We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center to your Saves list
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stay at this hotel yearly during the US Thanksgiving holiday weekend. This hotel is SUPER spotless, rooms are beautiful, and the staff strive to make your experience top rate. You are greeted throughout the building by friendly staff who will stop to ask you if they can help with anything. We had a defective television in our room which required us to manually switch it on. No big deal as we weren't there for that. Management offered to put us in another room. Apparently they are replacing all their room tvs next month with new ones. Pop/water machine was "sold out" so management sent up a free pop in a chilled wine server as well as a plate of large chocolate covered strawberries as compensation. We weren't expecting that! The beds are comfortable, rooms are quiet, room temps comfortable,some great views, and local shopping/attractions. The hotel's restaurant is pricy, but local restaurants are only steps away. My "local" call to family was considered long distance, but the hotel only charges a flat rate (under $2.00) for your call and you can chat as long as you like for the one low price. The only downside of this hotel is the dismal selection in the gift shop (more necessities and a better reading materials section would be great). Overall, you can't beat a Marriott, especially this one in downtown Cleveland. In one word, " incredible!".

Room Tip: Gorgeous views if your room is at the front of the hotel. Also, the higher the room the quieter it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    255
    71
    13
    9
See reviews for
162
205
34
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Cleveland Marriott is impressive. This is my second stay at this property in the last month. The staff is efficient and friendly. Very well decorated lobby, great bar and restaurant. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast buffet is well stocked. Location downtown is in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

There is no need to defend Gabi Koczian and Tom Mostato and the Marriott Key Center, but let's set the record straight. I happened to be standing in the reception area when the lady below was checking in, in her pajamas with her family. She was rude and out of control, yelling at the staff, there is reason security had to be called to handle the situation. I am a long time returning guest at the Key Center, Gabi Koczian, Tom Mostato, Mary Kennard, Matt Lawrence are all professional, respectful and kind at all times. I stay at the hotel weekly and I truly appreciate that the staff is keeping the place safe and secure in downtown Cleveland. I am part of a minority racial group, ad well, there is no discrimination, it's the best place to stay in Cleveland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

No problems here at all. Very much enjoyed the staff. All very friendly. Especially enjoyed the lovely female bartender who made an awesome Bloody Mary. Our housekeeper was very friendly Good location. Close to mall and casino. Some good restaurants nearby. All good!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was the worse encounter that i have had with the marriott. I have stayed there several times and never once have i had a problem with the staff until 11-15-2013. When i walked into the lobby and approached the front desk, a man by the name of tom looked at me as if i didnt belong in the hotel, im a black woman by the way. I advised him that i had a reservation gave him my name and he asked me if i was sure i had a reservation there, as if i wasnt telling the truth. So he found my reservation which was booked through the horseshoe casino, I was suppose to recieve a double bed he gave me one king size bed, i informed him that i needed two double beds. I was then approached by the front desk manager who didnt even introduce herself to me she didnt even ask if there was anything she can do for me, she immediately told me what she wasnt doing, her name is gabriella koczian.She called my vip host and told her that she would not let me stay there if i didnt calm down the whole time i was there i was nothing but nice and respectful, never got out of hand or control never even raised my voice and i was treated like scum of the earth.Well my host was on the phone with me i was put on hold i stood at the front desk for 30 mins and no one was on the line and both tom and gabriella knew it and they continued to have me standing there, gabriella then came to me and told me that i would not be staying at the marriott and she would not contact anyone about it. She then called security and had me escorted out like i was a criminal then she informed my host tiffany soltis that i was banded from the hotel and could never stay there again.I have since turned this over to my attorney for defimation of character and discrimination.Word to the wise if youre black and she is there turn around do not give your business to a corporation who have prejudice people working there.I was embarrased and dissapointed to see this happen to me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have stayed at numerous Marriott locations and this place has the best staff and "rock star" treatment I have ever received! We had problems during check in, but they went above and beyond to accommodate us. Valet service from Richard was stellar, Alan was awesome and Dick at Concierge was a sweetheart and The waitstaff gave us first class treatment. Thank you to everyone for making us feel so special.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The downtown Marriott is convenient to the convention center (across the street), restaurants, and even a healthy walk to Rock n Roll Hall of Fame. We went at a very gray, cold, windy time, so the walk would have been more enjoyable in better weather.
We were given a room on a high floor (25) but it interested me that as an elite Marriott Rewards member, with my prefence for high floor easily seen, I had to ask for a high floor as I was about to rececive one on 7. What the point of the preference if no one looks. The receptionist told us the room was near the ice machine, but this was better then possibly hearing loud Cleveland busses.
The ice machine was no problem. We definitiely didn't hear busses. Our rooom was in a catty corner, with three rooms. So, what we did hear late at nigiht or early mornings, were people from those rooms having loud conversations outside our door. Also, the heat would make a loud bang sound when it kicked in. I am a light sleeper. Some noise will make it hard to fall asleep but others wake you up from a sleep. this was the latter, and not only for me (light sleeper) but also for my not light sleeper husband.
The room otherwise was comfortable and we always appreciate a quiet fridge.The room was clean and the shower worked very well.
The breakfast buffet was pretty good and fairly priced. There is no 'restaurant' per se, but an ample bar menu that could sub as pub fare with pizzas, quesadlillas, burgers, fish n chips. We had trouble finding an open restaurant Sunday night, and were very pleased to enjoy sitting by the fire and did not go hungry. Yvette in the bar area was particularly friendly and hospitable.
The price of this Marriott was a bit steep compared to some others in the area. We enjoyed the walk to the convention center, the reason we came to town. There are notices that the rooms will be upgraded, and I think that will be a weclome change. Hopefully they will fix the loud HVAC.
We never had issues getting taxis, and a quick 25 minute ride to the airport. Once downtown pretty good walk as mentioned to restaurants, downtown, however the dreadful weather put us in cabs when we would have walked otherwise.
Overall, clean, comfortable, maybe a bit overpriced, but friendly and convenient.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on high floor - but not in the corner where there are three doors next to each oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#3 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Address: 127 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44114
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#3 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience ultimate style and sophistication at the revitalized Cleveland Marriott Downtown, an urban retreat. Offering stunning views of Lake Erie and the city skyline, this 25-story hotel boasts 400 rooms with sleek furnishings and upgraded bathrooms fresh off a $10 million renovation. Explore exciting attractions within a short walk of this metropolitan hotel, such as the new Horseshoe Casino, Quicken Loans Arena, Browns Stadium, Progressive Field and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Take advantage of our renowned hotel staff for unmatched hospitality and deep local knowledge for an authentic Cleveland experience. For casual dining, relax among warm wood styling at Jake’s sports lounge or taste contemporary American cuisine at David’s Restaurant, conveniently situated within our hotel. Rediscover comfort at the refreshingly-modern Cleveland Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cleveland Downtown At Key Hotel Cleveland
Key Center
Cleveland Marriott Downtown At Key Center Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.