We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer cheese soup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Lakes Brewing Company

Great Lakes Brewing Company
2516 Market Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113-3434
216-771-4404
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,687 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great beer cheese soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice patio in a really cool location. Inertior of restaurant especially the basement is really neat. While some of the food is good but not overly spectacular like the burgers, the beer cheese soup is amazing. A must have when dining here. Oh, and the beers are the best around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    193
    47
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A great brewery/pub in Cleveland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The friends that I traveled with don't drink so it was crucial that going to a brewpub that they have a good menu. We were not disappointed with the food. The mac & cheese is not to be missed and the burgers were big and flavorful. I had never had any of their beer but I was not disappointed with their selection or quality. This is a very good place to grab a bite to eat and enjoy some local craft beer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great meal, great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I went here for dinner with a few friends. Cool restaurant that has both and indoor area and nice covered outdoor patio. I got the pretzel chicken and a few of their beers and I was very satisfied. The meal was pricey but by no means ridiculous. If you like craft beer and good food, give this place a try. Will come again if I am in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Food and Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The waits can be long but we got a seat in the bar. It is noisy, but well worth it. We ordered the sausage appetizer and it was very good. I ordered the hamburger and it was cooked perfectly. The fries were fried correctly. The waitress was attentive but the kitchen was a little slow. Now the beer was very good. These are good craft beers. My favorite was the porter, but I enjoyed the others. At $5 a glass I though it reasonable. I would go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to have craft brews and tasty lunch, and to hang out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

For the 7/4 weekend, this place was happening in the Market area of Cleveland. There are several dining areas, but we had a big party and were seated in the basement cask vault area. The service was friendly, efficient, attentive and all-around top notch. Our lunch, especially my bratwurst platter and the very large, spicy housemade tater-tots, was very tasty. The bratwurst paired great with the Market Street Wheat hefeweizen brew. I certainly left full, satisfied and with a big smile on my face. There is even a little gift shop -- if I were a local, I would have bought a growler onsite. I plan to make a return visit the next time I'm in Cleveland.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Lakes Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Great Lakes Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Lakes Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.