We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest after a night out on the town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachwood

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Beachwood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Beachwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26300 Chagrin Blvd, Cleveland, OH 44122   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rest after a night out on the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Clarion after an awesome night out on the town. From the time we checked in to check out our stay was nice. Clerk at the front desk was very polite,helpful & knowledgable about the area. Even giving good tips on where to eat. The room was nice and clean and the price was GREAT!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
15
9
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Clarion for two days with my 13-year old daughter. The management told me that the hotel is being demolished and replaced with two new hotels: One an upscale hotel and the other a new Clarion. That explains why the hotel was in poor shape.

Positives: Great location/ friendly staff/ free parking outside/ comfortable beds/ Large and decent free breakfast/ free newspaper including local (Cleveland) Sunday paper.
Negatives: Ice machines were broken on two floors/ wifi, tv, and house phone were broken, so had to move to new room. New room had funny noises at night in wall, and wifi was slow. Physical Fitness Room was worthless, and pool was non-operating.

Looking forward to replacement hotel, which manager said would happen in 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just finished a four night stay with my family while visiting family. We were able to book a two double bed room for $62 via a refundable prepaid deal on Expedia. At that price, this hotel is a screaming value. At the listed $89 it's still a good deal, but you need to accept a few minor compromises.

The hotel itself is an older property that is quite clean and well maintained, it's just a bit outdated cosmetically. The hallway carpets need to be replaced, the tv was a tube tv (heavens, I may never recover-it really was fine), the free wifi was pretty slow and a bit of color in the room would have perked it up a lot. On the other hand, it was very clean, the beds were pretty comfortable, the location is great and the free breakfast was for the most part excellent. The staff was very friendly.

A few minor quibbles:
The breakfast was fantastic our first two days, but as the hotel filled, many items weren't restocked promptly. Choices included scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage patties, real waffles, breads, apples, bananas, oatmeal and grit packets, cereals, and juice and coffee.

Free USA Today and Wall Street Journals were available in the lobby. Our last day, the WSJ was left at our door. Not sure why the different levels of service, but maybe it took that long for my brand new frequent guest membership to hit my reservation.

The pool was under renovation so no comment on that and didn't see where it would have been. There was an elliptical and a treadmill in the exercise room. Nobody was using them when we were around and they were working fine.

Not sure why anyone complained about a lack of outlets. There was a four plex plug adapter by the bed and a few more around the room.

In summary, this is a great buy if you aren't expecting luxury. For the price I paid, it was well worth it and we plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

There was no luggage stand in the room.
There were only 2 hangers in the closet. When I called the desk to request more, the clerk asked how many I wanted. I said 4 or 5, to which she responded, "We don't put that many in the room." And then they gave me 4 anyway.
When I returned to my room late one night, I discovered that housekeeping had left no soap in the bathroom. They took away the used soap, but didn't replace it. When I called the desk, I was informed that I had to come down and get it. When I got to the desk and complained, the desk clerk told me to tell housekeeping because it wasn't her job -- all she did was watch the desk.
The comforter was stained.
The desk clerk was always on her cell phone.
I complained to Clarion and other than 2 auto-replies, they haven't responded.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This place is surface cleaned but don't go around in your bare feet - even or especially in the bathroom. Floors are stained and/ or dirty and everything looks a bit used. Front desk was grumpy and slow. Really , so many better hotels around here . I won't choose this one again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Really nice hotel, excellent and very friendly staff. Nice bed and pillows. Quiet. Good breakfast with eggs, bacon, and sausage.

Two small problems: The wi-fi only rarely worked, and the staff did say they were having trouble with it.

The lighting in the breakfast room is very dreary, more appropriate for a funeral parlor. The TV screen in the breakfast room was so dark it might as well have been off.

Room Tip: Room 121 is larger than some other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a hotel with good food, clean beds/linens, comfortable, helpful staff, and good location. It fills up quickly during the week so reservations are best. The hotel needs renovation badly (is dark, carpets look dirty (particularly in the elevator), fitness center had two machines only. This is a hotel where passing through business people seem to stay. It was completely full but it was very quiet. Everything worked in the room.

Room Tip: The 4th/top floor was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel Beachwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Beachwood

Address: 26300 Chagrin Blvd, Cleveland, OH 44122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Beachwood 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel Beachwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Cleveland
Clarion Cleveland
Cleveland Clarion
Clarion Hotel Beachwood Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Beachwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.