We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This dining experience was the best of our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lolita

Lolita
900 Literary Rd, Cleveland, OH 44113-4441
216-771-5652
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lolita is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,705 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Professor Ave
Pecatonica, Illinois
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“This dining experience was the best of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We, too, had wanted to eat at a Michael Symon restaurant. We made a reservation the previous day and were promptly seated when we arrived. I like that the menu has a limited amount of appetizers, pasta, mains, and desserts and does those very, very well. Our waitress was excellent at being very attentive but not hovering over us. We had a glass of wine from the very good selection. Then we tried the warm spinach and asparagus salad. Excellent, The things they do to macaroni, chicken, goat's cheese and rosemary are extraordinary! Hangar steak was also a hit! The atmosphere is laid back and not intimidating. People were dressed in everything from shorts to suit coats and it seemed that both were perfectly acceptable. Questions we asked about the menu were answered thoroughly. The pizzas also looked amazing. Both of us thought this was the best meal of our trip! If I lived close to Cleveland, I'd repeat this performance!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    48
    18
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had wanted to try a Michael Symon restaurant for some time. We happened to be in Cleveland for a graduation, and ended up with some free time. I called the restaurant in the afternoon and got a reservation for 6:00. We got there a bit early, but they were able to seat us right away. The food is delicious -- we had the warm salad, a pizza, gnocchi, and of course the brussels sprouts. Even if you think you don't like them, please give them a try. So delicious. And dessert! I had a flourless chocolate cake with red wine marinated cherries. I could have eaten a bowl of those cherries by themselves. All in all a great experience. The music was a bit loud, but the restaurant wasn't full when we got there. I'm sure at full capacity it would be fine.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Michael Symon is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great food, in a great location downtown. Extensive wine and drink menu, and the food is fantastic. Nice part about Lolita is the atmosphere. Classy without being stuffy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We travel to Lolita at least three times a year--not nearly enough but we live a good drive from here. Appetizers are amazing and we often make a meal out of sharing several appetizers. Service has always been spectacular--we request Tiffany. The fried brussel sprouts are wonderful, my friend likes the bone marrow, and I love the wood-fired pizzas. Salads are delicious--polenta is so good! Desserts have been tasty, too. Definitely worth the trip. Casual atmosphere, small seating area. Like watching the cooks prepare the food. Make reservations well ahead of time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Fine dining and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

WOW - fresh and delicious food! Friendly service, funky location - what more can you ask! Definitely try this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lolita also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to Lolita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lolita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.