payment. The parking cannot be charged to the room, which seems a little unusual, if not inefficient. Also, the garage does not connect directly to the lobby, so one must go outside to re-enter the lobby of the hotel. We considered it a minor discomfort, but if you have a lot of luggage, schlepping it to the lobby could be a problem.

Personally we prefer the old world charm of this place to other modern hotel chains in the vicinity.
I'd recommend it to anyone who is interested in historical Cleveland.

Room Tip: Room choices are either interior views of the arcade or exterior views of art deco district.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Arriving with a family of 5 and many suitcases, only to realize the Hyatt provides no bellman at the front door and no luggage carts in the immediate lobby. We pulled our bags(5 of them)(89 year old grandma, two small children) into the main lobby only to find we had to go up one floor to check in. Guess who was upstairs at the check in desk? All the bellmen chit chatting among themselves and totally ignoring us and others waiting with bags, etc. Talk about slack! Frustration continued at the check in desk with a person asking more darn questions about our names, how many rooms, etc. We've had these reservations for months, received many e-mails confirming names, dates, room specifications, etc., so why did check in take 30 minutes. Lame.
Okay so moving on, the maid never once entered our room; the room service was an answering machine and the front desk phone rang into never never land. We were in Cleveland for a wedding and as part of the wedding party, this is where we stayed to be close to all the family, etc. I don't see us going to Cleveland again but for those of you who are, please stay at the Mariott around the corner.

Room Tip: this hotel is very, very tired. the King we stayed in was spacious enough but the lighting is extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCleveland, Manager at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
DLH1185,
We take your feedback very seriously, and are very sorry that your experience at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade did not meet expectations. Customer service is a top priority for us, and it is disappointing to learn of the challenges you experienced. This feedback is especially helpful for us because it allows us to take the steps necessary to ensure that our guests will experience the level of service that we pride ourselves on. We hope this experience doesn’t deter you from joining us at Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade again, and we hope you’ll give us a second chance to welcome you back to Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Loved the atmosphere of this place!! From the valet to the front desk and the waitress at the restaurant...service was excellent:) Loved the high ceilings of the room, very clean and cozy bed. We ventured to "alley" tourist area right nearby and it was mostly bars as we were there later on a Thursday evening. It was walking distance to the downtown casino as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is located in a beautiful historic building. Props to both the investment group and Hyatt for coming on board and transforming the property into a hotel. The hotel itself is spread out over two ten-story towers on either end of the building, as well as rooms located on the uppers floors of the arcade. Arrival is a bit confusing, and after not being able to locate a valet, we ended up self-parking in the garage next door. Since the hotel is not directly connected to the parking structure, you have to walk outside should you need to return to your car for any reason. Due to a wedding in the aracde that evening, we apprecicated desk staff giving us a room on the top floor of one of the towers. Only problem was the tower was located at the opposite end of the building-- requiring guest to transverse the length of the arcade (which is public space during daylight hours), with luggage in tow, to a largely unmarked elevator at the other end of the building. Desk staff dispatched us across the building with little instruction. A more user-friendly system would have been appreciated.

The hotel room itself was small, and showed some wear. The bathroom was too dark and did not have adquate lighting. However, perhaps this is due to being on the top floor, but noise was not an issue. Housekeeping staff was very friendly and accomodating.

Sadly, a number of storefronts in the beautiful arcade space are vacant. Moreover, some of the tenants seem ill-suited for such a location (i.e. post office, tobacco store). Perhaps this is either a sign of the times or it may be due to limited pedestrian foot traffic. Either way, I would think that the space holds a lot of potential as a boutique shopping destination. However, the lcoation of the building itself is fantastic -- right in the heart of downtown and virtually across the street from many restuarants on east 4th street. The casino is also an easy walk.

Given enough energy and resources, I think this hotel holds tremendous potential. However, as the main Hyatt property in downtown Cleveland, I expected a bit more.

Room Tip: Due to noise issues, avoid Arcade rooms on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade

Address: 420 Superior Ave., Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown in an elegant National Historic Landmark Building, the Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade. A total of 293 guest rooms including 4 suites. 14,000 square feet of divisible meeting space including 4 executive boardrooms, 5 banquet rooms, and 4800 square feet of prefunction space. 1890, a contemporary restaruant and lounge, seats 210 open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Fully equipped Fitness Center. The Hyatt Regency Cleveland is within walking distance of the Cleveland Convention Center, Progressive Field, Browns Stadium, Quicken Loans Arena, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, East 4th Street entertainment district, Cleveland Clinic, The Warehouse District and Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Hotel Cleveland
Hyatt Cleveland
Hyatt Regency Cleveland At The Arcade Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.