We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the great orchestras of the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleveland Orchestra at Severance Hall

Cleveland Orchestra at Severance Hall
11001 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44106-1796
216 231 7300
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 77 attractions in Cleveland
Type: Symphonies, Theaters
Attraction Details
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“One of the great orchestras of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had the pleasure of touring Severance Hall which is a perfectly maintained Art Deco masterpiece. We also caught the end of the rehearsal as a good friend of ours was conducting. I was so impressed with the discipline, sound, precision and professionalism of this great orchestra. Such a pleasure!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Plain Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Every time I go to a concert at Severance Hall, listening to "The Cleveland", I am thankful again for all the talent, vision, hard work and dedication through the years that underpin the orchestra today. The full orchestra sound is unique with an always present broad, richness topped off with a singing string section. Whether they are performing the "old war horses" or treating us to new compositions, stretching our ideas of music, it is always done with beautiful precision and depth of interpretation.
The concert hall itself, since the major renovation about 5 years ago, is a visual experience as well as an acoustical pleasure. I always think of a Viennese torte (a VERY good one) as I look around the hall. A sight and sound feast.
The usher staff is excellent and helpful, and the elevator operators (yes, actual people) are pleasant and have just the right touch of control of the crowd. Lav facilities have been improved (with the renovation, also). I do suggest buying a parking pass for the season if possible for the garage. For the out of town visitor, there are parking garages in the vicinity, but it is an outdoor walk. Usually, garage space at the Severance garage is available for Sunday afternoon concerts, a very nice way to spend Sunday afternoon.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I enjoy classical music, but must admit the first time I went to see the Orchestra at Severance it was because my son had to for school. My husband and I grumbled about having to dress up and drive through a blizzard on a work night for some over priced entertainment. Well, what started out as a chore turned into an addiction! We had seen (and enjoyed) the Orchestra play outdoors, but were totally unprepared for how blown away we would be to hear it at Severance. Severance Hall is a jewel, a perfect showcase. We have sat in every section, close enough to touch the stage with our feet and up in the rafters, and never have we been disappointed in the sound. Nothing beats a live performance! There is indoor parking, arrange when purchasing tickets as it does fill up in wintery Cleveland. There are coat checks, though we prefer to leave ours in the car. Wine, beer and coffee are available in the lobby which has a few small tables and chairs. There is a restaurant in house, a little pricey for us, but Little Italy is right around the corner with something for every budget.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Cleveland, Ohio has many fine- quality musical organizations. The crown jewel is the world- class Cleveland Orchestra. Its home is Severance Hall at University Circle, a beautiful performance space with exquisite art deco detailing. Its acoustics are excellent, showcasing the artistry of the Orchestra's performers.

The Cleveland Orchestra also performs at Blossom Music Center, a beautiful outdoor venue in the Cuyahoga Valley, and does a free concert around July 4th at Cleveland Public Square, complete with laser show and fireworks. The Cleveland Orchestra makes beautiful art accessible to the people of the Cleveland area and supports children's music education through its many outreach programs. Low- cost tickets are worth seeking,but seeing the orchestra from any distance is fine at any price level.

Severance Hall is near many fine resturants and also accessible to Little Italy, which is filled with delis, bistros and fine restaurants. One small restaurant there offers opera karaoke. It's a University Circle kind of thing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield Heights
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Summer with the orchestra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Th summer home of the Cleveland Orchestra is always a must. You can sit on the lawn on your blanket or take a lawn chair. You can relax with a bottle of wine and your picnic under the stars.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleveland Orchestra at Severance Hall also viewed

 

Been to Cleveland Orchestra at Severance Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleveland Orchestra at Severance Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.