We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Christmas Story Movie lovers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christmas Story House

Christmas Story House
3159 W 11th St, Cleveland, OH 44109
216-298-4919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 191 things to do in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Christmas Story House, now restored to its movie splendor, is open year round to the public for tours. Directly across the street from the house is the official A Christmas Story House Museum, which features original props, costumes and memorabilia from the film, as well as hundreds of rare behind-the-scenes photos. Among the props and costumes are the toys from the Higbee’s window, Randy’s snowsuit and zeppelin, the chalkboard from Miss Shields’ classroom and the family car. After reliving A Christmas Story at Ralphie’s house don’t forget to visit the museum gift shop for your own Major Award Leg Lamp and other great movie memorabilia.
Independence, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good for Christmas Story Movie lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

When we visited, The actor who played Randy was there, so we were able to get some photos with him- pretty cool!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    201
    71
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great job!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Well worth the minimal charge to tour the house. The guide was super and very informative. Even took family pictures for us. Will go again, highly recommended for fans of this classic movie.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“In Cleveland on Thursday-Sunday? Go see this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

You'll recognize it as soon as you turn the corner. The house has been restored to what it looked like in the movie. The museum-across the street is interesting. If you're going to be in the city take the time to visit Ralphie's old stomping grounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a well done site!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have been a fan of the movie for years. My wife and I took a weekend trip to Cleveland to check this stop off the bucket list. The house far exceeded our expectations. The museum (across the street) has a lot of props from the movie. There also was an extra (delivery of the leg lamp guy) telling story's and signing autographs (for a fee). The tour was neat, got to take lots of pictures and the guide was very knowledgable of the filming process. There was another house that was a gift shop that had everything Christmas Story (it will be hard to not spend $50 there). We will do this again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“F-U-N !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our entire family are huge fans of this movie and visiting this house just added to our enjoyment if the movie. Tours run on a scheduled time. But your tour is a 10 minute talk then about half an hour to walk through the house at your leisure. Ok, we ran through the house! You could sit on furniture touch everything. Sit under the kitchen sink, and in the toilet while you decode a secret message. Plus all the other visitors were doing the same thing. Great, great time. Wasn't to the end of the block until we started to plan our next trip. Did I mention we had fun?

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christmas Story House also viewed

 

Been to Christmas Story House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christmas Story House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.