We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the mac & cheese on Fridays!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George's Kitchen

George's Kitchen
13101 Triskett Rd, Cleveland, OH 44111-1508
216-671-0430
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 1,681 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lakewood, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't miss the mac & cheese on Fridays!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We started having breakfast at George's on Sundays after church a couple of years ago. We love the choices and the service is phenomenal!
Then we stopped in for dinner one evening and discovered a treasure trove of dining delights. Our first dinner was on a Friday so naturally we had the fish -- it was fantastic! But the Mac & Cheese is absolutely Out of This World!! Next time we went was a Tuesday or Wednesday and we found out that they don't serve the mac & cheese then. We will still go other evenings (the fish sandwich for under three dollars is great any time) but we love it best on Fridays :-)
And of course, Sunday mornings after church a couple of times a month!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Health Board Needs to Close This Place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I do not understand the cult-like following this place gets simply because of cheap pricing. There is a reason their prices are so cheap....just do a walkthrough of their kitchen and you'll see the substandard quality of the food sources and the incompetence of the kitchen staff to keep clean and sanitary operations. It is a filthy place where they scoop cole slaw out of a garbage can with a wooden bowl and a place where raw, bloody meats drip on to cooked meats below. Their violations are so numerous, they have to be paying off an inspector to stay in business. Avoid this place at all costs.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“good comfort food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

George's Kitchen has been operating at the corner of Berea and Triskett for exactly one month longer than i have been alive. They opened in 1980 and I've been going there my whole life. we used to live in the neighborhood, and when we moved away we go back any chance we get. I work in the area often and am always at George's.

It's the best place on the west side for comfort food. Anything you want is on the menu, and it is all cheap. like nothing on the menu more than $9 cheap. and their fountain coke is excellent. I recommend the breaded pork chops but sub the yellow turkey gravy for the brown. You can literally be in and out in 15 minutes for lunch if you have to. the service is lightning fast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Excellent food! Great atmosphere! You won't be disappointed. Got the pork chops and I was very happy with my meal! Loved our waitress too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Nice place with friendly people. The waitress we had was very nice. We got waters right away and were asked if we wanted any other things to drink. The menu is HUGE including breakfast, lunch and big dinners. I have the lemon chicken which was great and the portion was gigantic. It came with rice, salad and soup. My husband had the chicken cordon bleu sandwich which came with soup and fries and was also gigantic. We also got a take out order for my mother who loves liver and onions. This did not disappoint and she was amazed there were three pieces for the price. Overall a great place, extremely good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to George's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.