We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Sports Bar” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ferris Steak House

Ferris Steak House
2589 Wooster Rd, Cleveland, OH 44116
(216) 281-1437
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ferris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #179 of 1,684 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rocky River
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre Sports Bar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I tried the new location...what a disappointment. This is nothing but "one more sports bar." The new Ferris has destroyed the ambiance of the old Rockcliffe. The food was nothing special and very pricey. For people who have been in the restaurant business, their staff was clueless. Having to sit at tables less than 2 feet apart, viewing the bathroom doors and having huge TV's intrude upon any special meal outing is not my idea of a fun night. A very sad loss for the Rocky River neighborhood.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“So glad they moved to Rocky River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ferris Steak house took over the old Rockliffe Restaurant on Wooster Rd. and they gave it a facelift on the interior and exterior. It has only been open 3 weeks and the place was packed. We arrived at 6:30 PM Saturday night and if we didn't have a reservation we'd have been out of luck.

We like that the restaurant and restrooms are all on one level because stairs are dificult for my 89 yr. old mom. We started with the cheese board $14 and a bottle of Sterling chardonney $23. The homemade buffallo mozzarella tasted great with the olive tapanade on the crostini bread. The walnuts were a bit soggy and the other two cheeses were good.

I had the surf and turf (filet and scampi)$38 , mom had the black and blue filet $35 , sister had the scampi dinner (3 scampies) $31. All entrees were served with salad and a side. The scampies were amazing. They looked like small lobster tails and the steaks were excellent. Entrees were priced from $19-$40 and they also offered burgers, flatbread pizzas, salads , soups and app's.

We shared creme brulee $6 and it was really good.

The piano player was a bonus . The $2 per person upcharge for roquefort salad dressing was a disappointment. The server should point this out and the high entree prices should include any kind of dressing.

Service was good and our waitress never rushed us.

It was a good evening and we will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great new location--same great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Ferris Steak House since the early 90s. It's by far my favorite steak place in Cleveland. We were excited that they were moving to a larger (and safer) location in Rocky River, but I was worried about the food not being as fabulous--no worries there though! We went to the River location last night and both the food and service were amazing. And it was nice to see the restaurant packed with people.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“New location with some old friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

With all the restaurants that have open and closed since the 1980's it's been a long time since I had a Feriss Steak. Now opened at in Rocky River at the old Rock Cliff location. Wooster Rd. just south of Hilliard. All new decore inside. Large bar and seating for over one hundred. Looks like a winner for all of us. Menue is all about the beef. Steaks,Ribs,Tender Loin, I like the Detroit Avenue Strip. Great place for friends or family. Not so much for Romance. Summer time brings the food outside to a front porch for dining.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magenta, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Quite Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We finally made it to Ferris Steak House, before it moves to Rocky River. It's like walking back in time when you enter this cosy and welcoming establishment. It was also a pleasure to meet a Ferris who was tending bar when we arrived!
We thought the prices were fair - and the food was honest and good. Please try the home fries - they, alone, are worth the visit.
We can't wait for the move to Rocky River...hoping that the new fit out will result in the same feel - and the same great steaks.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ferris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.