We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parallax

Parallax
2179 W 11th St, Cleveland, OH 44113-6100
216-583-9999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Parallax is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 1,668 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fairfield
Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“First time visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We had visited another establishment and finding ourselves disappointed, moved down the street to Parallax for HH. What a joy! The service at the bar was impeccable and friendly. The wine was perfect and the two appetizers, mussels and potstickers were inventive and fresh. We felt welcomed and taken care of. Next visit...we stay for dinner!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    22
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Great experience, A must do when in Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A business dinner this week and my suggestion was - "let's go somewhere local to Cleveland, good food, and not the standard chain restaurant." The Parallax recommendation was a home run. This is a small restaurant in what appears to be a revitalized area called Tremont.

The customer service started with a great experience in the bar pre-dinner. Very welcoming with good drinks and wasabi peas for a snack.

Dinner started with a sushi appetizer. I am a sushi rookie, not sure I really wanted to try it. Our waiter helped with the selection, and purposefully placed the "sampler" with those targeted for me and a good experience closest to me. Nice touch. I wish that I remembered his name because he helped keep everything professional while still fun.

When traveling for business, I frequently ask the waiter to surprise me (after giving a few things that would not be eligible). He delivered an excellent sauteed shrimp dish with a corn type fritter. Not what I would normally order, but it was excellent.

Voted the best at our table was the swordfish, which was filleted and very tender and tasty.

Valet parking is available, but not needed if getting there earlier in the evening. There was plenty of on street parking.

The Parallax is a must do when in Cleveland!.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Trendy + Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Took my wife and daughter there for dinner on a Saturday night, 7 o'clock reservation. Wife had looked at some online reviews and commented the service often gets knocked as slow, inattentive even rude...Not for our experience. Pleasant hostess, got our table (covered patio) right away. Ryan was our server and he was very knowledgeable about the menu offerings and helped my wife decide between a couple choices. I had the tasty pear 75 martini, had a second for that matter. Appetizer of Short Rib Pot Stickers was pretty good albeit different. Daughter loved the Walleye dinner, wife's swordfish looked strange in you get 2 slices each about 1/4" thick but she loved it. I had the hanger steak and ordered medium. Ryan pressed to go med rare for better taste and that turned out to be a great recommendation. The final tab ended up being a little steep at $225.00 (with tip) for three so that in itself precludes Parallax from being a regular dining stop. Mixed crowd of young hipsters, families and business people. I recommend giving Parallax a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were looking for our large group (9) to eat last night. Parallax was accommodating and we were impressed with the intensive menu. Lots of fish, seafood, meat but also sushi. The portions are large and everyone enjoyed the dishes they ordered. This is a trendy and well priced restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was in a residential location and easy to park. Everything was excellent from the service, to food presentation, to the food itself.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parallax also viewed

 

Been to Parallax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parallax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.