We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Corner Room View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center to your Saves list
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Corner Room View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Checking was friendly, fast and efficient. The front desk clerk was perfunctory and helpful. He knew the area and was able to offer suggestions for dinner. First impression was good but warm and welcoming don't come to mind.

The room is on the 24th floor and faces north and west. We are high enough up that we can look over the rooves of nearby buildings and see the lake and parts of the city.

The room is freshly renovated and I can still smell new wallpaper. Bed is comfortable and clean.

Small little things that would make a big difference: when you walk into the room, there is a big clunky dresser with a television in top. There is also a desk jammed right beside it with pillows and towels on top. Feels a bit like a storage room. As well, no storage shelf in the bathroom for extra towels so it is a little awkward. Not a deal-breaker at all, but it is the small details really can make an experience.

Free high speed wifi is also great.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room on the highest floor you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    255
    71
    13
    8
See reviews for
161
205
34
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Everything you expect from Marriott--clean, upscale, convenient downtown location. I'm a repeat customer and always have returned.

Friend stayed at the Residence a few blocks away. Same price, but free breakfast, managers reception Mon-Wed, and internet. So you decide, freebies, or upscale finishes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The location is great, the rooms were nice and spacious (except paint chipping off on bathroom ceiling). The hotel has excellent views of the city and lakefront. The elite lounge was under construction and the new temporary location was not very welcoming and I couldn't find any of the ammenities typical to the lounge and left. My associate and I did not particularly enjoy the restaurant, even the server was upset on so many items that were not available or even how they were prepared. Unfortunately the Spinach dip and turkey burger that I ate came back up around 1AM. Until restaurant management changes and the elite lounge is rennovated, I suggest staying at the Renaissance a few blocks away, which I have stayed several times and have enjoyed with no issues. Lastly, for those with kids that like to bring their systems, their TVs do not allow external inputs. On a good note, Hotel staff is very friendly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelandMarriottKey, Executive Assistant at Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. I express my deepest apologies to you regarding our room renovation and the temporary relocation of our concierge lounge. I am happy to hear that the staff was very friendly and I will share your comments with the team. Please email me at Kristen.mcclellan@marriott.com for further assistance.
Best Regards,
Kristen M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed one night and the location couldn't have been more perfect. Walking distance to Rock n Roll Hall of Fame, Progressive Field and Cleveland Browns Stadium. There are so many restaurants within walking distance I cannot begin to list them. We had a beautiful room on the 25th floor overlooking Lake Erie. Bedding was clean and comfortable, towels were plentiful and luxurious, room was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was typical of any hotel but the service was outstanding. We had drinks in the bar, they were average priced, but again service was terrific. The concierge was helpful and friendly as was the front desk. I would stay at this hotel in a heartbeat! Cleveland overall was clean and a great city to visit - we'll go back again for a little longer to do more sight seeing! Cleveland Rocks!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, the view is awesome and the elevators are fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

It was our first time staying at the Marriott and we enjoyed it. It is located near the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (where we were going) but also the sports stadiums. It is in within walking distance of East 4th (House of Blues and other attractions). The parking was cheap, the staff was friendly, and the room was clean with all your basic conveniences. The price was reasonable for a downtown hotel. We will definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We recently had another great stay at the Key Center Marriott. We had guests in town and wanted to enjoy the city and this hotel is in a great location to almost everything. We also enjoyed the lobby bar and pool this time around which was nice. The hotel itself is nice but the service is what separates this hotel from others. Everyone is so friendly and eager to make your stay great. The doorman, Richard is awesome! I would recommend speaking with him if you need any suggestions on where to go.

Room Tip: We had a corner room that had great views of the city and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelandMarriottKey, General Manager at Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for the positive guest comments. I am happy to hear that everyone was friendly and eager to make your stay great. I will share your comments with Richard and throughout the team to celebrate our success. I appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back as our guest in the future.
Best Regards,
Bob M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
502 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Yes this hotel is well located in the downtown section. It is basically close to all the sports facilities and there are places around to eat. Even the Catholic church is nearby for a Sunday Stay. The front desk people are helpful and friendly. The rooms very comfortable. I had a corner room and had a great view of the area. The only drawback was the ability to make it dark at night with all the curtains there.
The workout room is nice and they do have a pool.
I would recommend this hotel if you want good service and an excellent location downtown for meetings or big events.
If you find this helpful please mark it so.
Thanks Berny

Room Tip: High corner rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#3 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Address: 127 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44114
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience ultimate style and sophistication at the revitalized Cleveland Marriott Downtown, an urban retreat. Offering stunning views of Lake Erie and the city skyline, this 25-story hotel boasts 400 rooms with sleek furnishings and upgraded bathrooms fresh off a $10 million renovation. Explore exciting attractions within a short walk of this metropolitan hotel, such as the new Horseshoe Casino, Quicken Loans Arena, Browns Stadium, Progressive Field and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Take advantage of our renowned hotel staff for unmatched hospitality and deep local knowledge for an authentic Cleveland experience. For casual dining, relax among warm wood styling at Jake’s sports lounge or taste contemporary American cuisine at David’s Restaurant, conveniently situated within our hotel. Rediscover comfort at the refreshingly-modern Cleveland Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cleveland Downtown At Key Hotel Cleveland
Key Center
Cleveland Marriott Downtown At Key Center Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.