We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parallax

2179 W 11th St, Cleveland, OH 44113-6100
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Parallax is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 1,634 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fairfield
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
342 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Ate here 5 years ago and liked the food and the decor and atmosphere. Came back for a dinner on a weekend trip to Cleveland and Oberlin. The service from the host staff to our waiter could not have been nicer. The vibe is hip but relaxed and friendly. Food is hit and miss and the menu is all over the place (emphasis on seafood, sushi, and then things like beer and cheese soup). What we had was good. Great wine list. Good value. A nice part of town, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Level Contributor
119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“First time visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We had visited another establishment and finding ourselves disappointed, moved down the street to Parallax for HH. What a joy! The service at the bar was impeccable and friendly. The wine was perfect and the two appetizers, mussels and potstickers were inventive and fresh. We felt welcomed and taken care of. Next visit...we stay for dinner!

Visited August 2013
Thank laadragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great experience, A must do when in Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A business dinner this week and my suggestion was - "let's go somewhere local to Cleveland, good food, and not the standard chain restaurant." The Parallax recommendation was a home run. This is a small restaurant in what appears to be a revitalized area called Tremont.

The customer service started with a great experience in the bar pre-dinner. Very welcoming with good drinks and wasabi peas for a snack.

Dinner started with a sushi appetizer. I am a sushi rookie, not sure I really wanted to try it. Our waiter helped with the selection, and purposefully placed the "sampler" with those targeted for me and a good experience closest to me. Nice touch. I wish that I remembered his name because he helped keep everything professional while still fun.

When traveling for business, I frequently ask the waiter to surprise me (after giving a few things that would not be eligible). He delivered an excellent sauteed shrimp dish with a corn type fritter. Not what I would normally order, but it was excellent.

Voted the best at our table was the swordfish, which was filleted and very tender and tasty.

Valet parking is available, but not needed if getting there earlier in the evening. There was plenty of on street parking.

The Parallax is a must do when in Cleveland!.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank makua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Trendy + Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Took my wife and daughter there for dinner on a Saturday night, 7 o'clock reservation. Wife had looked at some online reviews and commented the service often gets knocked as slow, inattentive even rude...Not for our experience. Pleasant hostess, got our table (covered patio) right away. Ryan was our server and he was very knowledgeable about the menu offerings and helped my wife decide between a couple choices. I had the tasty pear 75 martini, had a second for that matter. Appetizer of Short Rib Pot Stickers was pretty good albeit different. Daughter loved the Walleye dinner, wife's swordfish looked strange in you get 2 slices each about 1/4" thick but she loved it. I had the hanger steak and ordered medium. Ryan pressed to go med rare for better taste and that turned out to be a great recommendation. The final tab ended up being a little steep at $225.00 (with tip) for three so that in itself precludes Parallax from being a regular dining stop. Mixed crowd of young hipsters, families and business people. I recommend giving Parallax a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank Cochango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were looking for our large group (9) to eat last night. Parallax was accommodating and we were impressed with the intensive menu. Lots of fish, seafood, meat but also sushi. The portions are large and everyone enjoyed the dishes they ordered. This is a trendy and well priced restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Thank Babette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parallax also viewed


Been to Parallax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing