We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for a luxurious lunch with my special friend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lola Bistro & Wine Bar

Lola Bistro & Wine Bar
2058 E 4th St, Cleveland, OH 44115-1024
216-621-5652
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lola Bistro & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,684 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Prospect Avenue
suttons bay, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great place for a luxurious lunch with my special friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was our second trip to Lola for a special meal and it did not disappoint us. Served by Tiffany, who was very professional, informative and attentive to whatever we needed. she had that special quality in a server where she almost anticipated what we wanted before we even knew we wanted it. It takes years of being a server to have this intuitive quality and she has it. The meal was flawless also. The server assistants were spot on and very efficient. We had our bread in less than a minute after we were seated and our server appeared soon after. My friend had Michael Symons' signature spicy tomato bisque with blue cheese at my recommendation. He loved it. I have made it before because I have his cookbook. Then he had the trout. I had the scallops. both were excellent. Dessert for my friend was an apple crisp with ice cream. he loved it. I ordered the cheese plate because I am not a sweet eater. It was 3 kinds of vermont cheese with preserves and rosemary crackers. excellent. We will return on our next visit to cleveland.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    150
    65
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lola Cleveland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

As usual the food was excellent. We had the deconstructed bacon wrapped scallops and the calves heart(yes calves heart). The heart tastes like a silkier version of a filet mignon. Service was excellent; great bar. We just love coming here when we're in Cleveland

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great date night. High quality food, but minimal selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

$$$$ for sure. Good for special occasions/ romantic outings. I have been several times and the selection is only about two pages though high in quality. I recommend the Bone Marrow appetizer as well as the beef cheek pierogis. Tasty! The Bone Marrow might be one of the best items I have ever eaten in my life. So rich and delicious. The duck breast was my last entree and it was wonderful as well. The menu is seasonal and there was a lot of seafood listed this time (not my favorite). A great place to visit in Cleveland and if you get lucky with a nice weather day, the location is perfect. Able to walk around the center of public square and the surrounding area. Also able to bar hop all the way down East 4th street and to the Horseshoe Casion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A must for after dinner drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My hubby and I were in Cleveland for the Memorial Day long weekend and we decided to check out Lola's for after dinner drinks based on the favourable Trip Advisor reviews I had read.

This bar is located on East 4th Street where all the bars are located on a pedestrianised street. The bar has a cool, trendy vibe to it, but is not stuffy or pretentious.

Although the kitchen was already closed by the time we arrived (11:00pm on Saturday), the bar area was still busy. I don't remember the bartender's name, but he was fantastic! I liked the fact their very extensive drink menu was on an iPad instead of a normal menu.

Check this place out the next time your in Cleveland!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Evenings to Remember and Smile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have received Anniversary gifts from our children to Lola Bistro & Wine Bar....a true dining experience! From walking through the door, sitting at the bar, leading to our table, relating the menu items, serving the meal, clearing the dinnerware...each staff person treated us as if we were the only guests in the entire Bistro complimented by the superb preparation of our selections on both occasions. The special place made our anniversaries memorable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Lola Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lola Bistro & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.