We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE perfect B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
2708 Bridge Ave., Cleveland, OH 44113   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“THE perfect B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is the first time I have ever stayed in a bed & breakfast establishment in the USA and if they were all as good as this I would not have to stay in a hotel again.

My cameraman Don's room was on the top - the whole of the top floor. He loved as it was far bigger than his flat in London.

Each room has a sitting room and a wonderful bathroom. Breakfast was so tasteful but sadly not enough of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    16
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
118
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I travel between New York and Chicago by car quite often and have been looking for a nice place stay as a half way point. Cleveland's Ohio city fits the bill. I t has great restaurants and bars to help us unwind after driving eight hours. Now we have found the perfect place to spend the night. J. Palen house has well appointed rooms comfortable beds and updated bathrooms. The owner thinks of thoughtful details such as water bottles in the entrance hall, to leaving out pastries and coffee for guests with an early departure. We thought we were only staying one night and ended up staying two. We look forward to our return in a couple of weeks.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

It is the second time we have stayed here and we plan on many more! Very nice, clean, and quaint! Excellent location with lots of dining options! West Side Market is a must! Diane and her staff work hard to make your stay enjoyable! Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at J.Palen in the roost suite for our anniversary. It was a incredible weekend and Diane was a wonderful host. Breakfast was very delicious. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: The Roost is a two level suite nice little kitchenette and private entrance, and private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a great stay at the J. Palen House. The room was gorgeous, and very clean. Diane was wonderful. The B&B was located within walking distance of a lot of great restaurants and bars. Perfect! The room was large and spacious, had a beautiful bathroom and jacuzzi tub. The balcony was nice, too. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Thank you so much for our stay at the J. Palen House! We LOVED it!!! Diane was wonderful. The room was beautiful and spotless. The food was delicious. The bed was amazing too....that's really important to us....every hotel we stay at, we wake up with a sore back, but not here!! The entire experience was incredible. Everything about this B & B was wonderful!! We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed at J Palen while in Cleveland to see Cher. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was in one of several buildings operated by the owner. The building had a full kitchen with a living room area. Our room was quaint, clean and comfortable. We had a big and beautiful jacuzzi with terry cloth robes. And the breakfast was excellent! If we stay in Cleveland again we will stay at J Palen House. Finally, it is close to Great Lakes Brewery and some fine restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2708 Bridge Ave., Cleveland, OH 44113
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Sophistication and Location!Northeast Ohio's only luxury Urban Inn within a mile of all downtown activities, Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame,Horseshoe Casino, Aquarium Playhouse Square Theaters, All sport venues and 10 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, Walk to 28 of Cleveland's most interesting restaurants, breweries and the West Side Market! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J. Palen House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.