We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy is the word” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Momocho

Momocho
1835 Fulton Road, Cleveland, OH 44113-3035
216.694.2122
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,674 restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $14 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Momocho serves award winning modern mexican cuisine / located in the historic ohio city neighborhood / dinner 6 nights a week + weekday happy hour from 5pm-630pm / seasonal outdoor patios / reservations accepted for parties of 6 or less / viva momocho!
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Yummy is the word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I nice venue.....well decorated. We sat at the bar and conversed with the bartender. Enjoyed a great margarita and Dave had some local brews. We ordered some guacamole (almost order the trio tasting but the bartender told us they were full orders...we couldn't even finish one). Dave had the Machaca Taquitos ...beef brisket....which was very flavorful ...I had the Tinga Taquitos ...chicken. Both were very flavorful...you savor each bite with different flavors coming through. Quite surprising tastes. Prices were very reasonable. We enjoyed everything there and had plenty of leftovers for our trip the next day. We really should have shared one order but it was still worth it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    154
    53
    27
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic - No other way to describe it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Can't beat this place. Reservations are a must.

Food was out of this world. Every dish is thought out from top to bottom. The Guacamole is amazing. Momocho proves that awesome food does not have to be expensive.

I will go back to Cleveland just to go here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Brilliant Rendition of Mexican Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Momocho is a different kind of Mexican restaurant. It does not offer the usual fare but, instead, serves innovative food served in inventive ways. The menu lists 37 different tequilas and 8 different Margaritas that can be had as a 3-half serving sampler. The spicy mango, blood orange, and hibiscus flower Margaritas were excellent and the others very good. Guacamole is served six different ways with home-made chips. It is difficult to choose the most delicious but the smoked trout, bacon and chile poblano was excellent. Entrees did not disappoint and our table had the avocado leaf crusted tuna taquito, the pork chop al carbón and the Dos Equis-braised short rib tamales. These entrees were outstanding and of particular note was the masa in the tamales. Leave room for dessert, especially the ginger snap-jalapeño bread pudding although the fried ice cream deserves honorable mention. We also recommend the Patrón XO liqueur to finish the meal. The staff is competent, helpful and cordial and the restaurant decorations different from those at other Mexican restaurants. This restaurant is truly a gem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expect to wait! But, food is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I purposely seek out places that have been on the Food Network show "Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives." This was one of those places. When we got there at 7:00 on a Friday night there was a two hour wait, but first come first serve seating at the bar. It was very, very crowded. It was a very diverse crowd - young, older, hipster, older married couples. We are 43 and 41 and I am a foodie (he just has to go along with me.) We decided to order to go and take back to our hotel room. I got the carnita tacos and my husband got the wild boar tacos. We also did the guacamole sampler. BEWARE - these are NOT sample size guacamole servings. They were full size servings, so unfortunately, since we were in a hotel, a lot of it went to waste. The guac samples we chose were traditional/smoked trout and bacon/roasted garlic and smoked gouda - at the hostesses recommendation. I liked all three, but my husband only like the traditional and the smoked trout. If I had to remove one it would have been the smoked gouda and roasted garlic one.

They forgot to give us our tortillas for our tacos - we were very bummed but didn't know til we got to the hotel, which was abuot 15 miles away - so about 30 minutes. We had to use our tortilla chips as "shells." It really kind of took away from it because one of the cool things is they give you sauces that compliment your dish. We couldn't hardly do much of the sauce because we didn't have tortillas and could fit very little of the meat on our chip.

But, the food was great! We both finished our entree of the tacos but sadly couldn't finish all the guacamole!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Our first time dining here and we'll return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Not your typical Mexican restaurant! The Mexican food genre has a contemporary creative twist to it - and it's very good! Their guacamole is fantastic. We tried the one with the goat cheese. The spicy mango margaritas are great, too!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momocho also viewed

 

Been to Momocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momocho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.