We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many choices make this a unique dining event!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parallax

Parallax
2179 W 11th St, Cleveland, OH 44113-6100
216-583-9999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Parallax is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 1,570 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fairfield
Brighton, MI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So many choices make this a unique dining event!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was my first visit to Parallax. My local manfacturer's rep selected the restaurant. Pulling up to the restaurant, which is located in a residential area, I never would have expected the fine dining experience that awaited. The menu has a plethora of unique selections, and the wording of the descriptions of each meal awakened my taste buds. We started off with sushi, which was delightful. Next I had a warm wild mushroom salad which was outstanding. There were so many tempting entrees, but I settled on the Vietnamese Chile-garlic shrimp. The presentation was a visual masterpiece, and the shrimp were cooked perfectly. The server we had was very professional, yet engaging and added to the total experience. This is definitely a restaurant I will visit again on a future business trip to Cleveland.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    25
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
278 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Parallax and we definitely will dine their again. The food was excellent - from the appetizer through dessert. Ryan, our server, did a great job! He was pleasant, professional, knowledgable about the menu and not afraid to offer suggestions / opinions. From the moment you arrive and are greeted by the host until the time you depart the valet, the service is excellent!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We were treated like guests in someone's home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went to dinner on a Friday evening with seven diners. From the time we walked in the front door the staff was very friendly and accommodating. One of our party is disabled and the staff made special arrangements to accommodate him and be sure that he was seated comfortably by the time we were all seated at our table.

From the maitre d' to the waiter and bus boys and even the manager, we were treated very well. Our waiter was very helpful and explained the food offerings and suggested wine pairings. We chose both a white and a Spanish red "E", that was so good we ordered another bottle.

From their bread basket, they served a crusty rye bread with a soft inside that was warm and delicious. The food selection was spectacular, everyone in our group raved about their dinner choice. I had sushi, it was fresh and nicely presented and one of the best sushi I've had. A few of our diners had the fish stew, commenting on the both the broth and the mixture of fish. My husband and a friend had had the scallops which they agreed melted in their mouth.

The staff was efficient and caring, coming by to check to see if we were enjoying our meal and if we needed anything further. We had tickets for an event and when we realized time was getting near, they helped move our dinner along.

This is a very well run restaurant, they care about their patrons and make you feel like a guest in their establishment. When we were leaving, even the manager came by to ask if everything met our expectations, I told him they not only met our expectations, but exceeded them!

We were traveling to Cleveland, but our family lives here, we will definitely be back to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food, tight seating arrangements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Met by the host, who was very friendly, led us to our table which was a 2 seat table. The tables are Very close to each other and if you are seated next to a loud table, you will not be able to hear your own conversation. We ordered a Sushi combo platter to start, which was excellent. Our entrees worked cooked to perfection and tasted so. Except for the very tight seating arrangements, do not miss this restaurant, for the food or the sushi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, oh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It's still my top 3 in Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Perhaps it was the unique cabbage soup with perfectly spiced broth, or the beautiful parrot fish with fennel but again and again chef Zack Bruell's kitchen surprises me with innovation, quality, beauty of the plate and overall excellence. If you are in Cleveland, make certain you make a reservation at this outstanding Tremont destination and as in chef's own words to me last time he actually served us personally - come to his favorite of the 4 he runs in Cleveland.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parallax also viewed

 

Been to Parallax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parallax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.