We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center to your Saves list
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Gift for You
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Kent, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My partner and I booked two nights at the Key Center Marriott for a weekend away and for a chance to explore downtown Cleveland, all while finally having the chance to celebrate our two-year anniversary. Everything about this hotel exceeded my expectations. Because of the outstanding staff, staying here made our weekend even more special.

First, we received an upgraded room which was amazing. We were on the 20th floor, in a corner king room that overlooked Lake Erie, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, First Energy Stadium, the Flats, and even part of Public Square. The view was incredible and the room was large, spotless, well-appointed, quiet, and extremely comfortable.

The package we booked included Rock and Roll Hall of Fame tickets. The Rock Hall is a short free trolley ride or walk from the hotel. The concierge has excellent recommendations on how to get around the city, as well as recommendations on food, events, etc in the downtown area. Stop by the concierge for a great list of events in the city during the time of your stay. There were taxis outside the hotel every time we left. The valet was fast and friendly, and the bell hop was attentive and very welcoming each and every time we came and left the hotel.

We opted for room service breakfast for both mornings. It was delivered hot and on time and by a very enjoyable and courteous room service attendant. We also had dinner on Friday night in Jake's Lounge. David's restaurant was closed but Jake's had a full menu at 10:15pm. I enjoyed Jake's Lounge and definitely plan to make it a part of future visits to this hotel.

This hotel has everything you need and then some when you are in downtown Cleveland. However, the real prize at this Marriott is the outstanding staff. I have stayed in many hotels for leisure, and have yet to find a more energetic, welcoming, and kind hotel staff. No one goes non-greeted by the bell hop when you enter or exit the hotel. The concierge was very knowledgeable. The server at David's and the attendant who delivered room service were great as well. The front desk staff was amazing. An outstanding front desk attendant named Blake left us an extremely thoughtful and personal and nice note about our two-year anniversary, and offered complimentary breakfast room service for us- which was amazing! We also received another note under our door from the rooms controller congratulating us on two years- and this note also included a complimentary bottle of champagne! The staff at this hotel truly made us feel welcome and special as we celebrated our two-year anniversary and enjoyed our time downtown. They made us feel like VIPs from the time we arrived to the time we left.

I can't think of anything about this Marriott that is not top notch or five stars. The property and the rooms are great, the location is perfect, and the staff is phenomenal. I highly recommend staying here, and will be back on future trips to Cleveland!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelandMarriottKey, General Manager at Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Cleveland Marriott to celebrate your two-year anniversary. I am so pleased to hear that my staff made your weekend special. I will share your positive comments with my team, especially Ashley (room’s controller) and Blake. I appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you back as our guest in the future.
Best Regards,
Bob Megazzini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    223
    65
    11
    7
See reviews for
137
187
29
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stay at this hotel yearly during the US Thanksgiving holiday weekend. This hotel is SUPER spotless, rooms are beautiful, and the staff strive to make your experience top rate. You are greeted throughout the building by friendly staff who will stop to ask you if they can help with anything. We had a defective television in our room which required us to manually switch it on. No big deal as we weren't there for that. Management offered to put us in another room. Apparently they are replacing all their room tvs next month with new ones. Pop/water machine was "sold out" so management sent up a free pop in a chilled wine server as well as a plate of large chocolate covered strawberries as compensation. We weren't expecting that! The beds are comfortable, rooms are quiet, room temps comfortable,some great views, and local shopping/attractions. The hotel's restaurant is pricy, but local restaurants are only steps away. My "local" call to family was considered long distance, but the hotel only charges a flat rate (under $2.00) for your call and you can chat as long as you like for the one low price. The only downside of this hotel is the dismal selection in the gift shop (more necessities and a better reading materials section would be great). Overall, you can't beat a Marriott, especially this one in downtown Cleveland. In one word, " incredible!".

Room Tip: Gorgeous views if your room is at the front of the hotel. Also, the higher the room the quieter it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Cleveland Marriott is impressive. This is my second stay at this property in the last month. The staff is efficient and friendly. Very well decorated lobby, great bar and restaurant. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast buffet is well stocked. Location downtown is in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

There is no need to defend Gabi Koczian and Tom Mostato and the Marriott Key Center, but let's set the record straight. I happened to be standing in the reception area when the lady below was checking in, in her pajamas with her family. She was rude and out of control, yelling at the staff, there is reason security had to be called to handle the situation. I am a long time returning guest at the Key Center, Gabi Koczian, Tom Mostato, Mary Kennard, Matt Lawrence are all professional, respectful and kind at all times. I stay at the hotel weekly and I truly appreciate that the staff is keeping the place safe and secure in downtown Cleveland. I am part of a minority racial group, ad well, there is no discrimination, it's the best place to stay in Cleveland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

No problems here at all. Very much enjoyed the staff. All very friendly. Especially enjoyed the lovely female bartender who made an awesome Bloody Mary. Our housekeeper was very friendly Good location. Close to mall and casino. Some good restaurants nearby. All good!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was the worse encounter that i have had with the marriott. I have stayed there several times and never once have i had a problem with the staff until 11-15-2013. When i walked into the lobby and approached the front desk, a man by the name of tom looked at me as if i didnt belong in the hotel, im a black woman by the way. I advised him that i had a reservation gave him my name and he asked me if i was sure i had a reservation there, as if i wasnt telling the truth. So he found my reservation which was booked through the horseshoe casino, I was suppose to recieve a double bed he gave me one king size bed, i informed him that i needed two double beds. I was then approached by the front desk manager who didnt even introduce herself to me she didnt even ask if there was anything she can do for me, she immediately told me what she wasnt doing, her name is gabriella koczian.She called my vip host and told her that she would not let me stay there if i didnt calm down the whole time i was there i was nothing but nice and respectful, never got out of hand or control never even raised my voice and i was treated like scum of the earth.Well my host was on the phone with me i was put on hold i stood at the front desk for 30 mins and no one was on the line and both tom and gabriella knew it and they continued to have me standing there, gabriella then came to me and told me that i would not be staying at the marriott and she would not contact anyone about it. She then called security and had me escorted out like i was a criminal then she informed my host tiffany soltis that i was banded from the hotel and could never stay there again.I have since turned this over to my attorney for defimation of character and discrimination.Word to the wise if youre black and she is there turn around do not give your business to a corporation who have prejudice people working there.I was embarrased and dissapointed to see this happen to me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have stayed at numerous Marriott locations and this place has the best staff and "rock star" treatment I have ever received! We had problems during check in, but they went above and beyond to accommodate us. Valet service from Richard was stellar, Alan was awesome and Dick at Concierge was a sweetheart and The waitstaff gave us first class treatment. Thank you to everyone for making us feel so special.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Address: 127 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44114
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience ultimate style and sophistication at the revitalized Cleveland Marriott Downtown, an urban retreat. Offering stunning views of Lake Erie and the city skyline, this 25-story hotel boasts 400 rooms with sleek furnishings and upgraded bathrooms fresh off a $10 million renovation. Explore exciting attractions within a short walk of this metropolitan hotel, such as the new Horseshoe Casino, Quicken Loans Arena, Browns Stadium, Progressive Field and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Take advantage of our renowned hotel staff for unmatched hospitality and deep local knowledge for an authentic Cleveland experience. For casual dining, relax among warm wood styling at Jake’s sports lounge or taste contemporary American cuisine at David’s Restaurant, conveniently situated within our hotel. Rediscover comfort at the refreshingly-modern Cleveland Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cleveland Downtown At Key Hotel Cleveland
Key Center
Cleveland Marriott Downtown At Key Center Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.