We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Cleveland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center to your Saves list
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Party like a Rock Star!
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morehead, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First time in Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

My son was getting married in Cleveland and the Marriott at Key Center was the hub of activities so we reserved 7 rooms for family and friends. The reception was to also take place in the Key Club at the Center. So off we trooped to the Marriott at Key Center.

Well I have got to say the hotel is very well located and everyone was so nice and eager to make sure your needs were attended to. The rooms were nice but nothing fancy. Comfortable is the word maybe I am looking for. The hotel was fully booked for that weekend as the Browns and Cavalier's were also playing at home. So if nerves could be frayed this was the weekend for it to happen. But everything went well and the stay was great.

I do have to say downtown Cleveland is really nice. I know that Cleveland is not perfect but I really enjoyed our stay in the city. Lots of green space! And if you like gambling the Horseshoe Casino is about 4 minutes from the Marriott's door. One thought on hotel parking...we did valet parking but if you want to self park it is very easy as both use the same space basically beneath the hotel. So you don't have to hike in if you self park. Downtown Cleveland is on the move with lots of hotels and new ones being built as I type. If you are looking at coming to Cleveland at least give the Marriott at Key Center some thought.


Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    231
    68
    12
    8
See reviews for
145
196
31
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The three of us stayed here for Parent's Weekend. The room had a musky oder when we walked in which bothered my wife more than me. The worst however were the beds. They looked good, but were extremely uncomfortable to sleep in. The mattresses were soft and had a mattress topper under the sheets. The beds felt and slept lumpy. The pillows, one large and one small, felt like foam. Frankly, I was surprised how unconfortable the beds were.

The rooms were smallish and note that double beds, not queens, are used in rooms with two beds. The hotel disclosed this, but still a property of this quality should have rooms large enough and be equiped with two queens.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I would note the young lady staffing the gift shop, where Starbucks coffee is available, was particularly very nice. The valet service was very fast and we received a lot of help with directions.

The common areas, unlike the rooms, were very nice and spacious.

So, in summary I wanted to rate this property higher, but the poor night sleeps I had prevented me from doing so.

Room Tip: Get a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights for business. Check in was immediate and was give a corner king room on the 16th floor with a great view. The room had 6 large windows on 2 walls, the king bed was not on a wall backing another room so it was very quiet! Reds and golds are the colors in the room, large tv, plenty of hangers in the closet, a safe, a refrigerator that I got 2 large bottles of Evian in the downstairs sundries shop for $7 total, a desk, chair with ottoman, the bathroom was a sink and make up area separated from the bath/shower/ toilet area. Easy set thermostat and I asked for extra towels when I made the reservation and they were in the room when I checked in but they weren't replenished by housekeeping the 2nd day. I tipped the maid $5 with a note asking for my sheets to be changed (there is a card stating they do this every 3 days unless otherwise noted) but she did not change my sheets. I ordered breakfast one morning to the room via the breakfast menu card put in the room, I hung it on my door by midnight, asked for delivery between 7-7:15am. The breakfast came at 7:20, not a big deal but was shocked when the woman delivered it, complained the entire time she was in my room...she was the only worker delivering breakfast and the hotel was at 100% and too many conventions going on, and she should have never came to work today and...on and on, instead of just appoligizing, unprofessional. The other day I ate in the restaurant, $14 and a very good buffet. The lobby is pretty. The valet/taxi guys were helpful as I used both services serval times during the stay. The bar was fun and had happy hour specials on apps and drinks.
If you are going to a convention it's worth staying here, it's right across the street and a fine hotel. I paid $199 plus tax and I'd say it was fine but if the price was higher, I would have stayed at the Ritz.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickliffe, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our Anniversary weekend and after staying at a very poor hotel on the east side, we decided to cancel the rest of our reservations for the weekend with the other hotel and to come to Marriott. We were very pleased with everything, from the customer service to the awesome two sided view of the city we had. The only complaint we had was that the furnace filter was full of dust but other than that our stay was fantastic and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed at the Cleveland Marriott at Key Center for a few nights. The staff was very courteous, the public areas in the hotel were very good, and the service in the concierge lounge was outstanding. That being said, the room I was assigned was unfortunately quite worn out, especially the carpet and the matress. Both were in desperate need of being replaced. With the price being a bit on the high side and the deficiencies mentioned, I am only giving this hotel an average rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night prior to going to a wedding in Mentor, Ohio. I checked in early in the afternoon and used the new "e-check in service" available on Iphones and other portable e-devices upon landing in Cleveland's Airport. After picking up the rental car and completing the short 30 minute (or so) drive to the hotel, the parking attendants greeted me warmly and the bell hops helped collect my bags. As soon as I approached the front desk, the attendants knew who I was immediately, greeted me by name, and had my key all ready for me for my room on the 20th (Concierge Level) floor. I was very happily surprised.

I was taken up to the 20th floor where my room was on a corner of the hotel. I had a very nice view of the historic downtown district and court house and on the other side, I had a wonderful view of the lake and the marina. The room was laid out very nicely with a work area, a large king sized bed, and a bathroom and large closet off to the one side. The in room amenities, the large screen television, and the items I requested (extra towels and pillows) were all placed in the room prior to my arrival.

That evening there were complimentary snacks prior to dinner in the Concierge Lounge. The lady who worked in the lounge in the evenings was a real HOOT!! (HOOT = a midwestern word for someone who is a real character; friendly; involved; nice; fun!). The service was great. It is also a free pour bar where they don't stand over you and make it seem like that you are stealing their precious liquor and it is a 'sign the card' honor system. That is a nice way to treat guests in the Concierge Lounge. After dinner hour, they have the complimentary desserts and the honor bar is still there.

In the mornings there is a nice array of breakfast foods including scrambled eggs or sausage and some oatmeal and other breakfast pastries and items that can more than make a good meal to start your day.

All in all a stay on the Concierge Floor is well worth it.

I did not particularly like the menu in the restaurant downstairs for lunch. It just did not seem to have a good variety of foods, but that might just be my particular tastes.

However, all in all this is a great Marriott to stay at. I wish I had brought my swimming trunks to try out the 4th floor indoor pool. But I didn't so I did not get a chance to check that out.

My only complaint was that there was a good degree of noise from room to room through the walls. It eventually died down but with the triangle arrangement of the corner rooms (3 rooms right next to each other on the corners) this may have made the noise of doors opening and closing worse.

Room Tip: Ask for the Concierge Floor! Definitely visit the lounge on the 20th Floor (Concierge Guests only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Though I didn't personally stay at the property, I had a friend staying at the hotel for a weekend and I wanted to send an amenity for his bday. I was put in touch with Richard Miller, the Concierge at the Marriott Downtown at Key Center Hotel. Richard could not have been more helpful and prompt throughout the entire amenity ordering process. He took ownership of my request and at one point even emailed me back when he was at home to ensure that I received all the information I needed. He also kept me updated and let me know once the card was written and ready for delivery. It's staff members like Richard who truly care and take pride in their work that continue to make Marriott shine! Thank you, Richard!

PS - my friend reported the room to be a "great location, comfortable room and would certainly return"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center

Address: 127 Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44114
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#1 Green Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#2 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience ultimate style and sophistication at the revitalized Cleveland Marriott Downtown, an urban retreat. Offering stunning views of Lake Erie and the city skyline, this 25-story hotel boasts 400 rooms with sleek furnishings and upgraded bathrooms fresh off a $10 million renovation. Explore exciting attractions within a short walk of this metropolitan hotel, such as the new Horseshoe Casino, Quicken Loans Arena, Browns Stadium, Progressive Field and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Take advantage of our renowned hotel staff for unmatched hospitality and deep local knowledge for an authentic Cleveland experience. For casual dining, relax among warm wood styling at Jake’s sports lounge or taste contemporary American cuisine at David’s Restaurant, conveniently situated within our hotel. Rediscover comfort at the refreshingly-modern Cleveland Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Otel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cleveland Downtown At Key Hotel Cleveland
Key Center
Cleveland Marriott Downtown At Key Center Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.