We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Burger!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferris Steak House

Ferris Steak House
2589 Wooster Rd, Cleveland, OH 44116
(216) 281-1437
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ferris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #208 of 1,668 restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a Burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Walked in without Reservations, and sat at the Bar? Service was very good, drinks were great, and we received the burgers we ordered in a very timely fashion. The presentation was okay for a burger with fries done extra crispy. All said we were happy, and would return for another burger. The rest of the menu seemed rather so so! Go for the burgers!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    18
    8
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky River, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome location - Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

There is a reason this steakhouse has been around for over 70 years... simply the best steaks anywhere - love the new location... great service... will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved the fifties? Love Ferris Steak House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant recently moved into a location that had been occupied by another steak house for many years. The redo of the interior is spectacular. For those who think a steak with mushrooms and onions is haute cuisine this is a destination restaurant. For people who look for more innovative menus it is not. Service started out well, but went downhill. We waited and waited for our salads. Just when we were giving up our entrees arrived. They were taken away and replaced with salads, only one of which had the correct dressing. Eventually our entrees were served. Our wait person assured us that they had not been kept warm under a heat lamp. Hmm? Having one person take the order and then having a variety of other people serve various parts of a meal seems to be just about standard now. Unfortunately it often leads to this kind of confusion. Dinner for two was $100 dollars. Things need to be tightened up. Service at the Brown Derby is actually better. Having said all that, accepting what it is, this is a nice addition to the local restaurant scene. It was packed on a cold, mid- week winter night.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Dinner with old friends .....
French Onion Soup - Best I've had since the closing of The Iron Gate many years ago!
Highly recommend it!
4 Steaks - All cooked to perfection!
White Cheddar/ Potatoes - Delicious !
Cre'me' Bru'lee' - Fabulous !
Waitress , Annie could not have been more
attentive, sweet, accommodating & professional!
Best evening all around in years,
looks like River has a new gem!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited the new Ferris with high hope. It started out well, the new England clam chowder was creamy and delicious, the side salads were fresh and well dressed. An order of battered cod was crispy and moist, the best dish of the evening. A prime rib was chewy and quite bland, 2 delmonicos were cooked to order but appeared baked--no searing was apparent. We normally don't do dessert, but our waitress brought us a tiramisu cake (that was delicious) to make up for the prime rib. I will give them one more chance to improve. Only because our waitress was the best part of the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ferris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.