We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lakes Brewpub at Cleveland Hopkins Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Lakes Brewing Company

Great Lakes Brewing Company
2516 Market Ave, Cleveland, OH 44113-3434
216-771-4404
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,562 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
North Royalton, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Lakes Brewpub at Cleveland Hopkins Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Arriving at Hopkins airport early for a flight, having some time to burn, stopped at Great Lakes brewpub. Having exposure to Great Lakes Brewing during the year, tried their newest seasonal brew at the Brewpub, which was fantastic. One must try every Great Lakes brew, they range from mild lagers to strong IPA's and porters.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    202
    52
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's a restaurant, not a social movement!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I write this after about four visits over a year's time: Average quality food (although my wife's chicken on one visit was almost raw) and since I don't drink I can't opine about their beer. The building is a nice century-plus structure with lots of artifacts to look at. However the wait staff can be an issue along with the socially involved management. The urinals are no-water variety, despite the fact the restaurant sits less than a mile from the largest concentration of fresh water on the planet. This means that your meal will likely be augmented by alternating scents of urine and bleach (used to clean the bathrooms)... since the staff doesn't know how to maintain these unnecessary "green" fixtures. The wait staff can be hot or cold... more often cold. On several visits my friends and I waited for service while the waiter discussed his social and political beliefs with another table. When I waived my menu to get his attention he flew into a rage! Other visits were not so incendiary but it appears the staff thinks they are the only game in town. Not so!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Funky Place to Drink/Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Visiting Cleveland to watch the Indians play the A's and several guys in our group are avid craft beer connoisseurs, so we thought we'd try it out. It was a Saturday afternoon and the place was hopping! We probably waited a good 45 minutes for a table for 8, but ordered beers from the bar and sat outside at a table since it was nice out. No outdoor table service yet. The place is huge and has all these big rooms, small rooms, upstairs, downstairs and even a cellar room. Really funky! The beer was great and the food was delicious! I did not hear one negative about any of the food choices or the drinks for that matter. Server was pleasant and service was quick. For game nights, they offer a "Fatty Wagon" for $1 per person, plus proof of your receipt, to drive you over to the stadium and back to the bar afterwards. Great service! We even bought some growlers to take home with us. Overall, a great experience, great atmosphere and good food and drink! Will definitely go again if we're in the Cleveland area and recommend it to others visiting Cleveland.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best beers in the country!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is a cut above normal pub fare but the beer is the real reason to visit. I've tried craft brews all over the country and Great Lakes is still at the top of the list of favorites. They make so many different styles that are top-notch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good beer , good patio, owned by two good brothers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Looking for a way to spend a lovely afternoon in Ohio City? Great Lakes Brewing Company is the place to go. The beer is great but for some reason the food is...well....not great. Pretzel Chicken and the Black and Blue burger are the two best choices from the kitchen .In the summer the Conway brothers operate the Pint Sized Farm at Hale Farm Historic Site in Bath, OH and use the produce in many offerings on the menu. The beer is great, consistent, and always the highest quality. The wait staff are all super people, especially Susan and Kevin. GLBC has been in operation since 1988 and what I really appreciate is Pat and Dan Conway's commitment to sustainability and the Cleveland area. Stop by and enjoy! Cheers!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Lakes Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Great Lakes Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Lakes Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.