We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center to your Saves list
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cazenovia, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service was above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stopped in for one night, family of four with two pre-teens, on our way to Florida for the holidays. The hotel is very nice, well located, upscale facilities, etc. But I have to say the service we received from the staff, particularly at the buffet breakfast in the restaurant, was extraordinary - I've never experienced anything quite like it (and we stay in hotels frequently). It seemed like the entire staff was on a mission to make sure we had a delightful experience (which we did) and they were especially kind and attentive to our kids. And they did this without seeming cloying or formulaic - it was all genuine, I felt, as was their own pride in the hotel. I very much look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    251
    71
    13
    8
See reviews for
157
204
34
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Smooth valet and check in. Complimentary hot cocoa upon arrival, beautiful lobby and bar, all staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean, updated but just a little small, bed and linen was wonderful. My only complaint would be the thin walls, can hear doors closing and people turning on showers. Will do this again in the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

If you are looking for a downtown hotel in the heart of Cleveland, the Marriott at Key Center might surprise you.

The lobby is quite attractive, much like spacious venues found in large cities in olden days. But, this one looks modern--even though the hotel has been a fixture in Cleveland for several years. Hotel staffers seem eager to help.

The high floors generally give you a look at either Public Square (and the new Casino) or toward Lake Erie, just a few blocks away. There is a Starbucks in the lobby with several chairs nearby. The hotel has an easy drop-off area to the east side of the hotel--and it's covered!

The Browns stadium and the Indians ball park are within walking distance, even closer is the NBA arena.

Check the schedule, the Cleveland Orchestra might be playing at Severance Hall, located at the eastern end of the city. For sound, the Hall is a masterpiece!

Room Tip: Ask the desk for advice...room views are quite different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed one night with my family. We had plans to visit Tower City for the holidays and the Browns game as well. We were perfectly located right in between those two places. A short walk to both, even though it was cold and snowing.. Hotel staff were very pleasant. Used the pool at night and morning and we were the only guests there. The kids thought it was great as they had it to themselves and the entire pool is only 3 feet deep. Ordered room service for breakfast, which is rare for us, but it was one of the best breakfasts we'd ever had! The pancakes especially were huge, fluffy and delicious. Almost tasted like funnel cake!

Only issue I had was the size of the beds. We had a double room which had double sized beds. They were a bit small for us. Queen size beds would be a bit better.

Definitely would stay again!

Room Tip: fyi- double rooms have double beds.. not queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

After checking out of the Hyatt in Independence (worst guest experience ever) I finally stayed at the Marriott. Everything that is expected from the Marriott chain; excellent staff service, early check, clean room, great bed. The hotel was beautiful. I felt welcomed from the moment I walked in. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have come to expect good service when staying at Marriott properties but this stay far exceeded my expectations. We enjoyed ourselves so much on Friday night we decided to stay for Saturday night as well. While the hotel was supposed to be at capacity they found a way to accommodate us and the other couple we were with. Everyone including the valet staff, bellhop, front desk staff, restaurant staff (servers and breakfast buffet chefs), servers and bartender's at the bar and the concierge all went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed. You felt like they cared about your experience. In addition to the service the price per night was very reasonable. Valet parking was also reasonably priced. We only ate there once, we had the breakfast buffet, but the food was great. The location of the hotel is convenient as well. It is close to everything downtown. I will without a doubt try staying here again next time I am in downtown Cleveland.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms, one on the 12th floor and one on the 20th floor. Both had great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for his 60th birthday last year and then again this weekend (12/14/13) to go to a concert and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. We love this hotel. The staff is GREAT. Try it you will like it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
0.5 mi away
Aloft Cleveland Downtown
Aloft Cleveland Downtown
#16 of 35 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Address: 127 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44114
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience ultimate style and sophistication at the revitalized Cleveland Marriott Downtown, an urban retreat. Offering stunning views of Lake Erie and the city skyline, this 25-story hotel boasts 400 rooms with sleek furnishings and upgraded bathrooms fresh off a $10 million renovation. Explore exciting attractions within a short walk of this metropolitan hotel, such as the new Horseshoe Casino, Quicken Loans Arena, Browns Stadium, Progressive Field and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Take advantage of our renowned hotel staff for unmatched hospitality and deep local knowledge for an authentic Cleveland experience. For casual dining, relax among warm wood styling at Jake’s sports lounge or taste contemporary American cuisine at David’s Restaurant, conveniently situated within our hotel. Rediscover comfort at the refreshingly-modern Cleveland Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cleveland Downtown At Key Hotel Cleveland
Key Center
Cleveland Marriott Downtown At Key Center Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.