We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Craft Beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Lakes Brewing Company

Great Lakes Brewing Company
2516 Market Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113-3434
216-771-4404
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,681 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Charlotte NC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Craft Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Only negative was the parking around the area, but other than that, this place was great.
Service was very good, our waitress was cordial and pleasant.
Food was very good and came out hot. My wife and I split a pizza and sandwich, both were excellent. The pizza had good toppings and was a decent size, enough to share, not a personal size. Sandwich was similar.
They also are one of the more well known national craft breweries and offer some very well made craft beers. We had flights, which allow you 4-5 ounce samples of several beers, instead of drinking large pints. Great beers!
Would definitely venture here again. also nearby is the West side Market. Worth the walk and if they don't have food that you want to take with you, you are either full from Great Lakes or don't know great food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    181
    44
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Royalton, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Lakes Brewpub at Cleveland Hopkins Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Arriving at Hopkins airport early for a flight, having some time to burn, stopped at Great Lakes brewpub. Having exposure to Great Lakes Brewing during the year, tried their newest seasonal brew at the Brewpub, which was fantastic. One must try every Great Lakes brew, they range from mild lagers to strong IPA's and porters.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It's a restaurant, not a social movement!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I write this after about four visits over a year's time: Average quality food (although my wife's chicken on one visit was almost raw) and since I don't drink I can't opine about their beer. The building is a nice century-plus structure with lots of artifacts to look at. However the wait staff can be an issue along with the socially involved management. The urinals are no-water variety, despite the fact the restaurant sits less than a mile from the largest concentration of fresh water on the planet. This means that your meal will likely be augmented by alternating scents of urine and bleach (used to clean the bathrooms)... since the staff doesn't know how to maintain these unnecessary "green" fixtures. The wait staff can be hot or cold... more often cold. On several visits my friends and I waited for service while the waiter discussed his social and political beliefs with another table. When I waived my menu to get his attention he flew into a rage! Other visits were not so incendiary but it appears the staff thinks they are the only game in town. Not so!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Funky Place to Drink/Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Visiting Cleveland to watch the Indians play the A's and several guys in our group are avid craft beer connoisseurs, so we thought we'd try it out. It was a Saturday afternoon and the place was hopping! We probably waited a good 45 minutes for a table for 8, but ordered beers from the bar and sat outside at a table since it was nice out. No outdoor table service yet. The place is huge and has all these big rooms, small rooms, upstairs, downstairs and even a cellar room. Really funky! The beer was great and the food was delicious! I did not hear one negative about any of the food choices or the drinks for that matter. Server was pleasant and service was quick. For game nights, they offer a "Fatty Wagon" for $1 per person, plus proof of your receipt, to drive you over to the stadium and back to the bar afterwards. Great service! We even bought some growlers to take home with us. Overall, a great experience, great atmosphere and good food and drink! Will definitely go again if we're in the Cleveland area and recommend it to others visiting Cleveland.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best beers in the country!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is a cut above normal pub fare but the beer is the real reason to visit. I've tried craft brews all over the country and Great Lakes is still at the top of the list of favorites. They make so many different styles that are top-notch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Lakes Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Great Lakes Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Lakes Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.