We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique concept, great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EDWINS Restaurant

EDWINS Restaurant
13101 Shaker Square, Cleveland, OH 44120
+(1)(216) 921-3333
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
EDWINS Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,684 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Shaker Blvd.
Description: Steeped in tradition and care EDWINS Restaurant offers seasonal, classic French cuisine in the midst of Cleveland's Shaker Square. The restaurant has a unique mission; to do good and eat well. The charming bar and lounge are a welcoming spot for before and after dinner drinks.
Clevelan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Unique concept, great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had a great time at Edwins. We knew the story, that it is staffed entirely by ex-cons who are learning the industry, which was good because we had 3 different waiters stop by the table, one of whom we had a hard time understanding. BUT - they all had heart, they all did their jobs well, and we absolutely loved it!
Our "main" waiter was very unknowledgeable about the wine selections, but we pointed out which ones we wanted and so it was all good.
The bread was delicious but chilly, and the butter is AMAZING!
I had the rack of lamb special which the owner told us is only offered on the weekends and it was perfectly done and paired with a delicious cous cous.
My wife had the duck, which she loved even though she is not normally a duck fan, and the risotto that was with it was also excellent.
We live in the neighborhood and are so glad that they opened and we can't wait to go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An excellent addition to the Cleveland restaurant scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Atmosphere, food and service were all excellent. Very creative cuisine and well executed. This is certainly one of the best Cleveland restaurants-maybe THE best!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrville, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a story!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stumbled on this French restaurant as a post Christmas getaway! The food was superb, wine excellent, & service attentive. The mission we read after dining and want to share-go and enjoy! The sweetbreads in Pasta sublime; lobster bisque unique. Bon appetit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An excellent beginning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our group of four had a wonderful dinner on a Wednesday night, when the place was packed! The menu offered plenty of choices, food was excellent (portions modest but appropriately priced), and Jamar was a pleasant, engaging, enthusiastic waiter. Don't pass up the cheese "board," actually a cart nearly the size of a hospital gurney with a huge variety of interesting and unusual choices! The room can be loud when full, but we were seated at a corner table (#52) that allowed us to enjoy the atmosphere but still hear each other. There were some rough edges and refinement that should improve with time and experience (service attentive but a little slow and forgetful, somewhat awkward and unpolished pouring water and clearing dishes, main course not piping hot, long line to wait for valet to retrieve parked cars). None of this detracts from the overall excellent experience and the wonderful concept this brings to our community! We've spread the word to friends, and we'll certainly be back soon!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic French in Cleveland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

On a snowy night in Cleveland we had one of the best meals we've had in a restaurant in a long time. Everything we ate was terrific. The service was warm and welcoming, and the atmosphere was delightful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EDWINS Restaurant also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
 

Been to EDWINS Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EDWINS Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.